Daily staff report

Ski & Snowboard Club Vail ends season with awards

VAIL — As Ski & Snowboard Club Vail’s season drew to a close, there was much to celebrate among athletes, parents, coaches and staff. Keeping true to its mission to inspire character growth and excellence, how fitting it was for the organization to end the season by recognizing its 550-plus athletes for achieving great results and personal bests, both on and off snow. This recognition took place in March and April at Ski & Snowboard Club Vail’s individual snowsports program awards banquets as its season-long training and competition sessions drew to a close, the last of which was in early May.

Ski & Snowboard Club Vail hosted a President’s Dinner on April 11 at Vista at Arrowhead, the culmination of Ski & Snowboard Club Vail’s individual program awards in honor of the winners of several coveted club-wide awards. This evening, made possible through the generosity of event sponsor Alpine Bank, had over 115 guests on hand to hear the inspirational stories of a number of award-winning young athletes, both on snow and off, as well as several special adults who have made outstanding contributions to the Ski & Snowboard Club Vail community this past year.

Ski & Snowboard Club Vail athlete club-wide award recipients recognized at the President’s Dinner are:

• Lower/Middle School Student of the Year: Wyatt Palmer.

• Upper School Student of the Year: Anna Martin.

• Gaynor Miller Award (presented annually to the Ski & Snowboard Club Vail athlete who exhibits the highest standards of sportsmanship, teamwork and dedication. This athlete’s overall performance is an example to be followed): Hannah Hardenbergh.

• Craig Kelly Memorial Award (presented annually to the Ski & Snowboard Club Vail snowboard athlete who demonstrates the finest combination of athletics, citizenship and academic excellence): Zoe Kalapos.

• Adrian Kearney Award (presented annually to a graduating Alpine Age Class athlete who exhibits a true passion for skiing and a love for life in the mountains): Wyatt Palmer.

• Downhill Racer of the Year (presented to the Ski & Snowboard Club Vail athlete with the most outstanding performances in downhill and super-G): Florian Szwebel.

• Thomas Pitcher Award (presented annually to the Ski & Snowboard Club Vail athlete who demonstrates the highest level of commitment to the sport of ski racing and academic excellence): Bryan Bailey.

• Walter Kirsch Award (Overall character, courage, commitment winner): Florian Szwebel.

Character, Courage, Commitment monthly winners:

• November: Parker McDonald.

• December: Jake Wenn.

• January: Florian Szwebel.

• February: Jack Skidmore.

• March: Hannah Hardenbergh.

• April: Breanne Mat.

• Zeke Pierce Memorial Award (presented annually to the Ski & Snowboard Club Vail athlete who exhibits a passion so deep that it shows a way of life, love for the environment and respect for all who share this love): Max Pierce.

The Ski & Snowboard Club Vail community could not be what it is without the many adults who stand by to support its athletes and its mission. As such, several adults were honored at the President’s Dinner. Ski & Snowboard Club Vail Board Chair Glenn Davis received the Zella Gorsuch Memorial Award given in recognition of the person with the greatest contribution to the advancement of skiing in the Vail area. Ski & Snowboard Club Vail U-14 head alpine coach Terry DelliQuadri was on hand to receive The George Rau Coach of the Year Award for all of his work this season in the Ski & Snowboard Club Vail athletic community. Katie MacFarlane, a teacher at Vail Ski & Snowboard Academy, one of Ski & Snowboard Club Vail’s academic partners, was presented with the Terresa Herbst Teacher of the Year Award for her dedication as an educator of Ski & Snowboard Club Vail athletes. Shelly Shanley, Ski & Snowboard Club Vail parent, was the recipient of The Vi & Byron Brown Volunteer of the Year Award for her extraordinary work as a volunteer this season.

Not only were the award recipients, proud family members, primary coaches of the award-winning athletes and Ski & Snowboard Club Vail trustees and management team members on hand to honor the award winners, but the event was also graced by the presence of the following very special guests of honor — individuals and/or family members after whom some of these prestigious awards are named.

• Dave and Renie Gorsuch: Zella Gorsuch Memorial Award.

• George Rau (and his wife): George Rau Coaching Award.

• Terresa Herbst: The Terresa Herbst Teacher of the Year Award.

• Stephanie Pitcher: The Thomas Pitcher Award (Thomas Pitcher’s sister).

• Adrian Kearney III and Brigette Kearney: Adrian Kearney Award (Adrian Kearney was their father).

• Vi and Bryon Brown: The Vi and Byron Brown Volunteer of the Year Award.

“Every supporter, athlete, volunteer, coach, teacher and administrator is a winner in their own right contributing to these achievements. It is truly inspiring to witness the character growth and excellence of each of our athletes throughout the year,” said Aldo Radamus, executive director of Ski & Snowboard Club Vail.

Stories you may be interested in

The VailDaily Updated Jun 9, 2014 09:55PM Published Jun 13, 2014 07:31PM Copyright 2014 The VailDaily. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.