Letters to the Editor

Vail Daily letter: Hoping for safety

July 30, 2014 — 

On July 24, my car overheated, and I rode with a tow truck driver who, after approximately 20 years of police work in the Greeley-LaSalle area, had changed jobs. He told me about the hazards of marijuana from the pass to Avon. A statement he made sums things up. He said, “Alcohol makes people mean; marijuana makes them stupid!”

Even though using a lot of marijuana will not kill the user, it is extremely dangerous for marijuana users to drive. The 5 nanograms for impairment was pulled out of the air, according to an Eagle County sheriff’s deputy. An expert in Eagle County says the impairment number will be 1 or 2 nanograms.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Great time on river

July 30, 2014 — 

I wanted to thank Joey and his team at Stand Up Paddle Colorado for the best experience over the weekend!

Even though our group was new to the sport, their instructors taught us everything before and during the tour on the Colorado River to make it fun! In addition to the two guides on boards, it felt comforting to have a guide on a raft behind us who would tell us when to get on our knees to stay safe. All we had to do was to show up at Rancho Del Rio and they took care of the rest — board, paddle, wetsuits, footies, helmet and the ride back to our car. We were even able to take a break in the middle of the river and walk by an old mine and see cabins made with railroad ties.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Let’s debate

July 30, 2014 — 

Vail, in its broadest sense, is an internationally known and respected brand for outdoor recreation/beauty, music/dance, food/lodging, health/wellness, shopping, volunteer time/money for nonprofits, sustainability (Vail/Beaver Creek mountains and countywide promotion of the 3 R’s consumption rules), etc.. And let’s not forget feeding the mind — via great Vail Daily articles/letters, Vail Symposium, Vail Film Festival, Vail and other libraries and even opportunities to participate in our smaller local government proceedings (vs. being in the big city). Having said all that, I don’t think some of the raw ideology, frequently repetitious, letters submitted to the Vail Daily do us proud. Consider some of our guests come to the Vail Valley as a refuge from that sort of thing. So what’s do be done?

The Daily could organize point-counterpoint, left vs. right letters for current hot button topics. You don’t have to be a national newspaper to do so as the Pueblo Chieftain regularly prints these. The topics could include state or national issues, in addition to all-important local issues where things can actually be changed. The paper, in an “arms length” position, could solicit the public for topics and only provide general guidelines for sourcing and organizing information.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: I-70 solutions

July 29, 2014 — 

I have read with great interest the various articles concerning traffic on I-70 . As someone who drives I-70 every day, and whose business depends on I-70, I feel I have a pretty educated opinion on the matter. I also feel there are simpler and less expensive ways to help the traffic move.

First, and foremost, we need to create truck-free times for I-70 traffic — three hours on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning westbound and three hours Sunday afternoon eastbound. By doing this, we can have both lanes of I-70 running at the same speed. It doesn’t do the truckers any good to sit in traffic burning fuel anyway. In Europe, trucks are banned from all roads into the resort areas all weekend.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Saying goodbye

July 29, 2014 — 

After 20 years in the Vail Valley, our family of seven is moving to the Republic of Boulder at the end of the week. We have been saying our goodbyes all summer, but there are many that have touched our lives for the good over the years that we have not been able to reconnect with and thank in person, so we would like to do so here.

Thank you to the Eagle County School District teachers, dedicated staff and administration for providing a quality public education for our boys that has prepared them well to reach the goals they have set for themselves. We all have those special teachers who impacted our lives in significant ways. Thank you Yuri Kurronen for turning Ben’s education experience around — he loves to learn because of you. Thank you to Lisa Fullhart, for the fifth-grade biathlon! It taught each of my boys that exercise can be fun and that if you work at something you can accomplish more than you thought was possible. Thank you to Leah Stevenson and Mary Brown at the Eagle County Charter Academy for truly caring for and about Will during a time when being his teacher was no picnic. He has officially turned the corner and you are big reason he was able to do so. Thank you Jason Mills, civics teacher extraordinaire and kayak guru. Our boys know and care more about their government than 95 percent of their fellow citizens and that will serve them and their communities well into the future.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: In-town market needed

July 28, 2014 — 

Vail seems to have done a good job on attracting families to condominium rentals with kitchen facilities permitting them a complete residential experience and not confining them to restaurant experiences. The absence of a market in town seems to demand that visitors now must have cars in order to shop for groceries. I’m told that a market was part of the plan for Solaris but I see no evidence of this happening.

I would think that either the town, Vail Associates, or the local business community should make this issue a priority, perhaps even with financial aid. An in-town market strikes me not as an amenity but a necessity.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Minimizing damage

July 27, 2014 — 

Friday’s Vail Daily carried an AP story about a shooting at Mercy Hospital in Darby, Pa. It’s back on Page A27.

A doctor with a gun shot and disabled a man who had just killed a caseworker and injured the doctor. Another example of how a person at the scene can make a difference in minimizing the damage.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Tribute not mentioned

July 24, 2014 — 

I look forward each day to the review of the Bravo! Vail concert I have attended the evening before — today, the opening concert by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra. When I read the cover story this morning, I looked for at least a brief mention of the lovely eulogy given by Maestro Alan Gilbert in memory of the late Lorin Maazel. Alas, there was none! Not even a mention of the hauntingly beautiful “Adagio,” by Samuel Barber, played to perfection by the New York Philharmonic, which so eloquently described the sorrow we all feel at the loss of this great conductor. Maazel, who had appeared here in the Vail Valley several years with this pre-eminent symphony orchestra, was a crowd favorite, and it was easy to tell he loved this place! Was your reporter actually at the concert? If she had been, I am sure she would not have failed to remark on the tribute which opened the Philharmonic’s splendid first concert of the 2014 Festival.

Lindy Gold

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for help

July 24, 2014 — 

Thanks to all the people who donated time, merchandise and money to make this year’s Gypsum Daze 5K Run/Walk the biggest in our 20 years. Over 200 people ran or walked in the event this year. All proceeds raised from this event go toward the purchase of children’s books at the Gypsum Library.

This was another great run with another large turnout and a great group of people both running and volunteering. The following sponsors made this happen: Barker Rinker Seacat, Big Steve’s Towing, Bella’s Market and USbank. Many thanks to them.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Strength out of tragedy

July 24, 2014 — 

As a parent of one of the volleyball players at EVHS, I would like to take a moment to thank everyone for the support shown to the girls and the entire EVHS community following the tragic death of their beloved coach, Garrett LaForce. Although the girls had only known him for a year, his impact on their lives will last forever. The support that the EVHS staff pulled together in the hours after Garrett’s death was remarkable. To TPayne, Mike Gass and the other coaches that opened the gym last Monday to give the girls a place to be together and grieve, we cannot thank you enough.

Garrett, as he was never “Coach LaForce,” to the girls, will be missed; he was a trusted mentor, friend, coach and teacher. He was the big brother that many of these girls never had. He came into their lives last summer as the new young coach with an energy and enthusiasm that was contagious. He helped girls find a renewed love of the game. He was just fun to be around and watch him interact with the girls.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Wait till end

July 22, 2014 — 

My husband and I loving our second summer here in the Vail Valley and we are also enjoying our second season of Bravo Vail lawn seating. But I do not know why so many members of the audience find it acceptable to pack up and saunter out as the orchestra takes its bows, nor do I understand why it apparently is OK to continue filing out and even chatting when an encore is being played. These aren’t movies or TV shows — these are live performances. The marvelous musicians have devoted their entire lives to reaching an extremely high level of accomplishment, often at great personal cost. We owe them appreciation and, at least, the courtesy of waiting until the concert is truly over before leaving. It is distracting and rude to others. The concerts always end at about 8, and plans for afterwards should accommodate a normally paced exit, barring an emergency, of course.

Pat Torvestad

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Headed toward failure

July 20, 2014 — 

Having read the rebuttal by Denny Geraghty to yet another one of Dick Gustafson’s rants, a rant in itself I must say, my takeaway is that we have been very poorly led for most of the time since the end of World War II.

It is patently unfair to blame the mess the nation is in today solely on Obama or “W,” as many of the seeds of the likely destruction of the republic were planted by every one of the men who have served as president since Japan threw in the towel.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Look at the big picture

July 20, 2014 — 

Embarrassing, isn’t it, that so few of us know what in the world has caused the sudden explosion of undocumented children presenting themselves on our southern border. Embarrassing, isn’t it, that when we learn their countries of origin so few of us can point to those countries on a map, let alone name the capitals, their presidents, much of anything about them except that the children from those countries who have shown up look very much like “Mexicans” we see in local service jobs and in Arizona detention centers. How few of us remember studying the Central and South American chapters of “The History of the Western Hemisphere.” (Was that class even offered anywhere?) Embarrassing, isn’t it, that so many of us can’t understand why these children are being called “refugees” by people like the pope, the head of UN Refugee Services, Catholic and other charities, and even some politicians. Refugees? The U.S. doesn’t, shouldn’t, would never have a huge refugee problem! We leave that to the far-away others in this world. Embarrassing, isn’t it, that so few of us know what happened to 4 million Iraqis who became refugees after the U.S. invasion in 2003. Not embarrassing? We don’t really care? Let Jordan, Syria (embarrassing that Iraqi refugees in Syria are now at a loss to know where to go next), the other Middle Eastern countries take care of them. Just don’t ship them here.

Embarrassing that so few of us understand our very real connection to the new children-surge from Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala; that murderous narco-gangs have moved to those already homicide-leading countries to recruit “children and women mules” to transport drugs, to eliminate government and community opposition, to extort money from families, to establish gang empires in poor, weak countries. Their problem? No, our problem! We are the major export group, the customers of the powerful narco-leaders. Our users demand that the drug trafficking continue. Our communities, though often devastated at least on an individual family level by drug use and crime, overdoses, deaths, look the other way and refuse to connect the dots. Too painful. Too much work. Not in my backyard. And then there’s the poverty thing. The guilty countries are among the poorest in the world. We don’t want any more poor people, do we? Please suspend that foolishly idealistic Statue of Liberty inscription,

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Presidents lie

July 20, 2014 — 

I read with interest the column published in this paper on July 4 (“This is Leadership?”) by Dick Gustafson and the letter rebuttal to it (“Remarkable leadership”) published 10 days later by Denny Geraghty. Mr. Gustafson’s column is a long and now all too familiar rant about the political right’s perceived failings of the Obama administration. Included among Obama’s sins are the IRS scandal, the NSA scandal, Obamacare, and lest we forget that bete noire of bete noires: Benghazi. Mr. Geraghty’s retort was a reasoned response to Mr. Gustafson’s charges, replete with researched facts about Obama’s numerous successes in reducing the deficit (since 2008) and annual spending (since 2009), improving employment (again from 2009), extricating us from Iraq and Afghanistan, saving the auto industry, and providing the American taxpayer with a $30 billionreturn on our investment in bailing out the financial industry. ( Full disclosure: I am a longtime friend of Mr. Geraghty. But I am not writing to defend his position. He doesn’t need my help. He did a masterful job on his own. I do not know and have never met Mr. Gustafson. I only know from reading his columns in this paper over the years that I don’t like anything he has to say.)

Mr. Gustafson’s obsession with Mr. Obama, as is true of the far right in general, is that he’s a liar.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Facts wrong

July 20, 2014 — 

I appreciate Paul Rondeau trying to challenge our society to learn from mistakes. Unfortunately I don’t believe he did his homework and without facts how do we learn. In my mind, he then becomes part of the problem that he thinks that he is fixing. The financial meltdown started in the Carter administration when good intentions were behind the Community Reinvestment Act. It opened up the housing market to those who were previously considered not eligible. The government forced banks to drop their standards and play by their new rules. I believe these efforts were double downed in the Clinton administration. In early 2002, I believe the Bush administration went to Congress to warn them that the GSEs needed over sight and regulations. I believe they went six times but their warnings and requests were shot down by people like Barney Frank and Chuck Schumer who insisted that Fannie and Freddie were solvent. Wall Street will always find a way to be creative in making money. They were greedy, no doubt, but they took their lead from the government GSEs.

I believe if we are to learn from the past, you must stick to the facts. Many of our problems today start with good intentions and backfire into unintended consequences (housing, college loans, health care, etc.). I believe government intervention often gets in the way of the free market and competition and problems only get worse.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: A caring community

July 20, 2014 — 

I wonder if this community of Eagle is aware of the compassion and their sincere love of people and animals.

On Friday the 13th of June, I pulled into the rest area at 10 p.m. I text my kids and told them I was stopping for the night. I slept for three and a half hours. Woke up and went to the bathroom. On my return, I discovered my cat was not in the car. I couldn’t figure out how she got out. I was nearly hysterical. Several people at the rest area joined in the search. Someone called the animal rescue, and that started the ball rolling.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks from football camp

July 20, 2014 — 

A sincere “thank you” goes out to all the businesses and individuals who helped make our 2014 Vail Summer Football Camp a success. We bring in an outstanding group of college coaches to work with our kids here in the mountain communities, and we couldn’t do that without their help. The support of our community is what really makes the camp work, from the financial considerations to the customer service hospitality.

Thanks to:

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Donovan for Senate

July 19, 2014 — 

I met Kerry Donovan a couple of months ago and have been impressed how she has taken the time to listen to all the voters of District 5. Kerry has worked to help voters know about issues we face across District 5 I don’t recall her opponent spending any time in our Happy Valley doing work as hard or long as Kerry.

I was disappointed to read Matthew Soper’s letter directed at Kerry. He had the opportunity to outline the issues and difference between the candidates for Senate District 5. Instead, his letter was a poor attempt at slinging mud. Does Matthew think the voters of the district are so naive that they will respond to a cheap shot at his candidate’s opposition? And it would have been helpful in his letter if Matthew disclosed his relationship with Suppes. According to Matthew’s LinkedIn account he is a registered agent of the “Suppes for Colorado State Senate”.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Ready to lead

July 18, 2014 — 

To the citizens of Eagle County,

I first want to thank the Eagle County residents for your overwhelming support during the primary election! I could not have accomplished this without your insight and support.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: You are invited

July 18, 2014 — 

Save the date — free barbecue Aug. 31 at 5 p.m. before Carrie Underwood goes on at 7:30 p.m. at Jazz Aspen.

“When you give a luncheon or dinner, do not invite your friends, your brothers or sisters, your relatives, or your rich neighbors; if you do, they may invite you back and so you will be repaid. But when you give a banquet, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind,” — Jesus of Nazareth.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Where is the outrage?

July 18, 2014 — 

Just who is Mark Udall? For one thing, he has historically been in lock-step with and a supporter of the Obama administration for the past 5.5 years in his “career” as Colorado’s senator. During those years, I have looked and listened, fast, hard and long for any outrage or even a semblance of discontent from Mr. Udall regarding the blatant fraud perpetrated on the American people by his administration’s fomentation, marketing and implementation of the Affordable Care Act. Mr. Udall not only did not read the bill at its inception (who could have?), but voted for it, and tacitly condones the executive legislation that aborts its very provisions. Where is the outrage? Where is even a comment in passing?

The administration’s feckless foreign policy has helped to create a more dangerous world for everyone — not just Americans. Mr. Udall is absent from that venue also for party reasons (“his bread is buttered by the DNC”). Terrorism abounds to such absurdity that the only ones subject to profiling and scrutiny are American citizens, what with the antics of the NSA, the TSA, the EPA, DOJ, the DEA, and so on. Our southern border is so porous and open to terrorists that it renders moot any other precaution that the administration conjures and promotes. Mr. Udall, do you even have a position on this subject? Do you dare comment on it for political reasons?

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: We need a new perspective

July 18, 2014 — 

In response to the letter that Denny Geraghty of Denver provided to the Vail Daily on July 15 in regard to Dick Gustafson’s opinions, I want to follow up with my support for Denny’s well expressed letter regarding the events of the last several years.

I am a political independent and feel that our country has lost sight of the abyss that we almost fell into. Those responsible for the resurgence of our economic improvement were indeed: Bernanke (who, as a Republican, was asked by the Obama administration to continue his pursuit of an economic solution for a distressed economy) along with Geithner, Paulson, Summers and others. Their collective efforts saved America and the global economies from a financial disaster beyond comprehension.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Turned away at parking lot

July 18, 2014 — 

Recently, we attended a Bravo concert with a cardiac handicapped individual. We arrived at the lot above the Ford Amphitheater with a handicapped tag at 5:05 p.m. and were told twice there was no handicapped parking available. Further, we were told there was parking available at the Vail parking garage (there was not) and that Vail had exceeded the required amount of handicapped spots at that lot. Even if there were parking spaces available in the garage, this individual would have had to walk to the elevator, to the bus, and then wait for the golf cart, still a fair amount of walking for someone with a cardiac handicap. There were many parking spots available on the upper lot, but there were red cones in front of them (no doubt reserved for the patrons), but there were also many spots available with no cones in front of them. Who were these reserved for? As long as there is a person with a legitimate disability needing a parking spot, there will never be the “required” number of handicapped parking spots available.

Steven A. Field

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Golf hole now stupid

July 18, 2014 — 

First of all, please accept my apologies for sending another letter to the editor about the golf clubhouse. Does anyone really care that the new No. 18 opened up with a cup hole cutting ceremony? I guess if you have tried to sell the public on the merits of a new clubhouse built for anyone but golfers you can sell a cup hole cutting ceremony as an event. The obvious desire to spin this public relations disaster into a news story deserves some equal press. No. 18 was a fantastic golf hole and a great finishing hole. It is now a stupid golf hole out of context with the rest of the course design. A Par 5 from the blue tees at only 443 yards is way too easy. The black tees at 507 yards impose a 190-plus yard carry into the prevailing wind with a 40-yard-wide landing area next to a third lake. The hole is now unfair to compete on between handicap golfers. This tricked-out tee shot will surely entertain some that don’t recall Jack Nicklaus or Tom Watson playing this hole for prize money.

Golf has a lot to do with traditions and rules. No ribbon cutting, cup hole cutting or mayor’s announcements will make this an improvement to the golf experience in Vail. They shortened the hole to accommodate outdoor event seating and B.S. the public on safety concerns. The clubhouse design remains in litigation as neighbors try to protect their back yards and Vail from overdevelopment.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for support

July 17, 2014 — 

I am so honored and humbled to have received the democratic nomination for Eagle County commissioner. I want to express my sincere appreciation to all those that provided help, guidance and support during the June 24 primary. I cannot adequately express the depth of my gratitude. Thank you to those of you that put up yard signs, helped with phone calls, wrote letters on my behalf, and provided both moral and financial support. I also want to thank all the voters that took the time to share their perspectives and ideas for Eagle County by chatting with me at your door, by telephone or at community events.

Pat Hammon and Tom Edwards are two other Democrats that shared with me the passion to serve Eagle County as county commissioner. Both have a long history as public servants, positively impacting our community through a diversity of good works. I was humbled to have been in the caucus race with both and the primary with Pat. I learned so much from them.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Spiraling out of control

July 17, 2014 — 

Very much like a dog chasing its own tail, efforts by the states and federal government to curtail the out-of-control costs of healthcare delivery have to date proven to be just as futile and ineffective. Witness the unfolding train wreck entitled “The Affordable Care Act.”

In the United States today, the lack of regular exercise and an unhealthy diet have contributed to the overall population being among the least healthy in the nation’s history. The statistics are rather grim — 80 percent of the population does not get the minimum amount of regular exercise required to stay healthy, and the nation is hooked on an unhealthy diet of high-caloric fast food.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Rules of the road

July 17, 2014 — 

There are companies that take tourists to the top of Vail Pass in a van — from both sides, Vail and Copper Mountain, then let them coast back down on a bike. That’s fine — it’s more of an amusement park ride than a workout, but I don’t begrudge visitors from the lower levels of our planet the thrill of flying down the pass.

But as one of the many riders in the valley who does actually climb the 2,200-plus vertical feet before reaping the reward of a fast descent, I do begrudge the poor level of instruction tourists get from drivers and guides who set them free to make their way to the bottom. Three times in a single day last week, I came close to a collision because no one had told these downhill riders the “rules of the road” — or no one had told them loud enough — or no one had told them twice!

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Irresponsible journalism

July 16, 2014 — 

Sunday, July 13, Vail Daily carried three AP articles by Khaled Khazziha and Mohammed Daraghmeh which all presented Israel in an unfavorable light. While the body of the articles tried to give a more balanced account, the headlines distorted this tragic conflict. A headline “Israel refuses to end offensive against Gaza, over 150 Palestinians killed in past week” or “Israeli bombing turns Gaza into ghost town” in no way addresses the suffering and trauma to the Israeli people initiated by Hamas. Hamas is a documented terror organization which has sworn to destroy Israel and world Jewry if possible. One article quotes a man saying, “I wish I were a young man so I could wear a suicide belt and go blow myself up in Tel Aviv.” The fact that Israel has suffered few casualties as the result of the Iron Dome technology seems to facilitate Israel being seen as the aggressor.

My daughter and her family were to leave to Israel today to join members of their congregation from LA for the Bat Mitzvah of my granddaughter but on Friday they made the heartbreaking decision to cancel their trip. The response from our family waiting for them in Israel was as follows: “We try to minimize going out and when we come to buy something we ask where is the safe room as we learned that despite Iron Dome it is best to be in a safe room during a siren so briefly you made a logical decision.”

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Open up our lands

July 16, 2014 — 

I recently read the letters “Access denied” and “A bad idea” in the Monday Vail Daily.

Unfortunately, these two letters hit the nail squarely on the head. Our government, primarily the Forest Service, seems to have a well established program to shut us out of our public land. The more land they restrict access to just overcrowds the remaining land. There does not seem to be a reasonable justification for many of the road closures, and the “Travel Management Plan” is not a reasonable justification. As an example, why has Mill Creek Road from the east end of the Vail Ski Area been closed?

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Who will demand justice?

July 15, 2014 — 

I noticed in the news today that one of the criminals was sentenced in the Detroit assault that left a driver in a coma after he struck a pedestrian. The facts of that case are that a white man was driving in Detroit and struck a black youth that darted into traffic. The driver immediately stopped, notified the authorities and went to the youth’s side to render aid. The driver was attacked by three black males and was punched and kicked so viciously that he was in a coma for several days and is still unable to return to work. The witness statements and the police report exonerated the driver.

One of the criminals pleaded guilty to reduced charges and received a one-year sentence. I am sure I am not the only person that believes the sentence is inappropriate for attempted murder or felonious assault.

Let’s change the scenario a bit. Suppose a black male was driving and struck a white youth and was beaten into a coma by three white males. In this case Eric Holder and the Justice Department would have opened an investigation and federal hate-crime charges would have been filed before the 11 p.m. news on the day of the incident. The next day Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton would have led rallies and marches demanding justice for this obvious racially motivated attack. The national media would still be running stories about social injustice and discrimination in Detroit and the rest of this nation.

Who will speak out in support of the driver? Who will demand justice for this man? Who will demand that these criminals be charged with a race-based hate crime and sentenced to long terms in federal prison?

Dick Curtis

Vail

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top