Columns

Vail Daily column: ‘Keep On Keepin’ On’

July 31, 2014 — 

Songwriter Curtis Mayfield implores us in “Keep On Keeping On”:

We who are young, should now take a stand

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Show me the speed limit

July 30, 2014 — 

In casual golf outings when we shank our first shot into the lake and reach back into our bag for another ball to tee it up one more time, we call that shot a mulligan, and many times that second ball is just as bad as the first. However there are those times when that mulligan works out extremely well and puts us safely back in play.

Many successful sales people and thriving businesses have learned a long time ago that when a prospective customer says “no” to an offering or proposal, that “no” is only “no” for now, it is not a “no” forever.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Plead guilty, but insane?

July 29, 2014 — 

Words matter. Concepts matter, too. Even, sometimes, when the outcome is the same.

The Aurora shooter case brings one such concept to mind. By the way, it is my policy never to name the shooter in mass killings; the focus should be, instead, on the victims.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: ERs just for seniors

July 28, 2014 — 

Recently, I sat in the emergency room with a patient at one of our local hospitals. As we sat and waited for a doctor, I could not help but notice that most of the other people waiting were seniors. I thought this was a bit odd. Where were the screaming babies? Where were the people with alcohol and drug disorders, sprains, broken bones and fevers?

Not being a person who is shy, I asked one of the in-take personnel about this. I was a bit taken back with the response. It appears that it is with great frequency that seniors visit the ER after the physician offices close.

Learn more »

Vail Daily health column: Keep your cool using Ayurvedic suggestions

July 28, 2014 — 

I was offering ayurvedic wellness consultations at the recent Vail Resorts Employee Health Fair, talking to locals about natural methods to stay healthy and eat for their body type. Over and over again, I heard the same complaint: “I’ve been feeling so hot this summer!” Even though our summers may not be considered oppressively hot by Midwestern standards, these peak temperatures of July can feel aggravating in a community where we usually opt for hiking or biking over lounging by the pool.

Ayurveda, the ancient Indian tradition of holistic medicine, is particularly concerned with how season and climate can affect physiological imbalance, and it offers seasonal routines called “ritucharya“ to keep us in balance. Summer, known as “pitta season” in ayurveda, can elicit physical and emotional heat, which can range from inflammation and a short temper to hyper acidity and total burn out.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Designer trends, straight from the mecca of home furnishings

July 27, 2014 — 

Let’s be honest, designing and decorating is fun. I love the challenge of searching out just the right finds for our clients. Along the way, I often find an accessory (or two) that I need as well. In our retail shop, we have tons of inspiration pieces — but they don’t just show up. There is a lot of thought and travel put into finding the latest trends.

Twice a year, a team of Slifer Designs’ staff trek to the renowned High Point Furniture Market in North Carolina. For the uninitiated, High Point is the mecca of home furnishings and design. People in the industry just refer to it as High Point. Hundreds of vendors not only display their latest in furniture and design, they set up actual stores and showrooms for the six-day event.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: The year is more than half over

July 27, 2014 — 

Most firms I’m currently working with are reflecting on the first six months of 2014 and measuring year-to-date progress against their annual goals. To keep everyone focused on what “winning” looks like and to increase the probability that the company will meet its objectives, it is crucial for businesses to have written, measurable goals that are communicated to those in the organization. These business objectives quite literally help people get, and stay on, the same page. While businesses don’t exist to make money they have to make money to exist — much like the fact that we need air to exist but don’t exist to breathe. Having clearly defined goals and objectives increases the chance of successfully making the money needed for the business to exist.

Like many things in life, however, goal achievement follows the law of cause-and-effect or natural law — what we do today will create a result tomorrow. The key linkage in any businesses is to know:

Learn more »

Preview to the Vail Jazz Party column: Think of jazz as a gumbo

July 26, 2014 — 

While I am not a “foodie,” I enjoy good food and discovering new flavors and seasonings. The fusion trend in cuisine — combining different cuisines in a meal or adding non-traditional ingredients to traditional dishes — is therefore fine with me.

So how do you get from fusion cuisine to jazz? It is really very easy. Think of jazz as a gumbo. While there are many recipes for making the dish, all add multiple ingredients, all use seasonings liberally and each chef has his or her own recipe. Originating in New Orleans and using ingredients and culinary techniques of many different cultures, primarily West African, French, Spanish and German, gumbo is a one-of-a kind dish with many, many variations. What is also clear is, whatever the recipe, a master chef needs to let it simmer slowly. Sounds like jazz to me. By the way, gumbo is the official cuisine of Louisiana.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Starting Hearts aims to increase AEDs

July 26, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This column, submitted by Vail Resorts, showcases the nonprofits that the company supports through its Vail Resorts Echo program.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Zeroing your waste

July 26, 2014 — 

We in the United States generate a lot of waste — something to the tune of 250 million tons of trash every year. Even though up to 75 percent of that waste is recyclable or compostable, the country recycles an average of only 34.5 percent. The rest of the waste is transported to landfills that take up larger and larger amounts of space, and produce methane gas, a greenhouse gas that can be 20 times more potent than carbon dioxide.

It helps that recycling is getting pretty hip. Ask any child how they can help the Earth and it’s likely that he or she will cheerfully respond, “Recycle!” Putting out plastic bottles and containers on the curb is important, but even as recycling grows, overall waste generation continues to increase at an even faster pace. To really “zero” our waste, we have to curb the amount of garbage we produce in the first place.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: What does it take to buy a home?

July 25, 2014 — 

Buying a home anyplace is a challenge for most people and sorting out the myths from reality as to what is required can be a challenge.

One of the questions I hear most often is, “How much do I have to put down?” The answer is, “It depends.” The type of property, your financial situation, your intention for occupying the property, your credit and income all are factors particularly if you don’t want or have 20 percent to put down.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Is Vail the right place for retirement?

July 25, 2014 — 

Dear Joan,

I am one of those Baby Boomers that always enjoys coming to Vail to ski in the winter and vacation in the summer. Now that I can retire any time in the near future, my wife and I are trying to decide if we want to buy a home and retire in Vail, or are we better off going to an area that specializes in retirement communities in California, Arizona or Florida, for example? I know that is a wide range of choices, but we truly have that kind of flexibility.

Learn more »

Bravo! Vail chamber series provides relaxation, intimacy

July 25, 2014 — 

The best deal in town this entire summer has to be Bravo! Vail’s Silver Oak and Twomey Series. Back for its third season, this series converges great music, food and world-class wines. Bravo! Vail Artistic Director Anne-Marie McDermott has created a new atmosphere for listening — relaxed, elegant, intimate and enveloped by the beauty of the outdoors. Seating is cabaret style, with the musicians up close and personal.

What’s better than mingling with other music lovers over great food and Silver Oak and Twomey wines while experiencing the beauty of nature?

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Bonding with my father in the mountains

July 25, 2014 — 

Growing up I was always afraid I wasn’t the son my father wanted.

An avid sports fanatic, my father was a three-sport star athlete in high school who went on to play Division I football. As an adult he got into running and, eventually, Ironman triathlons.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Embrace technology — because your customers already have

July 24, 2014 — 

We all like to think we’re customer focused. I’ve never seen a business use its marketing channels to proudly claim, “We don’t care one bit about our customers!”

Yet many businesses (and increasingly, municipalities) operate this way by being protectionist in nature in their interactions with technology providers.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Smart use of ‘variables’ can lead to right answers for retirement

July 24, 2014 — 

If you think back to your math classes in high school or college, you may remember that many of the problems involved the use of variables. Changing these variables around in any fashion would change the outcome of the problem. Similar situations occur in life all of the time. To illustrate: If you look at the need to manage your retirement income so that you can’t outlive it as a “problem” to be solved, then you will need to adjust some variables to arrive at the solution you seek. That’s why it’s so important you be aware of the key variables involved in your retirement income planning.

What are some of these variables?

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Foundation empowers women to achieve goals

July 23, 2014 — 

Judie and I spent 35 years in the Air Force, and during those years, we spent a year and a half with the Army’s 101st Airborne Division at Fort Campbell in Kentucky.

I was a forward air controller and made 66 parachute jumps as a paratrooper. I spent two years in combat during the Vietnam War. The first year, 1966, I was an advisor to the Vietnam Air Force, flying combat with them in A-1 Skyraider fighter airplanes. My second-year tour, 1971, I was a colonel and the head of operations, flying F-4 fighters, this time over Hanoi. During those years, there were no women in direct combat roles.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Show me the speed limit

July 23, 2014 — 

So 2,000 miles, 28 hours of driving time, more than 200 songs, a couple of bags of Big League Chew bubble gum, a bag of sunflower seeds, several waters, a few milkshakes and fast food burgers, and at least 12 cups of coffee later, we arrived back in Colorado after our vacation on the East Coast. The trip home was filled with productive calls with customers, family and friends, and even more productive and inspiring quiet time and reflection as I drove across the countryside.

I especially enjoyed the 20 minutes or so of quiet time as I waited for the Pennsylvania State Trooper to write my ticket for prolonged driving time in the left lane. I was professionally reminded that the left lane is only for passing and politely reminded that I could have also received a ticket for being a little more than slightly above the speed limit.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: What you’ve got to do to get divorced

July 22, 2014 — 

I’m not sure what it is about the number 50. According to Paul Simon, there are 50 ways to leave your lover. Train apparently concurs, observing there are 50 ways to say goodbye. Perhaps. But when it comes to “copping” a divorce, there’s really only one way to go about it which, unfortunately, entails a process. The law is like that sometimes.

A quick aside; I’ve been writing this column since, roughly, the Jurassic Age. In that time, I’ve penned somewhere north of 1,100 columns. Often, I hear from folks with either an electronic pat on the back, a question, and yes, from time-to-time a well-placed barb. In those thousand-plus columns I’ve authored, the most responses I’ve ever received were in reaction to a column about common law marriage and, in particular, about what I’m going to say in the second sentence following this one. Common law marriage means you can get married in this state absent a ceremonial marriage provided the two of you openly declare your intent to be married. Now here it is; however, even if you are common law married, if you want to get a divorce, then you have to do so via normal/formal/legal process. You can’t get common law “unmarried.”

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Event offers information for seniors

July 21, 2014 — 

Getting older is not easy.

On July 31, please join us for the Preventative and Planning Symposium. This symposium will be free and open to the public, and it will take place at Battle Mountain High School. Local medical providers and financial experts will educate Eagle County residents such topics as:

Learn more »

Vail Daily health column: Are musicians athletes?

July 21, 2014 — 

When you attend a Bravo! Vail performance this summer to listen to the sublime works of Mozart or Copland and look at the musicians arrayed before you, images of Lindsey Vonn or Usain Bolt or local Mike Kloser are unlikely to pop into your mind.

But maybe they should. Consider this: both athletes and musicians share similar physical and mental demands in their pursuit and mastery of optimum performance. They similarly acquire skills through countless hours of practice, performing feats of great dexterity, strength and stamina, while enduring the psychological pressures and constraints of travel and the organizational “culture” of the professional team or orchestra.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Commit to the Monday Morning Mission

July 20, 2014 — 

The quest for purpose and meaning has been humankind’s journey for as long as we have been sentient beings. A search that resonates inside each of us, it has taken on a more public consciousness in the valley as of late.

Cabal Yarne wrote an energetic column in last week’s Vail Daily challenging readers to identify their passion. I was fortunate enough to attend the Vail Leadership Institute’s Annual Forum at which world-renowned author and lecturer Richard Leider urged attendees to reimagine their lives lived according to their true purpose. Happy with a busy six-month old law firm and a bustling family and community life, I was not exactly in the market for a new path. However, the recent discourse has clarified and invigorated my long-range objectives. That was the easy part.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Going batty

July 19, 2014 — 

I think it was about 5 years ago when we noticed the strange droppings on our front porch. Too big for mouse and too small for rat, we swept them away and continued to ponder the mystery. Ground squirrels? What would they be doing on our porch? Then one night, my husband turned on the porch light, stepped outside and looked up. Huddled in the corner above our front door was a cluster of bats. It was hard to tell how many there were, huddled together in a furry mass of claws and beady eyes, but I would guess there were around 10.

Learn more »

Relationships need more than love

July 19, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is from “The Best of Neil Rosenthal.”

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Cowboy up ... in sandals

July 19, 2014 — 

I’m not a coward. I’m cautious.

I wasn’t always that way. As a younger man I was brave, bordering on stupid. I enjoyed contact sports, free-climbing buildings and electrical towers, and I once dated a cop’s ex-wife. The aging process seems to have mellowed and enlightened me to the point of paranoia.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: New York Philharmonic brings beloved music to Vail

July 18, 2014 — 

One of the highlights of every summer surely is the annual residency of the New York Philharmonic. Now in its 12th consecutive summer of concerts in Vail, we see things really come alive when the New Yorkers roll into town. From its first appearance in the Rocky Mountains back in 2003, the legendary New York Philharmonic was an instant hit. Audiences always swell in size, performances sell out and the social ambiance at concerts is so friendly, it’s almost like a week-long party.

One of the greatest pianists alive, Yefim Bronfman, graciously agreed to step in for violinist Midori, who had to cancel her opening night performance due to complications with her pregnancy. Bronfman joined the New Yorkers last night to perform Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3, a beloved staple in the piano concerto repertory.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Looking toward the legacy

July 17, 2014 — 

As we head into the final months until we celebrate the opening ceremonies of the 2015 Alpine World Ski Championships, it is probably going to seem a little strange that I’m taking this opportunity to talk about legacy. Legacy, after all, is something that is left behind, so it could be argued that until these championships have been completed, there is no legacy to talk about.

But truth be told, we are hosting these championships because of a legacy: the legacy of the Vail Valley’s ski racing history, the legacy of past World Championships held here and the legacy of those who founded Vail and Beaver Creek in the first place. All of these components came together when we were bidding for these championships four years ago.

Learn more »

Preview to the Vail Jazz Party column: Captain Dyett — Jazz’s first black Mr. Holland

July 17, 2014 — 

When I was a kid I didn’t know what a mentor was. I learned from my parents, grandparents, teachers, coaches, neighbors and wise uncles. By the ’70s, “mentoring” began to take root. The mantra was a teacher needed to have a special relationship with his or her mentee. I hate that word, it sounds like a drink to me. The theory was that a mentor could guide the mentee by passing on knowledge, wisdom and experience. Hello, wasn’t that what my mom and dad did? I don’t disagree that a mentor can be a powerful force in one’s life, but I think mentors have always been around, and besides, what does this have to do with jazz?

Well, before corporate America (and ultimately most of us) began to bang the drum of mentorship, there was an amazing man that was a real life Mr. Holland, the fictional music teacher in the movie “Mr. Holland’s Opus.” Born in 1901, “Captain” Walter Henri Dyett was an accomplished musician, teacher, inspirational leader and, yes, mentor, who lived an extraordinary life in the African-American community of Chicago.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Wisdom takes a vacation

July 16, 2014 — 

“Common sense takes a vacation” probably makes more sense, but “wisdom” just sounds so much smarter doesn’t it?

Most times I am usually never being accused of having either, wisdom or common sense that is, however I do believe it is fair for me to share my exploits and adventures while on my current vacation where wisdom and common sense came took some time off right alongside of me.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Dealing with your medicine’s side effects

July 14, 2014 — 

How much do we really know about the side effect of the medicines we take? When the pharmacist gives us our medications, they also attach a medical information sheet. I personally have never read one of these information sheets and doubt that many other people do.

I think it is great that the FDA and our medical providers would like us educated about the medicines we take. However, most of us do not have medical and pharmacological knowledge and therefore do not understand the information provided in the one or two sheets that accompany our medications.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Columns »
Back to Top