Letters to the Editor

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for help

October 24, 2014 — 

Thank you, Ray and Lisa Tenbrook of Eagle! Your simple donation of a hay bale for my sons’ scarecrow was a game-changer. We had a lot of fun putting it together. Thanks to your generosity.

Sean Koenig

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Casida for U.S. House

October 24, 2014 — 

Here are the reasons we should vote for Tisha Casida for House District 3, U.S. Congress.

First, she is not a puppet of any party! She will definitely shake up the status quo that is driving the U.S. into the abyss. She is a young business owner who truly speaks her own mind and wants to change our government’s course back to serving, not interfering — back to more freedom and volunteerism through a dramatic reduction in federal powers, decentralization to local level decisions, personal choice and personal responsibility.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Chandler-Henry for commissioner

October 24, 2014 — 

I am writing to endorse the re-election of Kathy Chandler-Henry to the Eagle County Board of Commissioners. I worked with Kathy for some time now on West Slope water issues through the Northwest Colorado Council of Governments Water Quality and Quantity group and have seen her diligently working to protect the recreational economy and environment of Eagle County from new unnecessary trans-mountain water diversions. She has traveled to Pueblo to give testimony before the Colorado Water Conservation Board, and to Castle Rock to meet with and discuss our water issues with Front Range county commissioners, along with countless other water meetings revolving around the development of the Colorado State Water Plan.

Kathy Chandler-Henry is intelligent, hard-working, respectful, articulate and dedicated to the best interest of both the Roaring Fork and I-70 sides of Eagle County and deserves your vote for re-election this November.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Had a great visit

October 24, 2014 — 

At the beginning of September, my wife Liz and I had the pleasure of spending two weeks of our summer holiday in Vail and Avon. Our first visit to Colorado was in 1998, when I was accompanist to the visiting County of Cornwall Male Choir and during the first part of that trip we stayed with a couple who then were living in Westminster. The lady has since been widowed and moved to Thornton, and in her last Christmas letter to us, invited us over. We could hardly refuse.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, we spent time with her and also had a week in holiday ownership resorts in Vail and Avon. We visited Beaver Creek, Frisco, Minturn, Leadville, Steamboat Springs, the Eagle County Airport classic car show (amazing), Glenwood Canyon, Aspen, Fairplay and Marble to name but a few of the places we saw. The point of this letter is really to say that apart from enjoying the magnificence of the scenery — so totally different to what we have at home, living as we do only a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean — we would would like to say a big “thank you” to all the local people who made us so welcome wherever we went. My wife has difficulty with mobility and walked with the aid of crutches. The help, courtesy, friendliness, advice and concern of everyone we encountered in shops, restaurants, tourist areas and so on, was very much appreciated by both of us and contributed greatly to what was a most memorable holiday.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Hymes for Avon council

October 24, 2014 — 

Avon voters, I encourage you to vote for Sarah Smith Hymes. I have known Sarah for nine years and served with her on the Eagle County Charter Academy board of directors. Sarah is a tireless worker, insightful in analyses of issues, fair in deliberations, and a visionary. She honors her responsibility of citizenship and will be an asset to the Avon Town Council.

Deborah Worley

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Franciose for coroner

October 24, 2014 — 

This letter is in support for Sue Franciose for coroner. Her professionalism, sensitivity and intelligence make her the best candidate for this position. Sue has the energy and commitment needed to care for the families who have lost loved ones, no matter the time of day or night. Donna Barnes, RN, who was our respected coroner for many years and has worked with both Bettis and Sue, is supporting Sue Franciose . Donna’s opinion and decision to support Sue is important, as Donna recognizes who is the best choice. A coroner needs to be respectful at the scene of a death, as this is privileged information and details should not be brought up in a public forum. Sue Franciose will be mindful and respectful of this and will be discreet and selective with these details and will consult with the families before discussing any information with the press or the public. Please join me in supporting Sue Franciose for coroner. She will serve our county well with integrity, compassion and grace.

Susan and Kevin Kanne

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Disagree with endorsements

October 24, 2014 — 

Avon voters,

The Vail Daily editorial team has spoken and made their recommendations for the four seats on the Avon Town Council. I disagree with three of their selections. I encourage you to do the research and make your own decisions. The candidate forum can be viewed on publicaccess5.org in the town of Avon video library.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Donovan for state Senate

October 24, 2014 — 

Based on of all the mail I’ve received, I wouldn’t be surprised if most of the district thinks that Kerry Donovan is a hippie, “left-wing elitist” as one shadily funded advertisement labels her. But most of the district doesn’t know Kerry Donovan.

The Kerry Donovan I know from her days of working at the Vail Ski and Snowboard Academy is real, intelligent and thoughtful. I am a few months too young to vote, but I’ve been able to learn about Kerry on a more personal level. At VSSA when I would struggle with school work, I would go to Kerry because she, with her level head, would be more than willing to help me make a plan to get caught up with school work after a long ski trip. When I traveled to Austria with my team along with her assistance, the Wi-Fi didn’t work. We had all given up on trying and frankly were relaxed to have an excuse to tell our teachers as to why our work wasn’t done. Kerry, however, was committed to finding a way to keep us productive. She scheduled times when we would be allowed to connect to the Internet, to keep it from being overused, and sure enough, it worked. Rather than returning home with limited school work done after almost a month of training, Kerry guided us so we returned caught up in all of our classes.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Should be black and white

October 23, 2014 — 

So it’s a “gray area,” says the U.S. Forest Service regarding public access along the reaches of the Salt Creek road (south of Eagle). Mr. Bissett of Texas (Letters to the Editor, Oct. 6) found this out from this federal agency when he protested a landowner’s sign that declared the road to be “private.”

Here again, when it comes to individual rights, specifically the right to enjoy public lands, a federal agency, rather than acknowledging or researching the truth, evades an issue by asserting that it is murky, “gray” or subject to equivocation.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: McConnell for state House

October 23, 2014 — 

Ballots have been mailed making it appropriate to examine the relevancy of the Constitution. The Declaration of Independence, Constitution and the founders’ vision for the great experiment in liberty are rarely part of the public school curriculum today. Upon the occasion these are included, the subject is usually treated as a children’s story or fable. This is not by accident. The government controlling the school system has been subverting the Constitution from inception. For more than 100 years, the progressives’ incrementalism has delegitimized the Constitution in the minds of many. Socialists captured academia generations ago.

“Give me four years to teach the children and the seed I have sown will never be uprooted.” — Lenin.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Results Down Under

October 23, 2014 — 

With mid-terms upon us, and re-emergence of Mitt Romney, I wanted to share 24-month results Down Under since his look-alike, John Key, was elected there. His platform was decidedly Romney-esque:

• Less government and regulations.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Harvey for sheriff

October 23, 2014 — 

A few supporters of James van Beek have insinuated that Daric Harvey insulted Mr. van Beek in a newspaper ad that had a side-by-side comparison of the two sheriff candidates. The ad listed Mr. van Beek’s current job title as “bus driver/dispatcher.” Why are people taking offense to this? Does the ad say that being a bus driver is somehow not admirable? No. The ad merely illustrates the current employment status of each man. The issue goes to qualifications and recent job experience. I cannot see how this can be construed as anything other than what it is — a factual statement which has been supported by Mr. van Beek publicly.

I have been volunteering for Daric Harvey’s campaign for the past several months and I have never heard him make a disparaging remark about his opponent. For one thing, it goes against Daric’s character to do so. He also doesn’t need to stoop to negative campaigning because he has a solid and diverse resume with current, relevant law enforcement experience.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Udall for Senate

October 23, 2014 — 

After learning that the Denver Post had endorsed Cory Gardner, I felt it was important to learn more about him as a candidate. I thought that maybe, as the Denver Post asserts, it’s time for a change even though Rep. Gardner’s record on women’s rights is abysmal. The conclusion I have come to believe is that Congressman Gardner’s record in Congress is not stellar enough to warrant voting for him to become the new Colorado senator. He would, in fact, be new, but his legislative ideas are certainly not dramatic enough to offset the work that Sen. Udall has already accomplished.

Style and substance are issues in this campaign, and really speak a lot about the choices voters have. Mark Udall is an understated, passionate, career politician with deep family roots in government. Some people think being a career politician is a bad thing, but his record would work against this. Sen. Udall has been able to accomplish much in his years as a representative and senator including eliminating the “don’t ask, don’t tell,” phrase from military policy, serving on the intelligence committee and advocating for citizens’ privacy, and championing legislation regarding energy and natural resources policy.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Franciose for coroner

October 23, 2014 — 

The current coroner has been in office for some time. However, we are supporting Sue Franciose for Eagle County coroner. Sue is a long-term resident of the valley and has an extensive medical and public health background.

Sue is a former Eagle County deputy coroner and is passionate about providing our community with informative programs. For example, organ donation is the responsibility of the Coroner’s Office and needs more attention that it is currently receiving. Sue has served as a registered nurse on harvest and transplant teams. She is committed to ensuring that everyone who wants to donate has the opportunity to do so. This is very important in our community because of the need for tissue and bone donors.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for help

October 23, 2014 — 

The Eagle Valley and surrounding communities recently came together at 4 Eagle Ranch to support the Scott family of Burns who had a huge cattle loss at their ranch. It was an evening filled with smiles, laughter and tears. Families came with the great-grandparents down to newborns, old friends getting re-acquainted after a busy summer, and strangers came and gave with generous hearts.

4 Eagle Ranch opened its doors and hundreds of folks from Fort Collins to Grand Junction to the Yampa Valley filled the ranch’s main hall and spent the evening visiting, dancing and giving of themselves to help this local family. And the food! Two long tables stretched down the room and were filled with treasured family potluck dishes lovingly prepared. It was a sight!

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: A special number

October 23, 2014 — 

Your front page headline “Colorado High School Cycling League draws 613 riders ... ” really caught my attention. The number 613 has great meaning to many Jews as it represent the total number of positive and negative commandments in the Torah (yes, there are more than 10). So the fact that exactly 613 riders are participating makes it a special event.

Kenneth Wetcher

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Harvey for sheriff

October 23, 2014 — 

I have lived here my whole life. I have worked doing everything from plowing streets to maintenance for the town of Vail, and now serve as a supervisor in the public works group. My family originally lived in Gilman before the mine closed down in ’78. I’ve known most of the sheriffs that have come through Eagle County since my time being around.

One thing I think we should have in a sheriff is the ability to be respected and give respect. Daric Harvey is the kind of guy that you can walk up to on the street, and he’ll treat you the same as if he were in uniform as in normal clothes. We’ve worked together over the past three years, and every time you see him talk to anybody, he’s always very open and kind. I would never be worried about talking to Daric about anything I had on my mind for the Sheriff’s Office, whether he was in uniform or not. There’s no caprice there in regard to his office, if you know what I mean.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Franciose for coroner

October 21, 2014 — 

I am writing to express my sincere endorsement of Sue Franciose for Eagle County coroner. It is my belief as a trained mental health counselor that such a position should be held by a person of integrity, wisdom and compassion. This is a position that requires medical intellect, passion for the truth and an ability to hold the ethical and appropriate space within the community. In my years of knowing Sue it has been my pleasure to witness her passion and commitment to the Eagle County community. She is dedicated her time, energy and financial resources to many deserving citizens of this community, from the youth to the elderly, as well as physically ill. I am proud and excited for her current work with organ donation. I wholeheartedly request your consideration of Sue in the upcoming election.

Kerri Thelen

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Donovan for state Senate

October 20, 2014 — 

I will tell you that politics is not my thing. I am amazed at the harsh things that come out against each other. So, that is why I wanted to write something.

Kerry Donovon has been a major player in my family’s life. I am from Crested Butte. This is where we raised our family. Our son, Aaron Blunck, decided that he wanted to go further with his skiing career. We made the hardest decision we have ever made. We moved Aaron over to Vail, so that he could train and finish high school. Aaron went to Vail Ski and Snowboard Academy.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Bettis for coroner

October 20, 2014 — 

Eagle County voters should re-elect Kara Bettis for the office of Eagle County coroner, the clearly superior candidate based on her experience, forensic training, dedication and commendable performance. The county coroner’s tasks must be performed under often arduous and unpleasant circumstances beyond those directly associated with the tragedy itself. Consider the challenges of a single mom with two school-age children at home traveling to the site of a traffic fatality on I-70 at 3 a.m. in the middle of a snowstorm. That requires tremendous dedication while performing those tasks with professionalism and compassion for the deceased and their families. I know from my personal acquaintance with Ms. Bettis that she is a thoroughly professional and compassionate person and a reliable and dedicated public servant of the residents of Eagle County.

Joe McHugh

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Pot, kids and safety

October 19, 2014 — 

Dear Angela Moore Maddalone (letter to the editor, Sept. 27),

Obviously, you have not read all of my letters. On Oct. 2, 2013, I did not know anything about either medical or recreational marijuana. There are several experts in Eagle County who have studied the science and have shared with me. Buddy Sims, Bob Ticer, Michelle Stetcher and Shar are four. Bob Doyle from the Front Range is a source. I have tremendous respect for medical marijuana and I have visited with Shar many times. I consider her a friend. You may know that she is a registered nurse and works at Rocky Mountain High in Edwards. She helps many of the cancer patients at Shaw. She intimated to me that she would prefer that recreational marijuana not be sold in Edwards.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Asking for your vote

October 19, 2014 — 

I recently heard someone say, “Democracy demands attention,” and in these times leading up to the election, it is so true. Voters must listen closely and do some investigating to find out the truth about their candidates and the issues. I encourage voters to do their due diligence to discover each candidate’s skills, experience, priorities and vision. These are the qualities that will make a difference to our county. I hope that you will take the time to get to know me.

I have lived and worked in Eagle County for 23 years. I am married and have raised my two children here. Like many, I enjoy skiing, camping, biking, community service, friends and family. I delight in the wonderful, beautiful qualities of Eagle County.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Van Beek for sheriff

October 19, 2014 — 

I am writing to express my support of James Van Beek for sheriff. I have known James for over 22 years since meeting him while working at the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office. I’ve known James and Carrie before they were married.

James and I worked under the leadership of A.J. Johnson as deputies in the Patrol Division. Having worked with James, I can say with confidence and admiration that he would make an excellent leader as sheriff.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Suppes for state Senate

October 19, 2014 — 

In reviewing candidate experience, platforms and debates, I am most impressed with those from Don Suppes, candidate for State Senate District 5. He clearly states his positions on every issue that we face here in Eagle County and most importantly his willingness to fight to keep Western Slope water from being diverted to Denver. This issue is vital to farming, ranching and recreation, which are very important not only here in our county, but throughout this huge district, which is made up of a combined seven counties. I believe Don will be the voice of rural Colorado when he gets to Denver.

Don’s family roots are deep here in Colorado; his family stems back for five generations on the Western Slope. Don himself is a lifelong resident of Delta County, a small business owner, and the twice elected mayor of Orchard City. He is, by far, the most qualified candidate for this position. I urge you to get the facts, ignore the attack adds by those pesky 527 organizations and vote for Don Suppes in the upcoming election.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Donovan for state Senate

October 19, 2014 — 

All of us in Colorado Senate District 5 are faced with a real and important choice when our ballots arrive in the next few days. For those of us that affiliate with a party, the choice may seem easier, but I want to encourage my fellow Republicans (I’ve been registered since voting for Jerry Ford in 1976) and any right-leaning independents to think twice before filling in the box based on party.

Full disclosure: Kerry Donovan, the Democratic candidate, is a good friend of mine. I got to know Kerry while we served together on the Vail Town Council. Here’s what I can tell you about my friend Kerry that you won’t get from one of those obnoxious mailers that keep clogging your mailbox

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Van Beek for sheriff

October 19, 2014 — 

I have read several letters relating to the upcoming Eagle County election for sheriff. Evaluating the two candidates, we need to carefully assess who will be best for our community because the position is critical to the direction, effort and attitude our Sheriff’s Office will have.

The November election is just around the corner for Eagle County voters who will select their new Eagle County sheriff. James van Beek, a 25-year Eagle County resident, is clearly the most qualified candidate in the race. He knows our community, is committed to addressing our community concerns as well as focused on maintaining a high-quality law enforcement service for the citizens of Eagle County. James van Beek is enthusiastic, capable of making tough decisions and is a proven leader and law enforcement officer. He has compassion for law enforcement that is crucial for the Sheriff’s Office. He will bring leadership that is necessary for the betterment of the department, as well as the citizens and communities of Eagle County.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: McQueeney for commissioner

October 19, 2014 — 

I am writing to express my support for Jeanne McQueeney and to ask my friends and community members to join me in voting for her in the upcoming election.

Jeanne has been a fearless and effective advocate in support of education and environment, among other issues, for more than two decades. For example, she founded Early Childhood Partners, a local nonprofit dedicated to providing quality preschool education for all children and families in our community.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Just stating facts

October 19, 2014 — 

OK, I’m off my couch after reading Kim Andree’s letter supporting James van Beek and knocking Daric Harvey in Eagle County’s sheriff race. For the record, I am not a registered voter in Eagle County (yet) but was a political science major so I’m kind of a geek about this stuff. I’m also not a Democrat or Republican.

I saw the comparison ad that Ms. Andree refers to where Mr. Harvey was clearly illustrating the basic differences between himself and Mr. van Beek. I don’t mean to insult Ms. Andree or any of Mr. van Beek’s other supporters who have reacted so passionately to what, quite honestly, appears to be the truth. I researched both candidates and through Google found Mr. van Beek’s LinkedIn profile which shows his profession as a “driver/dispatcher at Eagle County Government.” So it appears that what Mr. Harvey said is simply a statement of fact regarding current employment. I also read Mr. van Beek’s Blogspot where he fails to mention his current employment. What I did not see in any ad or interview was disparaging remarks by Mr. Harvey against bus drivers or any other profession, seasonal or otherwise. It’s kind of a cheap shot to imply such.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: For Chandler-Henry, Harvey

October 19, 2014 — 

Election season is upon us. Almost over may be the more accurate description. Ballots were mailed last week and I have two Eagle County candidates that I am wholeheartedly supporting.

Kathy Chandler Henry is running for re-election as county commish. I’ve known her and worked with her for 20 some years. She was raised in the Eagle Valley and has been a committed educator, business owner, volunteer and trusted elected official. She was my first professor when I returned to college in my late 30s. She was one of the best teachers I would ever have, expecting a tremendous amount from her students and of herself. She is committed to representing the Roaring Fork Valley side of Eagle county and shows up consistently as a RFTA board member and to make sure she is there for the many times we need our voice heard on the other side. I trust and admire her more than any elected official I have ever known.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Chandler-Henry for commissioner

October 19, 2014 — 

Our Eagle County Board of Commissioners needs leadership that understands our “middle” class and someone who has an expansive understanding of our history with a vision to put unity back in our community. As a native from a multi-generational Eagle County family, Kathy Chandler-Henry is that leader. She understands who we are and the deep need to keep our next generation of Eagle County children living and working in Eagle County, the need to support and sustain our ranch families and support our Hispanic and Latino families raising a fourth or fifth generation in Eagle County today. She will work to prepare our children and families for success, keep our environmental assets strong and move us forward as a community. Let’s put unity back in our community and elect Kathy Chandler-Henry as our next Eagle County commissioner.

Jill E. Kovacevich

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top