Letters to the Editor

Vail Daily letter: Disrespectful reception

July 28, 2015 — 

Thank you, Willowstone resident, for your thoughtless, uncaring attitude and hateful words towards my friends and weekend visitors who were lost and could not find our house. They stepped out of their car onto “your” sidewalk to ask directions and were told, “Don’t step one foot onto our property! We’ll call the cops!” among other things. This young pregnant couple were not loud, aggressive thugs driving a ratty, old car looking for trouble. They weren’t dressed in a manner that said they were out to cause you any harm. They were lost looking for help. Maybe it was their skin color that automatically prompted your thoughtlessness. I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for leaving a lasting impression of our community on a very gentle, passive family and our very good friends. Your actions were uncalled for and disrespectful.

Gary Fagan

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Bravo to Bravo

July 28, 2015 — 

I was one of the people who was very unhappy with the loss of the former artistic director at Bravo Vail. Now I have come to be very appreciative of Anne Marie McDermott. Her ability to create so much excitement and variety in the concert series and all the other events around it has turned me into a great fan.

Kenneth Wetcher

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks, Vail Valley Cares

July 27, 2015 — 

On behalf of the Vail Valley Charitable Fund and the other nonprofits in the Vail Valley, we want to thank Vail Valley Cares for their donations given at the annual VVC Grant Breakfast. Vail Valley Cares does not get the recognition they deserve for the great work they do throughout the valley, from hosting nonprofit community meetings to awarding out scholarships for CMC students to supporting dozens of other valley nonprofits. Since 2000 they have given $2.7 million to support local nonprofits. So thank you to the Valley Valley Cares board of directors and employees! Your work, commitment and selflessness are sincerely appreciated.

Michelle Maloney

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for support

July 27, 2015 — 

Each year, I am overwhelmed with gratitude to Rosana and Johannes Faessler for their kind and generous efforts on behalf of women and their families in our community. Their 17th annual Scramble Against Cancer and unforgettable Dinner with the Faesslers, which took place on July 13, was a huge success, raising over $85,000, with net proceeds benefiting Sonnenalp Breast Center.

Forty teams competed in the Scramble at the Sonnenalp Golf Club in Singletree. It was a beautiful day with afternoon rain coming in as groups finished their round. That evening, over 300 guests attended a special dinner at Balata, with incredible food, Bernie’s Infamous Dessert Room and music by one of Rosana’s favorite bands, The Hip Replacements. The food and drinks never ran out, and guests danced through the evening.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: 'Miss' to Gustafson, Daily

July 27, 2015 — 

In the July 23 edition of the Vail Daily, the editorial staff gave a “Hit” to Dick Gustafson’s “multi-media American history project called the Spirit of ’76 — Renewed.” The editorial staff went on to state that Gustafson’s “effort to better educate our youth about U.S history is only noble.”

Really? Isn’t U.S history a required course in every high school? Isn’t U.S history a core requirement for a bachelor’s degree at just about every college? Didn’t the Texas State Board of Education rewrite the history books in Texas to minimize Thomas Jefferson because he was the most outspoken of the founders in his belief in the separation of church and state? Is the Vail Daily editorial staff so naive that they believe that Gustafson will simply rely on the accepted U.S history contributed by so many talented historians over the centuries? Let me offer a wild guess. Gustafson’s mission has nothing to do with U.S history and everything to do with peddling his own hate-mongering politics.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Carnes lacks substance

July 24, 2015 — 

Richard Carnes’ commentary (Tuesday’s Vail Daily) opining “America deserves real candidates” reflects a misguided ad hominem attack on the many Republican candidates for president in 2016. Mr. Carnes seems to be offended by any reference to “God” and believes that none of the candidates are listening to the people. I agree that Mr. Carnes may vote for whomever he wishes and for whatever reason he chooses. Nevertheless one would expect a weekly writer for the Vail Daily to offer more substance and less balderdash.

The present crop of Republican candidates has many virtues and many solid achievements such as serving as governors even in “blue” states, achieving balanced budgets and reducing unemployment. I suspect none would be less qualified than the current resident in the White House.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Design changes needed

July 23, 2015 — 

On Monday eve, the second of two Vail golf clubhouse/conference/wedding center design presentations was made to the public. Though the architect’s presentation was less than professional, it is clear that the conference/wedding facilities have taken precedent over the golfers’ grill; although golfers will use the facilities 150-plus days per year vs. an anticipated 40 for “events.” Of greater concern is that we were told that it is too late to make changes, even minor ones, in spite of the fact that it wasn’t till this month that the details were first presented to the public!

Longtime local architect and builder Dave Irwin has presented a thoughtful, low-cost (if any) improvement by moving the golfers’ grill 20 feet east along the flat cart barn roof. This would lessen the visual impact of the gigantic new driving range net poles adjacent to the sitting area to which golfers have been relegated. I cannot believe that the town of Vail Design Review Board would not work with the Town Council itself in facilitating this minor change in a timely manor! If not, then this town of ours has bigger problems that need to be addressed before this project is forced upon us.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Practice what you preach

July 22, 2015 — 

At about 2 p.m. Thursday, I exited onto the new roundabout in Eagle. The irrigation system was watering one of the newly planted areas. As I proceeded on Route 6, there was a sign which gave information about “mandatory watering restrictions.” In addition to listing the schedule for watering, it added, “No watering after 10 a.m. and before 5 p.m.” Doesn’t 2 p.m. fit into this window? I would also think that with modern technology, a water sensor could have been added to this new site, so that I would not drive through the roundabout and see the irrigation system on when it was raining. At other times, the sprinkler heads seem to be doing a good job cleaning the road surfaces. I think our local government should be practicing what it is preaching!

Susan Narduzzi

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Good intro to Eagle

July 21, 2015 — 

Every once in a while, I hear someone say that the Eagle Visitors Center takes away from local businesses. That is a bunch of baloney. The majority of people who go in the center are those traveling through on I-70 and stop to use the restrooms or get information. The visitors center is their introduction to the Eagle area. The friendliness of those working there and their knowledge of the area encourages people to see more of Eagle. There is a whole room full of locally made items, which can only help local artisans. As I understand it, our businesses all can have a brochure in there. Before you knock it, check it out.

Kay Delanoy

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Successful event

July 21, 2015 — 

A big thank you to all the people who donated time, merchandise and money to make this year’s Gypsum Daze 5K Run/Walk another big success. Nearly 200 people ran or walked in the event this year. All proceeds raised from this event will be donated to help Kailyn Forsberg and her family with the expenses incurred from her accident.

This was another great run with another large turnout and a great group of people both running and volunteering. The following sponsors made this happen: Barker Rinker Seacat Architecture, Big Steve’s Towing, Collins Cockrel & Cole and USbank. Thanks to them for their donations.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Let's break down barriers

July 21, 2015 — 

In the United States, one of the biggest problems right now is racism. Crazy, isn’t it? Why do we judge someone differently based on the color of their skin? Honestly, America, we can do better. Everyone has the same inalienable rights, according to the Constitution. I believe that the reason that we have racism in the U.S. right now is the lack of it being recognized as a problem.

In my travels I have noticed different things about every country, one of the being the way people handle differences. In Iran, people are not afraid to have their opinion voiced. For example, someone would just say that they don’t like someone based on their differences. Not that this is a good thing, but the silver lining is that people can recognize their actions as a problem and try harder to fix it. In America though, we are not that upfront. Maybe someone says a terrible racist joke and everyone snickers but all of this is “hush-hush” so it’s not recognized as a problem. “It’s just a joke,” you might say, but it is not. This “joke” is stored away in our brains and a stereotype is formed. So as we are raised in this society, stereotypes build up one by one, gradually piling on top of each other, creating a barrier between different races. We need to stop sweeping this problem under the rug or else it will catch up with us.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: A great place to work

July 21, 2015 — 

I would like to start by thanking everyone that I get to work with at the Gallegos Corporation. I left the Gallegos Corporation early in my career only to find out that most organizations don’t have the same family atmosphere that ours does. I couldn’t rejoin Gallegos fast enough and in 2002 I was able to. The people that I work with every day have become some of my best friends. I appreciate how much all of the employees that work here will step up to help one another out.

The first thing that ran through my mind when Gary Woodworth, our CEO, announced that I was the G3 award winner (our version of employee of the year) was that there are several other employees that I would nominate before myself. Gallegos is full of employees that work long days and weekends without any complaint. The other thought I had was that there are a lot of people I work with on a daily basis that make my job so much easier by being consummate professionals and handling their work effectively. I am honored and humbled to be awarded with this distinction. It is definitely a team effort and I see this award as a team appreciation. Thank you to all of the superintendents, foremen, masons, plasterers and laborers that work extremely hard for this corporation — you all make the Gallegos Corporation one of the best places to work that I have encountered.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Focus on here and now

July 20, 2015 — 

As pointed out by Mr. Decker in his comments of late (Letters to the Editor, June 30) regarding the “non-native” character of the interchange improvements, I also observe other “non-native” attributes of Eagle, like motels, expensive homes, retail shops and recreational facilities, e.g., ice rinks, football fields and so on. The “non-native” improvements to the interchange in Eagle are complimentary to the “non-native” complexion or character of Eagle as it has changed through a century and a half. The town of Eagle did recognize the indigenous and historic flora of Eagle, and that is perhaps why those I-70 improvements were not installed at the crossroads of some lost and abandoned trail in the middle of the White River National Forest or in the boondocks of the BLM. The focus was upon the here and now, rather than some nostalgic and bygone era that not even native Americans remember. I say well done, town of Eagle; it all fits in today’s fabric!

Fredric Butler

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Another great Scramble

July 20, 2015 — 

​Rosana and Johannes Faessler pulled off yet another benefit for the Sonnenalp Breast Center with resounding success. At the 17th annual Scramble Against Cancer on Monday, 40 teams of golfers participated in a tournament with a large number of post-play guests joining for cocktails and dinner. As was expected, the food was abundant and sumptuous. And thanks to an anonymous donor, even the Sonnenalp’s former pastry chef, Bernie Oswald, was flown in from Jacksonville to fill the perimeters of an entire room with incredibly delicious truffles, cakes, fondue, macaroons and on and on. Dancing was to the tunes of Denver attorneys who go under the band name of Hip Replacement. Thank you, Rosana and Johannes, for bringing a class act to our valley repeatedly for such a note-worthy cause.

Connie Knight

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Shame on you

July 20, 2015 — 

This is to the woman who called out to Dr. Suzanne Royer, “Hey, anorexic,” on Sunday during the Vail Market — shame on you. Shame on you for making one of the finest women I know cry. Shame on you for not thinking before you opened your foul mouth. You are lucky I didn’t hear you.

My friend Suzanne has been battling cancer for a very long time. Her last bout of chemo killed her pancreas. Because her pancreas is not functioning, she is not absorbing her food. She eats 5,000 calories a day.

Learn more »

Vail Daily column: Payback from airport program looks promising

July 19, 2015 — 

Squeezing revenue out of the airport may be a ridiculously easy way for Eagle County residents to make more money.

We know the valley’s economy is pulled by a single horse — luxury outdoor fun. We know ours is an especially beautiful breed of outdoor fun. It is a real race horse.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Successful event

July 17, 2015 — 

Bright Future Foundation’s third annual bridge tournament, Games People Play, was another successful event thanks to our wonderful community friends and supporters and event volunteers. This year’s tournament was hosted on June 25 at the Timber Hearth Grill in Cordillera and included duplicate bridge, social Bridge and mah jongg.

We are especially grateful to the following individuals who were tournament organizers, sponsors and volunteers. These wonderful supporters help Bright Future in our mission to empower Eagle County individuals and families affected by domestic violence and sexual assault. Nancy and Andy Cruce are event sponsors, but in addition, Nancy has put countless hours of hard work into organizing the tournament each year. We would like to recognize event co-sponsors Jean and Oglethorpe, and also recognize Jan Coulson who donated her time as tournament director. Event volunteers Maureen Hendricks and Jennifer Coulson and BFF intern Michelle Guida ensured that the morning’s registration went smoothly.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Bikes not meant for highway

July 15, 2015 — 

I feel unsafe. I shouldn’t have to swerve into oncoming traffic just because you want to ride your bicycle on the highway. Especially when there is a bike path literally 20 yards away. Why don’t they have to pay taxes to use our roads? Why don’t they use turn (or hand) signals? Why can they roll through a red light without our police force even looking at them? Maybe because the tickets wouldn’t bring enough revenue for our esteemed officers to justify doing the paperwork? What entitles you to ride on the highway? I have yet to see a license plate on a bicycle. Why is that? Because it is not meant for the highway. I have a lot of friends that ride. Fortunately, we have more than a third-grade education, and do not ride on a highway. Please print this, so we can bring attention to this issue. Is it going to take some poor soul dying on the side of Highway 6 to bring this to light? Let’s get smart people.

Robert Saldana

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Rogue government

July 15, 2015 — 

“Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive” (Sir Walter Scott); and the Supreme Court, the third branch of government, became entangled in this legislative spider web with its latest construction of the Affordable Care Act and the English language itself. Like Obama and his myriad of executive orders, the Supreme Court now has legislated, via judicial construction, and amended the law into something contrary to its expressed provisions. Federal subsidies to defray or diminish premium costs were expressly made available to exchanges established by the states, where now as a result of the latest Supreme Court decision that provision has now been amended to allow subsidies for both state and federal exchanges.

The rationale for the court’s reconstruction of the statute is based upon what Congress really intended, rather than what they manifested and represented to the public, i.e., that subsidies were only available to state exchanges. This all sounds familiar when compared to what Mr. Obama represented, but really covertly intended: You can keep your doctor, you can keep your plan, etc. The court overlooked or ignored the real intent of Congress regarding this provision, and that was to encourage or coerce the states into setting up their own exchanges by offering them the incentive of subsidization from a larger resource pool. It was simply disingenuous and an inane reach for the court to say that Congress mistakenly omitted the federal exchanges from the largess of subsidy. The Democrats in Congress, to a man, did not know what was in the bill, nor even read it, when they enacted this social legislation. In other words, the intent of Congress and Obama was to impose their “nanny state” agenda on the American people. The Affordable Care Act has very little to do with “affordability” or “care” as we now know. I also note that the court previously adjudicated the penalty for non-compliance as a “tax,” and therefore bootstrapped the law into constitutionality. Ergo, imposing a tax on someone for his failure to purchase something is inimical to the very meaning and spirit of the Constitution as we read it in plain English.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Poor judgment

July 15, 2015 — 

It is a sad irony that I contemplate the necessity of a noise-confusing water feature for my yard. The town of Red Cliff approving snowmobile and ATV rental in the downtown will disturb any and all outdoor activity at my home (and what in winter?). I moved here specifically to be off the I-70 corridor and now something similar in noise and pollution is moving to my front door. I’m not looking forward to the crisp morning of smog filled temperature inverted haze as some are.

There is no debate on any side of this that such a business will degrade the lifestyles and property values on Turkey Creek Road, the access from town to the Shine Pass Road. Zero. Zip. Sticks and stones and deflated home values will hurt the people who live there. It will hurt the rest of our town as well; the fabric of our community presently torn apart, with the majority of our citizens opposing the town board on this matter. Words will never hurt you unless there’s an exposed, frayed moral fiber that has been seared by truth (please don’t let pride deafen you any more or any longer). What is the common good to be obtained by such a business? It was suggested we would someday have new roads. Is 13.3 feet of road a year anything compared to the crushing of so many dreams? What arrogance to decide that a quadrant of our town must sacrifice so much. Since this heartache seems inconsequential to our town board please ask each one of them, “What’s in it for you?”

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Federally funded food

July 15, 2015 — 

A month ago School Superintendent Jason Glass did a column enthusing about a new summer program that provides meals at school facilities. It is called the Summer Foods Service Program. I’ll refer to it as SFSP. It is the first of a number of initiatives sponsored by the Integreat! Coalition. The vision is one of “an inclusive community in which all children are loved.” According to Glass, it is paid for with federal funds.

SFSP provides meals to anyone who walks in — rich or poor, young or old. It’s free for those up to age 18. Those over that age have to pay four bucks. Glass estimated that 15,000 meals will be served. This is a stretch from the ordinary school lunch program. Talk about mission creep.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Pets on a plane

July 15, 2015 — 

After reading about the successful Dog Day event benefiting the wonderful organization Canine Companions for Independence, I was reminded of all those who claim to have “service animals” or “emotional support animals” to strictly to avoid travel fees for pets.

Paying to travel with your beloved pet is part of responsible pet ownership. On a recent flight into EGE, I observed an elderly beagle, a barking Chihuahua mix, and a shih tzu all wearing “service animal vests” (which by the way can be purchased online by anyone with no documentation of the animal’s credentials). Two “service dogs” were in first class and one in coach. Airlines are not allowed to ask if a service animal is legitimate, which causes abuse of the service animal rules.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Pick up litter

July 15, 2015 — 

We feel fortunate to have owned property in the Vail Valley for over 30 years. However, we have noticed an appalling amount of highway litter on our daily walks along Highway 6. The attached picture is just a small sample we collected today, with many times this amount scattered about after the Fourth.

We were also dismayed at the large numbers of picnickers who left all their garbage on the lawn after Friday’s fireworks display at Avon lake, despite the large numbers of trash bins and recycle centers scattered about. I realize the show ended abruptly this year, but there is no excuse for this behavior. Perhaps next year there can be a reminder (both verbally and in writing) to all in attendance to leave nothing behind when leaving?

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Dangerous driver

July 14, 2015 — 

To the women who tried to pass me in your car in a left-turn-only lane while I was on my bicycle: It is not only Illegal but dangerous also and again at the stop sign to boot! The left-hand lane of South Frontage coming to the stop sign at Vail Valley Drive is only for left-hand turns and is not a passing lane. Just because you are in a hurry, it doesn’t give you the right to break the law and make it dangerous for a bicyclist to ride on the road. Consider the fact that it was a Sunday and the farmers market is taking place, there are cars parked on frontage road, there are added pedestrians walking on the roadsides. I was riding legally, and I was riding far enough away from cars parked on South Frontage Road so that if they opened their doors, I would not ride into an accident.

Leonard Bloom

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Quality vs. quantity

July 13, 2015 — 

Very good questions (Vail Homeowners Association, Valley Voices, Saturday). Many people do not ski Vail because of the danger of collisions. Even the highest and most remote backcountry is getting crowded in the summer months. It’s been going on for a long time. Many of the working ranches that give us our valley open space are now subdivisions. Gypsum is condemning Ned Goldsmith’s agricultural water rights to LEED Reservoir, for instance, so they can add more subdivisions.

You are right. The choice is between quality and quantity. And we are on the “quantity” path throughout Eagle County. Even some of the national politicians want to sell off the federal lands. Maybe it’s time to challenge the developers before there¹s nothing left to save. Most of us who have been here a long time are unhappy about the changes. Are we just becoming a big urbanized valley in a pretty setting or we willing to say “enough is enough” and restrict growth?

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Thanks for support

July 13, 2015 — 

The Swift Eagle Charitable Foundation would like to thank everyone for making its eighth annual La Bella Festa Bocce Tournament such a wonderful success. The tournament day was sunny and beautiful for the 160 participants playing, with Walter Ammon providing background accordion music and a delicious Italian dinner served by Gourmet Cowboy at the end of the day.

Congratulations to the first place winners for the second year in a row, Select Services, with team members Randy & Becky Maddux, Tali Fagenblat and Taylor Brown and second place winners, La Famiglia Cardinale, with team members Steve Cardinale, Shane Cardinale, Mike Cardinale and Peter Cardinale.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Still trying to vote Republican

July 13, 2015 — 

I am still trying to figure out how I can vote for a Republican presidential candidate in 2016 — coming from a long family line of unyielding Republican support going back to 1920 (first year women could vote).

I’m struggling to find candidates with pragmatics in four areas:

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Against land swap

July 13, 2015 — 

The developers of the stalled Battle Mountain development are at it again. This time they want to acquire all of Meadow Mountain, about 4,700 acres, from south of central Minturn all the way to the eastern edge of Beaver Creek Ski Area and they plan to build something in the area of 1,700 houses, some of which would be of similar density to that of Eagle-Vail and Singletree.

The motivation for this development is to attempt to resuscitate a bad idea that was sidelined by an economic downturn. Battle Mountain Development (owned by Lubert Adler and Crave Real Estate Ventures) wants to acquire Meadow Mountain solely to pull itself out of the financial blunder that Battle Mountain has become.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Learn about Air Alliance

July 13, 2015 — 

“EGE”: Perhaps you have heard those three letters floating around the community. What do they mean?

First, “EGE” stands for the Eagle County Regional Airport, a critical asset to our valley. Each and every year, our airport brings more than a third of our guests, who in turn spend an estimated $200 million throughout the Vail Valley.

Learn more »

Vail Daily letter: Embarrassing lack of coverage

July 13, 2015 — 

The July 6 Vail Daily via a fine print line item on A27 noted the U.S. women’s soccer team smashing Japan (5-2) to win the Women’s World Cup. 22.9 million Americans viewed this historic and dominating third World Cup title. Many of us in the valley watched the game. How many were young women solidifying their new heroes and role models?

Your front page noted a local lacrosse tourney wrapping up. Embarrassing.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top