Columns

Vail Daily column: Chairlift lessons on the law

December 21, 2014 — 

A sixth sense triggers your internal powder alarm and you groggily raise the blinds to bask in the glory of a sea of white. The morning routine is expedited and soon you find yourself amongst the hordes descending upon the resort. Despite your early arrival, the line is already out of the maze. Although endeavoring to remain calm, you are despondent as you contemplate missing that one mythical untouched line because you enjoyed your coffee for three extra minutes. The feeling is akin to realizing that you are about to become embroiled in a legal conflict: optimistic but regretting the choices that brought you to this point. The first lesson about litigation is gleaned before even getting onto the lift and is twofold: One, be earlier and more prepared than even your most conservative estimate, and two, Zen patience is the key to escaping mentally unscathed.

Learn more »

Actively Green 2015 ambassador profile: Ronny Smith

December 21, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is a weekly spotlight that celebrates a local person who works for an Actively Green 2015 participating sustainable business.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: The origins of hope

December 21, 2014 — 

In 1996, a young wife and mother was sick. She had been diagnosed with cancer. Her name was Cindy Nash. She and her husband, Curt, were well known and well loved in our community. They had a beautiful toddler named Montana.

When her friends learned that she was ill, a group quickly came together. Although modern medicine promised Cindy little, we were determined to help in any way we could. And so we got to work.

Learn more »

Design Life column: Place cards make a table special

December 20, 2014 — 

Want to add a little something special to your party? Try some individualized place cards. Such a little thing can make a big difference.

You can use them for Christmas parties, New Year’s parties, birthday parties or any other type of party. Whether for a formal dinner party or a casual brunch, the cards add a little pizazz and an element of class. They also provide some low-key organization to your event.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: The shortest day of the year

December 20, 2014 — 

The winter solstice is the shortest day of the year. Sunday, Colorado will experience more than 14 hours of darkness.

The literal etymology of the term “solstice” means something akin to “standing sun.” The point on Earth below where the sun’s light is most intense can be considered where it “stands.” Sun rays are most intense in tropical latitudes near the equator, and far less intense in the more northern latitudes.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Heart says ‘buy,’ head says ‘rent’

December 19, 2014 — 

Dear Joan,

My husband and I have been vacationing during the summers and winters in the​ ​Vail Valley for over 15 years now. For the past five years, we have been talking about buying a place here. We have paid a lot for the rentals over the years, but​ we​ still cannot quite make economic sense of buying a condo or home here, unless we actually were planning on living here full time. So I guess our hearts say “buy” and our heads say “rent.” ​Can​ you ​share your knowledge​ as to what other​ frequent​ visitors in the valley do?

Learn more »

Beaver Creek’s Vilar Center offers varied holiday lineup

December 19, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: Director’s Chair is a column where Kris Sabel, who is in charge of cultural programming for the Vail Valley Foundation, gives his take on shows at the Vilar Performing Arts Center.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Wisdom on a bar napkin

December 19, 2014 — 

“Who steals my purse steals trash,” — William Shakespeare.

It was a crumpled note, written about 15 years ago, on the back of a bar napkin. It was old and stained, but on that day, it was a gift more precious than a Rolex. When I rediscovered the message, in the back of a desk drawer, my anger and frustration over a decade gone was recalled with clarity.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Seek to balance ‘risk tolerance’ and ‘required risk’

December 18, 2014 — 

Like everyone else, you have financial goals. To help achieve these goals, you may need to invest — and when you invest, you’ll need to take on some risk. But the more you understand this risk, and the better you are at managing it, the greater your potential for staying invested for the long term.

To begin with, take a look at these terms:

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Business lessons from lift operators

December 18, 2014 — 

Being a lift operator, or “liftie,” in a ski town might not be the most glorious or sought-after position on the mountain; after all, these folks often miss powder days while they work to ensure that locals and visitors alike can access the mountain in a safe and orderly manner. But, being a “liftie” has its benefits; plenty of time on the mountain to enjoy skiing and riding, working outside and providing a first (and on-going) impression to our guests as a friendly face throughout the day.

I’ve been overly impressed with the lift operators and ticket scanners this season. It’s apparent that Vail Resorts has hired well and invested in guest service training; the positive interactions with guests don’t happen by accident. The ticket scanners have continuously welcomed guests and greeted them by name, and the lift operators have been cheerful, welcoming and engaging at the top and bottom of most every lift.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: The early bird catches the worm

December 17, 2014 — 

The early bird catches the worm ... and some pretty incredible sunrises here in Colorado, too, wouldn’t you agree? I mean is it just me or have the sunrises been even more spectacular lately?

Many years ago, I was listening to a motivational programs by Zig Ziglar. And during one of the segments he talked about the discipline of waking up early as a key element of success. As a matter of fact, I recently read an article on the topic of success that underscored that very concept. The consistent behavior among some of the world’s most successful people is to wake up early.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Lighting up (for) the holidays

December 16, 2014 — 

Like it or not, Colorado is at the prow of a ship creating a very large wake.

Following ratification by the voters, the sale and possession of “medical marijuana” was adopted into law on Dec. 28, 2000, and may be found in Article 18, Section 14 of the Colorado State Constitution. In 2012, Colorado became one of two states to legalize the sale and possession of marijuana for recreational purposes. The 2012 law, Amendment 64, has been, to say the least, controversial, not in small part because the sale and possession of marijuana in this state or any other remains a crime under federal law. In fact, under federal law, marijuana is considered a schedule 1 substance, which may be defined as a drug or substance with no known redeeming medical value.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: A plan for the cure

December 15, 2014 — 

A couple of months ago was National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, an organized campaign for the last 25 years. Recently, I spent time with a friend who may have just beaten this disease. It’s alarming to think of all the people worldwide fighting this disease. Here in Happy Valley, where so many people live a more active and health-conscientious lifestyle than in other places, I find it alarming at how many people are afflicted.

This past weekend, “60 Minutes” aired a segment that addressed very promising research being conducted by a California doctor at UCLA, Dr. Patrick Soon-Shiong. It was inspiring to hear him speak and explain the research he is conducting. It was fascinating to hear him explain how it is his opinion that cancer researchers and pharmaceutical makers need to speed up their game. His approach seems progressive, visionary and multifaceted. Go online to the “60 Minutes” website and watch the program!

Learn more »

Your Inner Athlete column: Practice doesn’t make perfect

December 15, 2014 — 

On Nov. 23, the New York Giants were playing against the Dallas Cowboys. New York Giant’s wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. made what people are calling the “greatest catch you’ll ever see.” It was a one-hand ... actually three-finger catch while flying backwards in the endzone.

In the post-game interview, Beckham thanked his mom for his long fingers, but I want to point out that nothing about this catch was fluke or luck.

Learn more »

Ask a Sports Medicine Doctor column: What to do with a missing meniscus

December 15, 2014 — 

Question: I tore my meniscus and had to have it removed due to severe knee pain some years ago. Can a meniscus substitute be implanted into my knee?

Answer: The meniscus is a tough, rubbery, half moon shaped cartilage in the knee. There are two meniscus cartilages with one sandwiched between the femur and the tibia on the inside of the knee (the medial meniscus) and the other one on the outside of the knee (the lateral meniscus).

Learn more »

Actively Green 2015 ambassador profile: Veronica Moretti

December 14, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is a weekly spotlight that celebrates a local person who works for an Actively Green 2015 participating sustainable business.

Learn more »

Vail Daily relationship column: Do you have relationship deal breakers?

December 13, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: Neil Rosenthal is on vacation. This is one of his previously published columns. This is the second of a two-part series. Visit www.vaildaily.com to read the first installment.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Celebrating with nature

December 13, 2014 — 

“Deck the halls with boughs of holly,” “rockin’ around the Christmas tree,” and “a partridge in a pear tree,” all evoke memories of frosty mornings and saccharine treats. But these three song lyrics, along with many more holiday traditions and celebrations, all share a common denominator — celebrating winter holidays with vegetation. After all, what would Christmas be without a tree and wreaths adorning our doors? It would be like New Year’s Day without black eyed peas, Kwanzaa without persimmons or Hanukkah without olive oil.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Share our excitement with the world

December 13, 2014 — 

As the holiday season washes over the Vail Valley, I wanted to wish you all a magical holidays and a happy and prosperous New Year on behalf of the entire 2015 Alpine World Ski Championships Organizing Committee.

This is truly a time for not only giving, but also for sharing. As the clock counts down to the dawn of 2015, one of our New Year’s resolutions should be to determine how best to share our World Championships, not only with each other, but with the world.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Presidents challenge do-nothing congresses

December 13, 2014 — 

Often, gripers about others’ mistakes use bluster to cover their own faults. Sitting on hands, their whining stalls corrective action.

Who shouts the loudest?

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: How to choose among Realtor friends

December 12, 2014 — 

Dear Joan,

I have several friends that are Realtors and they​ ​​all​ work for different companies. As a matter of fact, a couple of them have worked for two or three different companies during the past few years. I have not cared about this until now, when I am getting ready to sell my property and need to choose one of them to list my ​home​. My two dilemmas are, should I choose by the company they are with or the person​,​ and when I choose, how do I tell the others I did not choose them?

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: What is unique about financing property in resorts?

December 12, 2014 — 

I often get calls from borrowers who I know are shopping my services against large online lenders such as Quicken Loans or Lending Tree that primarily deal on the Internet to find their customers. Sometimes people flat out ask why should they deal with a small company such as Macro Financial Group because surely bigger must mean better. In fact, I hope callers do ask me that question point blank so we can have that discussion.

Every company has things they do well, and what I do have in common with the big name lenders is we both do our jobs well in terms of closing loans. I would not still be in business if I didn’t and nor would they. Where we differ is I close well over 95 percent of the actual loan applications I end up agreeing to take. Industry gossip is some large companies close closer to 25 percent of the applications they take, meaning they have a lot of disappointed people out there. I may have to tell a lot of people that inquire and would like to apply that I can’t possibly get them a loan, but large lenders instruct their employees to take every application they can get their hands on and then only 75 percent of them will be disappointed. It’s no fun turning down potential business, but I’d rather do it this way than the way the big guys do it.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: What can you learn from the ‘Oracle of Omaha’?

December 11, 2014 — 

Warren Buffet, the “Oracle from Omaha,” is considered one of the most successful investors in history. Yet while the investment world may seem complex, Mr. Buffet’s advice is actually pretty simple. Here are a few Buffet quotes, along with some suggestions on putting them to use:

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Interdependency key to success

December 11, 2014 — 

A partner is defined as one of two or more people, businesses, etc., that work together or that do business together. Which, on its own, is a fairly bland and somewhat utilitarian definition. It certainly lacks any inspiration.

A true partnership, on the other hand, is a commitment to one another that includes accountability. The idea of a partnership being a relationship that includes mutually beneficial commitment and accountability is quite different from the utilitarian definition of a partner.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Decision, direction and doubt

December 10, 2014 — 

The shortest distance between two points is a straight line. A simple theory, and yet a much tougher application to manage sometimes.

Let’s think about an “expert”-rated ski run — you know something that may be really steep and richly covered in moguls. Now the expert skier may be able to take a straight line, going top to bottom as quickly and efficiently as possible. For the intermediate skier, the goal to get to the bottom is the same, but they have to take a more circuitous route. There will be more turns made for sure and they will use more of the mountain as they traverse the slope.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: The Stolen Valor Act

December 9, 2014 — 

I am not a veteran. Nor have I ever played one on T.V. I am, however, honored to know a hefty handful of them and to count a number of them as my friends. I note that, in the main, they are a proud and honorable bunch and take great pride in having served their nation. And rightly so. Freedom, it is said, is never free.

What then to make of frauds, fakes, poseurs, charlatans, cheats and cons? What to make of those who would steal what is an even more precious treasure than gilt, coin or scrilla? What of one who would rob another of his honor, who would pose, prance and posture to be what he is not? What of the kind of slippery trickster who would claim to be a veteran when all he is, in fact, is a liar?

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Take measures to keep safe this winter

December 8, 2014 — 

Although winter can be lots of fun for many of us here in the Vail Valley, the fact is that winter weather does pose some serious health hazards for those who are not properly prepared. For example, did you know that home fires occur more often in winter than at any other time of the year? And that “people 65 and older are three times more likely to die or be injured in a home fire as those who are younger?” (Jim Miller, “Savvy Senior,” a syndicated news columnist, in his interview on the “Today” show).

Learn more »

Your Inner Athlete column: Practice doesn’t make perfect

December 8, 2014 — 

Legendary hockey coach Pat Quinn died Nov. 23 at the age of 71 due to a lengthy illness. Being from Toronto, Canada, Quinn is a name I consistently heard growing up. Quinn was head coach for the Toronto Maple Leafs during two conference finals and what was possibly the most successful time for the Maple Leafs. He also was the head coach for the Canadian Olympic Team when they won in Salt Lake City in 2002. Not only was he a NHL coach, he also coached junior hockey players and was the head coach when Team Canada won the World Junior Championships in 2008 and 2009.

In addition to his championships, what exactly makes Quinn legendary? He’s known for being fierce, tough, intimidating, direct, even frightening, but these qualities don’t make him legendary. There are plenty of tough leaders, whether in business or sport, who will never be considered legendary. What makes Quinn a legendary coach are three specific strengths that have nothing to do with his intimidation factor. In fact, it’s these strengths that probably make his tough side tolerable, even effective.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Teen taking a leadership role in community

December 7, 2014 — 

Leadership is a trait we look to elders to teach us about, yet sometimes it’s the young leaders that teach us best. Leadership seminars of all lengths and depths are available to help improve workplace morale, develop inspiring companies and ultimately build better leaders. The American Society of Training and Development cites U.S. businesses spending more than $170 billion on leadership-based curriculum, with the majority of those dollars being spent on leadership training. Meanwhile, one of the most inspiring definitions I’ve heard of leadership hails from Vail Mountain School sophomore Seth Molina who describes, “Putting others before yourself to make the whole of the group function better. When a group works better as a team, everyone benefits.”

Police Explorers Program

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Groove with the holiday vibe

December 7, 2014 — 

Holiday fires are beginning to kindle in homes across the valley and the seasonal acceleration of time has begun in earnest. As the pressure of rampant commercialism essays to press ever more firmly upon us and our kin, the hollowness of materiality reveals itself. The blatancy of corporate appeals has in the end spelled their doom: We can no longer be fooled into believing that goods can replace the love and happiness that is the company of family and friends.

Religious or secular, this special time of year brings out the best in humanity and communities. With this sentiment in mind, now is the perfect opportunity to stop feasting on each other through lawsuits and instead imbibe hot cocoa and toddies, gorge on gingerbread and goose.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Columns »
Back to Top