Letters to the Editor

Vail Daily letter: Preserve Red Cliff

July 3, 2015 — 

I live in Red Cliff, a quiet, small town nestled up in the mountain above Minturn. I return home at midnight from work and step out under a blanket of stars and hear the sound of creek and look down on a dark town with only the soft glow of light coming from a few homes. Far from the hustle and bustle of one of the largest ski resorts in North America, Red Cliff is a unique and cherished town for those who live here, a refuge from the bustle of the valley below.

I recently attended a town meeting to discuss a possible reversal of a decision the town made to allow another snowmobile/ATV, unguided business to set up shop here — a business where the owner says he will start with 30 snowmobiles, some ATVs, but will allow the market to dictate how many machines they will have. A small snowmobile company has already come into town and for the most part is supported by the community.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Be considerate around park

July 1, 2015 — 

Dear neighbors,

As the summer season events in the Eagle Town Park begin with Flight Days and the Thursday night concert series, please be considerate of your neighbors who reside around the park. A few easy things will help everyone enjoy these events better:

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Town Council not listening

June 30, 2015 — 

All of the promotional literature said “Vail golf course clubhouse/Nordic center.” When you look at the design, it is a conference center with some space for golf and Nordic operations! This isn’t what we voted for! The conference center space will be the least used space on a day-to-day basis yet is located in the prime location on the property with regard to the golf course views and access to the golf course.

The restaurant that serves the golfing guest is overshadowed by this large space and won’t allow for afternoon sun on the deck as it is designed now. It would be much better to have the south-facing sun with umbrellas than be forced to sit in the shadow of the conference center area. We currently have a nice patio space in the sun where you used to be able to watch friends finishing their round on the original 18th green. The current patio is especially beautiful in the fall when the aspens are changing. At the very least the larger part of the structure, which is currently the conference center space, should be against the driving range screen. That location still has nice views and it would act as a buffer against I-70 and help to create a nicer environment for our golfing guests after they finish their round. After all, this clubhouse is supposed to serve the golfing community as well as provide a base of operations for Nordic center guests. Solaris blocks out I-70 and creates a nice environment for functions on the ice rink area. We still have an opportunity to get this design right!

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Perhaps ...

June 29, 2015 — 

Perhaps they didn’t know that the average rainfall for Eagle, Colorado, is less than 11 inches. Perhaps they had not observed that our native vegetation is sagebrush, junipers and native grasses. Perhaps they didn’t consider the negative environmental impact of fertilizing, watering and mowing non-native vegetation. Perhaps they didn’t consider the long-term cost to the community of paying for the maintenance for non-native species. Or perhaps the people who made the decision to plant non-native vegetation in the I-70 interchange at Eagle either didn’t care about any of these issues or were just irresponsible.

Dale Decker

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Preserve Meadow Mountain

June 29, 2015 — 

Dear commissioners,

By now you will be aware of the out-of-state owners of Battle Mountain’s desire to effect a land swap with Meadow Mountain, owned by the people of America via the Forest Service. Battle Mountain’s motivation to swap is that they own a piece of land that is both logistically and economically difficult if not near impossible to develop.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Continue the fight

June 28, 2015 — 

This morning I’m so sad and discouraged to know that I live in a town where the people’s voices aren’t heard. Despite a standing-room-only crowd who voiced overwhelming opposition, along with 90 signatures on a petition, the Red Cliff Board of Trustees denied our appeal by a vote of 4 to 1. (I recognize and thank board member Jaclyn Parks for the single vote). This decision will allow Sage Adventures to proceed with plans for yet another snowmobile/ATV rental business in the center of town. As far as allowing any additional businesses of this type, that is yet to be determined.

The board continually berates Red Cliff residents for not coming to town meetings. Last night only proved the reason so many don’t attend the meetings — it makes no difference if we show up or what we say.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Vail's ugly bridge

June 28, 2015 — 

Vail is noted for its beauty — our visitors admire the view towards Holy Cross from on top of the ski runs, and the view up the valley towards the Grand Traverse is memorable and oft photographed. And it is not just natural beauty — our visitors enjoy the Covered Bridge and our many interesting buildings. Vail has the Design Review Board and the Planning Commission to ensure that we preserve our town’s beauty.

But now we have an ugly, inappropriate doozy on what was a lovely bridge in East Vail where Main Gore crosses over Gore Creek until some weeks ago — a new set of rusty steel railings and crash barriers. These barriers are designed to absorb the energy of a vehicle that crashes at high speed into it — it is so well designed that a tractor trailer traveling at high speed would survive.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Rewriting history

June 23, 2015 — 

Jack Van Ens, in his column of June 6, compares Reagan to Jefferson in an unfavorable light as if to say that Jefferson represents “today’s” liberal persuasion regarding religion and education in “today’s” society; that is to say that Jefferson discouraged a national religion of any sort, but favored a national approach toward a broad and comprehensive educational system. Really?

Saying all of this, Van Ens implies that Jefferson’s political mindset is more in line with modern liberal philosophy because of this disparity between the two men. Let us further examine these differences. Number of slaves owned: Jefferson had over 100, Reagan owned none. Jefferson endeavored to establish a union between the colonies (states), and accordingly countenanced slavery and discrimination within the Constitution (circa 1787) to accomplish that end through compromise, whereas Reagan promoted and enforced the Constitution (circa 1980) with its amendments that expunged those egregious provisions. Jefferson favored federal control of education, under a Constitution that did not provide such authority, whereas Reagan found expressed authority only in the states under the 10th and 14th Amendments.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Irresponsible interpretation

June 22, 2015 — 

Re: Your cartoon with nine coffins and the caption “Apparently it’s only ‘terrorism’ when a Muslim does it” (Commentary, Saturday’s Vail Daily): This cartoon reveals a cartoonist and editorial board incapable of evaluating a situation, and oblivious to history. When terrorist attacks occurred on Northern Ireland, nobody had a problem labeling them as Irish terrorists. We also recognized that not all Irish were terrorists.

Now you are trying to create an equivalence between a murderer and ISIS. ISIS is successfully recruiting and beheading people under the banner of religious ideology. The North Carolina mass murder was committed by a lone hateful, racist sociopath. He would not be able to recruit followers from any legitimate religion. The only common ground with ISIS is that both have chosen Christians as their target.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Missed opportunity

June 22, 2015 — 

What a great chance missed for alliteration with the Sunday headline “Rafters revel in river flows,” which could have been more fun had it read “Rafters revel in river rapids.”

Tom Edwards

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Great event

June 18, 2015 — 

Last Saturday marked the Eagle River Watershed Council’s sixth annual RiverFest fundraiser. This year we changed things up from our standard model for the event, and we couldn’t be happier with the result. Over 120 people came out to enjoy a day on the Upper Colorado River and an evening at the Wolcott Yacht Club to celebrate the conservation and protection of our local watersheds.

Thanks to all of you who joined us for RiverFest and made the event such a success. The float with Timberline Tours from Rancho del Rio to State Bridge was a fast one, thanks to high river flows. Our paddlers skirted the storm clouds and enjoyed sunshine the whole way. Though we got sprinkled on during the setup, the weather gods cooperated in the end, surprising us with a fantastic evening under the leafy canopy and amongst the gorgeous flowers at Wolcott Yacht Club. The night was filled with bluegrass tunes from Taarka, laughter, great food and drink, and care-free, summer vibes all around. We had a great time and hope you all did, too!

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Time to speak up

June 18, 2015 — 

Some things, when mixed, are good together: Chips and salsa, peanut butter and jelly. Some things sublime: Cake and ice cream, tequila and lime, tea for two and me for you. Some things don’t mix: Oil and water. Some things are just wrong Paisley and plaid. Drinking and driving is disastrous.

In town, mixed-use zoning conjures mutually nurturing citizens/business; watering hole and warm hearts. A-plus. Pedestrian traffic and liquor sales. Check. Bumping into neighbors from across town at the post office — how have you been? It’s good to have your in-laws staying at the real hotel. Amen. A gallon of milk at the end of the block on Sunday morning: Priceless.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Not a religion

June 18, 2015 — 

The letter by Mr. Krohlow (Thursday’s Letters to the Editor) trying to designate environmentalism as a religion and the Environmental Protection Agency as a religious organization is just plain ignorant. Granted that a small number of people who call themselves environmentalists go overboard, that does not make the rest of us fanatics. I have a graduate degree in environmental science. My concern for the environment (as is much of the EPA’s) is science-based and has nothing to do with religion. We are concerned about the dwindling diversity of wildlife and eco-systems. Whether you like it or not, we are part of those systems, and when they go, we go. Use your common sense, and if you don’t like what the EPA is doing, argue on the basis of facts.

Katherine Delanoy

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: More skepticism needed

June 17, 2015 — 

A few weeks ago one of our learned — he self-identified as an attorney — neighbors shared his understanding of the US Constitution; that it directs our laws to a separation of church and state. I would hope all of us would agree that that’s a good thing — regardless of one’s religious persuasion (Catholic, Jewish, Islamist, Buddhist, Hindu, etc.). We’re all free to and free from.

My question is this, “Is environmentalism a religion?” If it is, and I believe it is, a religion (not quite as organized as the above, yet), then isn’t the EPA an institutionalization of a religion?

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Allow pets on gondola

June 16, 2015 — 

I am addressing this letter to the area pet owners and guests. If you would like to hike Vail Mountain with your pet and access it via the gondola, I suggest you contact Vail Resorts and make that request. Telluride has a policy that every third car is pet friendly. Speaking with many locals and guests, they would like to see this go into effect. This would only be for the summer season.

Jay “Bones” Corsetti

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Eagle says thanks

June 16, 2015 — 

Hundreds of people came out to Chambers Park May 30 to enjoy the first annual Eagle River Jam and Backyard BBQ. The town of Eagle was overwhelmed by the generosity of our businesses and neighbors who donated time, product, services and more to make the event a huge success. Some highlights:

• 220 people floated the Eagle River for free, thanks to Timberline Tours and Lakota Guides.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for support

June 14, 2015 — 

With special appreciation and gratitude The Sherpa Foundation says thank you to all of our community residents who attended Vail Valley Connects Nepal, our first fundraiser, on May 22 at the Eagle-Vail Pavilion. We were overwhelmed by your generosity, your compassion and your interest in helping villages in rural Nepal. We hope that you gained a better understanding of the culture of Nepal and the current living conditions where entire mountain villages are living under makeshift tarps.

The Vail Valley is home to many families who hail from the Himalayan region of Nepal, many whom were volunteers at the event. The cultural differences are many, yet the same. It is village to village and mountain community to mountain community. The Sherpa Foundation will assist in rebuilding homes in this region where 99 percent of the homes were destroyed by two major earthquakes this spring. These are villages that have received no aid from the international relief agencies.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: 'No' to Red Cliff plan

June 12, 2015 — 

How many snowmobiles or ATVs does it take to make Shrine Pass Road dangerous? We’ll find out soon enough. However, some think this has already happened. It’s about to get worse. If you recreate on Shrine Pass Road, or on any of the trails surrounding Red Cliff, whether with a motorized vehicle or not, please read this letter. This issue may both concern and disturb you, as there’s a risk of the closure of Shrine Pass Road. The board of trustees of the town of Red Cliff recently approved a motion to allow motorized recreational vehicle rental businesses (for unguided tours), previously not listed as an allowable business in our code, by a vote of 3–2. One such business has been operating for the past year. Now, another business of this type wants to operate at the main intersection of town.

Our master plan specifically states in the introduction under “the vision” that ”the citizens of Red Cliff would like a town that provides the traditional public services while maintaining the historical, mining mountain-town environment. They accept the fact that they may have to work harder to preserve this lifestyle ... ” I don’t know how snowmobile/ATV businesses maintain the historical character of Red Cliff.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Support clean power plan

June 11, 2015 — 

Support clean power plan

I am excited to see that valley’s recycling rates have gone up! The fact that the statewide recycling rate is only 11 percent is concerning however, and it is a rate that is in dire need of improvement. As a Colorado resident, it is disappointing to see those numbers. It is up to us to take action to save our planet, and we can do this in a number of ways.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Yes to Clean Power Plan

June 11, 2015 — 

As a native Coloradan and active hiker, I am ecstatic to hear about the efforts of local Coloradans to clean up our mountains and trails. I love that people are getting out there, having fun and making a difference.

However, if cleaning trails isn’t for you, you can make a positive impact on the environment with a simple phone call. Later this summer, the EPA will finalize the Clean Power Plan that will reduce carbon output from power plants. By limiting carbon pollution, Colorado will transition towards renewable energy. This excites the possibility of a cleaner environment less pollution in the mountains and on our trails.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Save Red Cliff

June 10, 2015 — 

“Can we talk about it?”

“No. Let’s not go for a walk today.”

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Complaint department

June 10, 2015 — 

First, I must clarify that my mother never knew exactly how to say, “Do you know what pisses me off?” She grew a little older and decided not to learn the correct connotation of the phrase and it stayed that way. She still says it and the rest of the family respects her and uses it as well. So these are a few things that “piss” me.

When an ex-girlfriend doesn’t laugh at my jokes. She used to laugh out loud and in front of other people while she was holding me tight. Now I’m just an idiot. That pisses me.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Principal treated poorly

June 9, 2015 — 

I am writing to express my embarrassment as a parent of Brush Creek Elementary School in Eagle.

Eagle is a forward-thinking town, one that is nationally recognized for ideas such as the singletrack bike path to the Eagle schools. Brush Creek Elementary School is a thought leader and one of the leading elementary schools in the district. I have been extremely happy with his experience at Brush Creek.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Grateful for support

June 9, 2015 — 

On behalf of the board of directors, volunteers, and staff of HomeCare and Hospice of the Valley, I wish to share how grateful we are to Vail Valley Cares for their generous support of our organization during their most recent grant cycle. We are committed to providing compassionate, expert home care and hospice services to the residents of the Vail Valley. Providing care to those in need of home health or hospice care, regardless of the ability to pay, is possible only through community support and grants provided by organizations like Vail Valley Cares. Thank you so much!

In the winter of 2009, Vail Valley Medical Center requested that Hospice of the Valley assume ownership of its home health and hospice entity. VVMC chose the direction of working with a nonprofit, locally based organization whose mission aligned with providing services to all in Eagle County. VVMC requested that Hospice of the Valley help them in ensuring that any family or individual residing in Eagle County would be able to access quality community-based home care and hospice services. Hospice of the Valley welcomed the Eagle River Valley into our local, nonprofit organization.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Disrespectful campers

June 8, 2015 — 

To a group of mountain bikers with a Subaru who camped up the Boneyard the night of June 6: Your campfire you left was out of control after you had left Saturday mid-morning. The blaze was put out by some good Samaritans who were able to carry water up to the scene with their OHV in coolers and bury the still-smoldering log. Also found was a littered campsite with beer bottles and boxes.

Disrespecting humans at their finest. I hope someone who knows this group will fill them in on how to respectfully treat public lands. If it was you, please stay at home and trash/burn down your own home.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Lost credibility

June 5, 2015 — 

When you have a secretary of state with a personal multi-billion dollar “cookie jar” under the pseudonym of a “foundation,” you have a classic conflict of interest and an avaricious temptation. Personally, where this so-named “foundation” enjoys a tax exempt IRS status with the trustee thereof being a nationally recognized liberal that also enjoys a “most favored taxpayer” status with the IRS, that in of itself, you have the makings of official corruption and self-dealing. And we now learn that “charitable” (favor) donations have not been reported to the IRS, nor the names of the donors. We learn that IRS amendments must be made for omissions and non-disclosures. We also learn that a small portion of the funds are for charitable purposes, the remainder instead go toward supporting an extravagant lifestyle for both of the Clintons. Is the Clinton Foundation a tax dodge, a straw organization to divert attention from Hillary’s nefarious transactions with donors, or is it a facade to impersonalize Hillary from riches that are bestowed upon her by those seeking political favors?

At the very least, is there a sense of impropriety when Hillary, as secretary of state, approves the divestiture of 20 percent of the US uranium production (a strategic asset of the United States), and in turn, allows the conveyance of that same asset to Russia who, in turn, nefariously supplies that commodity to Iran (a terrorist nation), all the while when she (the Clinton Foundation) receives millions of dollars in donations from the “broker” of the transaction? Does this “sense of impropriety” become something else, like influence peddling and cover-up, when this same secretary of state effectually eliminates (erases) any trace of the negotiations thereof from her email server?

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Don't provide a bailout

June 5, 2015 — 

To Scott Fitzwilliams, White River National Forest supervisor:

This is preposterous (“Big land swap idea floated in Minturn,” Thursday’s Vail Daily)! It is inconceivable the U.S. Forest Service has allowed this conversation to progress this far. Three decades ago the U.S. Forest Service successfully created Meadow Mountain as a magnificent “in our back yard” habitat for wildlife and easily accessible area for human and motor-powered recreation. Please close the door on this conversation immediately. Battle Mountain Development Co. representative Tim McGuire’s comment, “There is no question that we will develop Battle Mountain if an exchange is not feasible,” sounds like a threat: “If you don’t play with me, well, look at what I’d do”! Mr. McGuire understands that the economic reality is that there is no market for homes on Battle Mountain. Not now, not ever. His investor, private equity firm Lubert Adler, is seeking a solution to recover the millions they have poured into a failed venture. I request the U.S. Forest Service not provide the bailout. Thank you.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for lunch

June 5, 2015 — 

The senior adults at the Golden Eagle Senior Center and the Eagle County Healthy Aging Program would like to give a heartfelt thank you to the wonderful fifth-graders from the classes of Ms. Forsyth and Ms. Jennings at Eagle Valley Elementary School. Every Thursday, a group of mature, friendly, helpful students would arrive at the senior center ready to help at our noontime lunches. The students helped serve meals and clean up and got the opportunity to socialize with local seniors over lunch each day — a great inter-generational experience for all. Thank you, Ms. Forsyth, Ms. Jennings, and all of the wonderful fifth-graders! We all wish you the best of luck in middle school next year.

Carly Rietmann

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Fight anti-labeling bill

June 4, 2015 — 

There are probably few readers of this newspaper, or even writers or editors, who could point out which foods in the grocery store have been produced with genetically modified organisms (GMOs). Yet according to the latest polls, nearly everyone — more than 90 percent — of people believe they should have the right to know if their food contains GMOs. That means the majority of Americans support laws that require the mandatory labeling of GMOs.

In July 2016, Vermont will become the first state to enforce a GMO labeling law. Connecticut and Maine have passed laws that will take effect when other states have joined them. Bills for mandatory GMO labels are being considered in 18 states this year: Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Be part of Fair and Rodeo

June 4, 2015 — 

There are many opportunities to exhibit your talents at the 76th Eagle County Fair & Rodeo. It is easy to enter and the county fair is a great place to showcase your work. All residents can be a contestant by entering an exhibit in the Open Class division. Like an old-fashioned county fair, the Eagle County Fair’s exhibits include quilts, knitted and crocheted items and canned foods. However, there is also photography, art exhibits and much more.

Get out the cookbooks, recipe boxes, check the Web or look through magazines for a tried and true recipe to create the baked good you always wanted to try. There are several classes of baked goods including breads, cookies, cakes, candies, pies, and a division on recipes modified to reduce the fat or sugar content to make them healthier.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top