Columns

Vail Daily column: Event offers information for seniors

July 21, 2014 — 

Getting older is not easy.

On July 31, please join us for the Preventative and Planning Symposium. This symposium will be free and open to the public, and it will take place at Battle Mountain High School. Local medical providers and financial experts will educate Eagle County residents such topics as:

Learn more »

Vail Daily health column: Are musicians athletes?

July 21, 2014 — 

When you attend a Bravo! Vail performance this summer to listen to the sublime works of Mozart or Copland and look at the musicians arrayed before you, images of Lindsey Vonn or Usain Bolt or local Mike Kloser are unlikely to pop into your mind.

But maybe they should. Consider this: both athletes and musicians share similar physical and mental demands in their pursuit and mastery of optimum performance. They similarly acquire skills through countless hours of practice, performing feats of great dexterity, strength and stamina, while enduring the psychological pressures and constraints of travel and the organizational “culture” of the professional team or orchestra.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Commit to the Monday Morning Mission

July 20, 2014 — 

The quest for purpose and meaning has been humankind’s journey for as long as we have been sentient beings. A search that resonates inside each of us, it has taken on a more public consciousness in the valley as of late.

Cabal Yarne wrote an energetic column in last week’s Vail Daily challenging readers to identify their passion. I was fortunate enough to attend the Vail Leadership Institute’s Annual Forum at which world-renowned author and lecturer Richard Leider urged attendees to reimagine their lives lived according to their true purpose. Happy with a busy six-month old law firm and a bustling family and community life, I was not exactly in the market for a new path. However, the recent discourse has clarified and invigorated my long-range objectives. That was the easy part.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Going batty

July 19, 2014 — 

I think it was about 5 years ago when we noticed the strange droppings on our front porch. Too big for mouse and too small for rat, we swept them away and continued to ponder the mystery. Ground squirrels? What would they be doing on our porch? Then one night, my husband turned on the porch light, stepped outside and looked up. Huddled in the corner above our front door was a cluster of bats. It was hard to tell how many there were, huddled together in a furry mass of claws and beady eyes, but I would guess there were around 10.

Learn more »

Relationships need more than love

July 19, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is from “The Best of Neil Rosenthal.”

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Cowboy up ... in sandals

July 19, 2014 — 

I’m not a coward. I’m cautious.

I wasn’t always that way. As a younger man I was brave, bordering on stupid. I enjoyed contact sports, free-climbing buildings and electrical towers, and I once dated a cop’s ex-wife. The aging process seems to have mellowed and enlightened me to the point of paranoia.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: New York Philharmonic brings beloved music to Vail

July 18, 2014 — 

One of the highlights of every summer surely is the annual residency of the New York Philharmonic. Now in its 12th consecutive summer of concerts in Vail, we see things really come alive when the New Yorkers roll into town. From its first appearance in the Rocky Mountains back in 2003, the legendary New York Philharmonic was an instant hit. Audiences always swell in size, performances sell out and the social ambiance at concerts is so friendly, it’s almost like a week-long party.

One of the greatest pianists alive, Yefim Bronfman, graciously agreed to step in for violinist Midori, who had to cancel her opening night performance due to complications with her pregnancy. Bronfman joined the New Yorkers last night to perform Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3, a beloved staple in the piano concerto repertory.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Looking toward the legacy

July 17, 2014 — 

As we head into the final months until we celebrate the opening ceremonies of the 2015 Alpine World Ski Championships, it is probably going to seem a little strange that I’m taking this opportunity to talk about legacy. Legacy, after all, is something that is left behind, so it could be argued that until these championships have been completed, there is no legacy to talk about.

But truth be told, we are hosting these championships because of a legacy: the legacy of the Vail Valley’s ski racing history, the legacy of past World Championships held here and the legacy of those who founded Vail and Beaver Creek in the first place. All of these components came together when we were bidding for these championships four years ago.

Learn more »

Preview to the Vail Jazz Party column: Captain Dyett — Jazz’s first black Mr. Holland

July 17, 2014 — 

When I was a kid I didn’t know what a mentor was. I learned from my parents, grandparents, teachers, coaches, neighbors and wise uncles. By the ’70s, “mentoring” began to take root. The mantra was a teacher needed to have a special relationship with his or her mentee. I hate that word, it sounds like a drink to me. The theory was that a mentor could guide the mentee by passing on knowledge, wisdom and experience. Hello, wasn’t that what my mom and dad did? I don’t disagree that a mentor can be a powerful force in one’s life, but I think mentors have always been around, and besides, what does this have to do with jazz?

Well, before corporate America (and ultimately most of us) began to bang the drum of mentorship, there was an amazing man that was a real life Mr. Holland, the fictional music teacher in the movie “Mr. Holland’s Opus.” Born in 1901, “Captain” Walter Henri Dyett was an accomplished musician, teacher, inspirational leader and, yes, mentor, who lived an extraordinary life in the African-American community of Chicago.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Wisdom takes a vacation

July 16, 2014 — 

“Common sense takes a vacation” probably makes more sense, but “wisdom” just sounds so much smarter doesn’t it?

Most times I am usually never being accused of having either, wisdom or common sense that is, however I do believe it is fair for me to share my exploits and adventures while on my current vacation where wisdom and common sense came took some time off right alongside of me.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Dealing with your medicine’s side effects

July 14, 2014 — 

How much do we really know about the side effect of the medicines we take? When the pharmacist gives us our medications, they also attach a medical information sheet. I personally have never read one of these information sheets and doubt that many other people do.

I think it is great that the FDA and our medical providers would like us educated about the medicines we take. However, most of us do not have medical and pharmacological knowledge and therefore do not understand the information provided in the one or two sheets that accompany our medications.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Is social media ruining the view?

July 12, 2014 — 

Last week, I joined some new friends and made the trip up to Piney Lake. This was my first visit to the oft-photographed destination. After making our way up the long and bumpy Red Sandstone Road, we were greeted by a magical vista: a picturesque lake — dotted with canoes, no less — at the base of the impressive Gore Range, its peaks still sprinkled with snow. In the foreground, bright wildflowers swayed with the wind. It was like a picture. In fact, it was so much like a picture I had a hard time appreciating that it was actually real. This was water, dirt and ice in front of me and not pixels.

Wait. Is there a difference? I’m not sure my eyes knew or cared.

Learn more »

Vail Daily relationship column: How do I determine the right person to marry?

July 12, 2014 — 

Dear Neil: I read your articles in a local newspaper. In my religion, pre-marital sex is not allowed. So how do I determine who to choose as the right person for me to marry?

Wanting to Know in South Africa

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Shrine Pass: A ride through history

July 12, 2014 — 

The gently rolling 10.8 miles of Shrine Pass Road are graced daily by bikers, hikers, Jeepers, four-wheelers and hunters. Even in the winter, its rolling hills and dales are dotted daily by cross country skiers, hikers on snowshoe and snowmobilers. Shrine Pass is a favorite among locals and visitors alike, with its rushing creeks, luxurious carpets of wildflowers and miles of side roads that can take you to some of the highest ridges with the most magnificent views.

My friends and family who live in Red Cliff consider Shrine Pass to be an alternate route home from Denver. Shortcutting the main highway from Vail Pass that takes you through Vail, Minturn, and then up Battle Mountain with a more direct, but slightly bumpy dirt road, Shrine Pass Road brings a nice respite after the crowds and traffic of a day in the big city. But believe it or not, before U.S. Highway 6 was built in 1940, Shrine Pass was the main route west from Denver to Glenwood Springs.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Pressures threaten Colorado River’s health

July 12, 2014 — 

While most people would consider it blessing enough to have just one incredible asset such as the Eagle River flowing right through their communities, Eagle County residents are lucky to live in close proximity to two remarkable rivers. The Colorado River flows through Eagle County for 55 miles and is known locally as the Upper Colorado. It is the economic and cultural lifeblood for much of our state and most of the Southwestern U.S.

The Upper Colorado plays a vital role in our mountain community identity, as well as our tourism and recreation-driven economy. Locals and visitors log tens of thousands of river days each year, and the region’s difficult geography preserves much of the classic Western Slope Colorado culture and scenery that remains undeveloped in Eagle County. Large landscapes and low-intensity land uses such as ranching help support intact ecosystems that host numerous valued species such as bald eagles, river otters, cutthroat trout, mountain lion and bighorn sheep.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Don’t settle for a subpar real-estate broker

July 11, 2014 — 

Dear Joan,

We are looking for property in the Vail area and have a real estate broker helping that is very nice, but what I would consider very pushy. My husband says that every real estate agent is pushy because it is their job to sell you a property as quickly as possible and for as much money as possible. I don’t appreciate being shown properties that are continually “just a little” higher than the price we said was our top, and then being asked to decide if I want to make an offer or not after one viewing. Maybe I am the one that is difficult, but it seems like you should be able to find an agent that is not in a hurry and will show you what you have asked for. I am now asking you your opinion of my desire. Is it possible to find someone like that?

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: ID theft can take many forms

July 11, 2014 — 

When traveling cyberspace, it is impossible not to leave a trail of bread crumbs along the way, and if you are not careful you might just leave your PIN codes, Social Security number and passwords out there as well.

Identity thieves used to be content with getting their jollies off of ordering a couple of $500 pairs of shoes and a new TV and charging it to your credit card, or cleaning out your brokerage account, but it seems that got old and many have moved on to more sophisticated undertakings involving using Social Security numbers to commit tax fraud.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: A wealth of musical riches

July 11, 2014 — 

We’re concluding the third week of Bravo! Vail’s 2014 season, and the sheer number of fantastic concerts of all types presented thus far have been rather mind-boggling. From orchestral concerts of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and The Philadelphia Orchestra to the launch of the chamber music and free concert series, Bravo! Vail has hit the ground running in service of the community.

It was sad to see the Dallas Symphony leave after its residency, but we sent the musicians off in noble style with a special Patriotic Concert on July 4. Seeing one of our veteran warriors from the Vail Veterans Program narrate Gardens of Stone will forever be imprinted upon my memory. Concerts like that so importantly remind us about the sacrifices others make for our freedom.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Business forum’s topics include health care

July 10, 2014 — 

I’m fortunate that a large part of my job is talking to employers, large and small, on a regular basis. It is an enjoyable aspect of my job and more importantly, it is relevant for the Vail Valley Partnership to understand the challenges facing our business community.

The Partnership is hosting our eighth annual Vail Valley Business Forum on July 22 at Four Seasons Resort Vail from 8:30-11 a.m.; this year’s theme is “Regional Challenges, Local Solutions.” Attendees will gain access to the latest ideas and information in the areas of regional economic development, workforce, health care and transportation. There are a few topics that rise above others in my conversations with our business community.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Women must know what to expect from Social Security

July 10, 2014 — 

Everyone needs to be aware of the financial resources they will have available in retirement. But if you’re a woman, you must be particularly diligent, for a variety of reasons. And that means you’ll need to know just what to expect from Social Security.

Why should you, as a woman, pay extra attention to Social Security? For one thing, women often take time off from their careers to care for children and older parents, so they may accumulate less money in employer-sponsored retirement accounts, such as 401(k) plans. And women still live several years longer than men, according to the Census Bureau.

Learn more »

Biff America: Independence Day family memories

July 9, 2014 — 

He carried me from the car to my bed. Though I was slightly feverish, I could smell a combination of sweat, whiskey, Old Spice and gunpowder. I felt grown up and gifted.

It is said your olfactory memory is the strongest. Where remembrances of sights, sounds and recollections of events can blur over time the sense of smell can bring back vivid recalls of days and decades past. The smell of fireworks on the Fourth of July does that for me.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Isn’t that challenge really an opportunity in disguise?

July 9, 2014 — 

If you are like me, you have probably been faced with situations or people in your life that could be considered difficult at best, and yes, maybe even a challenge.

Situations or events in our lives that could be considered difficult or challenging could range anywhere from health crises, loss of loved ones, unemployment, rebellious children, addiction, expensive auto repairs, household bills and many other things.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Born on the Fourth of July?

July 8, 2014 — 

I called a bike shop in Denver the other day to ask if they were open on the Fourth of July. My plan was to do a little riding around Denver during the holiday weekend.

When I asked if they were open on the Fourth, the guy who answered — I think he said his name was Phil — said, and I quote, “We will be closed on the Fourth, celebrating our nation’s freedom from the oppression of tyranny.”

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Retiring to Colorado?

July 7, 2014 — 

As 10,000 Baby Boomers retire each day of the year for the next 30-plus years, there is a plethora of information available to research. Synthesizing this data has become a passion for me.

Not unlike the rest of the world, the U.S. is an aging society. The current growth in the number and proportion of older adults in the United States is unprecedented in our nation’s history. By 2050, it is anticipated that Americans aged 65 or older will number nearly 89 million people, or more than double the number in 2010 (cdc.gov). Perhaps a bit more shocking is the fact that the population of people aged 85 and over, which is the group most likely to need health and long-term care services, is projected to increase by 350 percent during this same time period.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Learning how to read the river

July 6, 2014 — 

Traipsing through riverside brush clad in pristine and awkward waders and boots, the cacophony of the rushing creek greets the neophyte angler’s ears. Donning a new suit and rushing to catch the elevator, the summer associate listens to the dings indicating progress up to the law office. Having already survived various ordeals to get to these points, the sight of the stream or the suite is a welcome one. Time to fish; time to work. Still, there is more to do before the first cast is made or memo written — one must decide on a fly or overcome the quirks of the document management system. A task that sounds simple becomes complex when it comes time to perform it. The novice fly fisherperson and the legal intern each throw themselves into the flow, realize how little they know and push on regardless, intent on mastering their respective arts.

Our firm has an intern for the summer, an eminently capable and eager law student named Chelsea. Watching her reconcile her legal training with the realities of law practice recalls my own humbling experiences as a summer associate. With no experience and no frame of reference, each part of each assignment is daunting. From something as seemingly innocuous as how to title a document to research critical to a client’s time-sensitive issue, you are bombarded with challenges that make you continually question your competence. This feeling is compounded when you watch seasoned attorneys answer complicated inquiries eloquently and extemporaneously.

Learn more »

Relationship column: Take this quiz to check for bipolar disorder

July 5, 2014 — 

Dear Neil: I’ve heard many people in recent years talk about bipolar disorder. They say that they have a child who is bipolar, or a husband, or a boss. I have never exactly understood what bipolar is. Can you explain what it means to be bipolar?

Thinking I Might Be in Kansas City

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Hot yoga is not a competitive sport

July 5, 2014 — 

Yoga, in general, is not a competitive sport. Repeat.

How’s that for a mantra? This past week, I tried hot yoga, or bikram yoga, for the first time. I’ve done yoga on my own for years on and off — basically in times of high stress such as finals or to combat freaking-out-about-work induced insomnia. I practiced and learned yoga when I was 14 years old. I was staying (read: exiled) at Sacred Heart Monastery in Richardton, North Dakota, for about a month with my aunt who was a nun there. During my time at Sacred Heart, I volunteered for the sisters, helping out with the llamas, potato patch, dishes, cooking, etc. One night, another volunteer at the monastery asked if I wanted to practice yoga with her in the evening. I told her in the same breath that I had no idea what she was talking about but, yes, of course! During our time there, she taught me about the importance of breathing during yoga and how to turn something which feels and looks like a simple stretching routine into an actual workout. A non-competitive workout.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: How to research your new neighborhood

July 4, 2014 — 

Dear Joan,

My wife and I have been coming to Vail for several years now. We have finally made the decision to purchase a second home here, which might be our permanent home after retirement. The next big decision is to pick what area of the valley we want to look at to make our purchase. Now that we are thinking of maybe eventually living here, our criteria are changing some.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Active real estate market creates opportunities

July 4, 2014 — 

As the real estate market is heating up in Eagle County and properties are going under contract and closing quickly, potential buyers must act quickly to take advantage of properties that they are interested in owning. Such circumstances create appreciation in property values. The Vail Valley has a wide range of property types and values, but I would say more or less across the board values are rising due to the recent activity in the local market. Increasing property values create opportunities for those who already own their home which should not be forgotten or overlooked in the current environment.

For homeowners with or without a current mortgage, rising property values open doors for them to refinance their existing loans where a lack of equity may have previously been a problem. For example, those homeowners who used mortgage insurance in lieu of a 20 percent down payment to buy their home may now have the required 20 percent equity to eliminate the mortgage insurance premium altogether.

Learn more »

Bravo! Vail president shares three reasons to love the Philadelphia Orchestra

July 4, 2014 — 

Those who want to learn more about symphony orchestras often ask about what makes them unique, special or different. The Philadelphia Orchestra is a great case study on the topic.

Sound: Quite simply, “The Philadelphia Sound” has been studied, discussed and lauded internationally for decades. Some call its sound voluptuous, others luxuriant. I call it warm, velvety and gorgeous. Imagine flowing molten chocolate translated into music and that’s what I imagine when listening to this magnificent ensemble. The Philadelphia Orchestra’s Music Director Yannick Nezet-Seguin wrote, “It is the most beautiful sound in the world, because it is the sound of the hearts and souls of a fantastic group of women and men, passionately committed to share the most wonderful art form to the widest audience possible.”

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Columns »
Back to Top