Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Cal Thomas’ climate change references suspect (letter)

July 16, 2018 — To the editors: I read Cal Thomas' Sunday, July 1, column "Thirty years of 'global warming' panic" with interest; science is constantly evolving. However, my initial "can that be true?" reaction quickly gave way: The sources and references cited are largely biased and cherry-picked, which

Learn more »

Goldberg: Is it OK for non-transgender actors to play transgender people? (column)

July 16, 2018 — A fascinating series of controversies erupted last week, and they had nothing to do with President Donald Trump or Robert Mueller. Business Insider ran a column defending actress Scarlett Johansson from fierce criticism for her decision to play a transgender man in a forthcoming film

Learn more »

Carnes: Trump’s an international embarrassment, but he’s our international embarrassment (column)

July 16, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this column at http://www.vaildaily.com. Sure, America has her problems. Papa John's Pizza no longer has a papa named John, we have national arguments over whether or not we can stand in a beer line during the national anthem,

Learn more »

Van Ens: Becoming selfless: Virtue or vice? (column)

July 15, 2018 — Christianity's central thrust points to how a person becomes like Jesus in word and deed. C.S. Lewis ranks as one of the foremost mid-20th century Protestant defender of the Christian faith. He made a strong case that Jesus' followers must replace their egocentric identities with

Learn more »

Gun range closure not a silver bullet solution to preventing wildfires (letter)

July 15, 2018 — The frustration over the devastation and loss borne of the Lake Christine fire, caused by shooters at the Basalt gun range, is both valid and justified. However, those calling for the closure of the range as a means of preventing future incidents should consider a

Learn more »

Cartier: Boy Scout camp is a place where dreams come true (column)

July 15, 2018 — Across the vista is a view of the Colorado River that is simply breathtaking. This family-owned property was preserved to continue the dreams of children who seek a summer of adventure, challenge and downright fun. Summer nights under the stars at this incredible ranch have

Learn more »

Norton: Create a focused approach to managing information overload (column)

July 15, 2018 — Thanks again for the tremendous support from the community, I really do love receiving your emails, thoughts and questions, so please keep them coming. One of the more common emails I receive lately is this: "Help, I am suffering from communication overload." Most people go

Learn more »

Cope: The World Cup finalists have been shaped by a changing world (column)

July 13, 2018 — Then there were two — or four if you count the dreaded third-place game on Saturday, July 14. On Sunday, July 15, starting at 9 a.m., we will crown a new world champion, either France or Croatia. Croatia would be a new World Cup winner,

Learn more »

Thanks from the Vail Veterans Program to all who attended the Patriotic Concert (letter)

July 13, 2018 — Dear Vail Valley community: On behalf of the Vail Veterans Program, we want to extend a heartfelt thank you to all those who supported the Dallas Symphony Orchestra Patriotic Concert on the Fourth of July. Thank you to the Vail Valley Foundation, Bravo! Vail and

Learn more »

Climate change isn’t only devastating change wreaked by humans upon environment (letter)

July 13, 2018 — For the past 100 million years or so, the climate has always been changing. In the last million years, there have been eight ice ages, each lasting about 100,000 years, and eight 25,000 year inter-ice age periods. We are now somewhere in the eighth of

Learn more »

Eagle County health and schools: Kids and Juuls: What you need to know about this new form of vaping (column)

July 13, 2018 — Over the past school year, local communities across the country have witnessed a surge in popularity of a particular vaping device — the Juul. This electronic device vaporizes and delivers the nicotine equivalent of a full pack of cigarettes in just one pod of flavorful

Learn more »

Crews: Tips for staying hydrated in the Colorado summer heat (column)

July 12, 2018 — Summer in Colorado is no joke. With the scorching heat combined with our higher altitude, it's important to stay hydrated while having fun in the sun. According to the National Hydration Council, dehydration is defined as "a lack of water in the body resulting from

Learn more »

Comparing consensus on climate change and consensus on witches in Salem (letter)

July 12, 2018 — Adam Quinton said, "The facts on climate change are clear" ("Facts matter; on climate change they are clear," letter to the editor, Sunday, July 8). In 2017, Princeton Professor Emeritus of Physics William Happer drew parallels to today's man-made climate change claims. "I don't see

Learn more »

Fence around Fourth of July event at Nottingham felt like Guantanamo Bay in Avon (letter)

July 12, 2018 — When I first visited the valley for a month-long couch surfing ski trip in 1989, I was stunned and awed: The skiing was like nothing ever experienced, and the smiling faces and friendly nature of everyone in the valley made my trip an experience of

Learn more »

Thanks to the Vail Fire Association for helping local seniors (letter)

July 12, 2018 — Thank you, Vail Fire Association, for selecting the Minturn Seniors at Maloit Park to be the recipients of the funds raised at the annual benefit golf tournament last month. It was a great day of fun for all of those enthusiastic participants, including Dave Eich,

Learn more »

Mazzuca: Climate change is becoming a blaring alarm no one pays attention to (column)

July 11, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this column at http://www.vaildaily.com. Perhaps the most absurd statement ever made on the subject of climate change is Nancy Pelosi's famously disingenuous remark: "The science is settled." Every true scientist on the planet understands that science is never

Learn more »

Our View: Gun range closures are welcome, but they came too late (editorial)

July 10, 2018 — Word came last week that due to the high fire danger in the region, all of the gun ranges on public land in the county are closed until further notice. Better late than never. But make no mistake, closing those ranges came late. In fact,

Learn more »

State Senator: A letter of thanks to all those who have helped battle wildfire in Basalt (letter)

July 10, 2018 — The Lake Christine fire has consumed thousands of acres and three homes in Eagle County — a toll that would have been much higher if it weren't for the heroism of our local first responders. The quickly changing conditions in the first 36 hours tested

Learn more »

Rock: The race is on to November elections; what happens next in Colorado? (column)

July 10, 2018 — In January of this year, The Denver Post reported that the top issues of the first 2018 Colorado Legislative session (Jan. 10 to May 9) included not only Public Employees' Retirement Association solvency, sexual harassment, transportation funding, opioid abuse, public services in rural areas and

Learn more »

Former patroller hit the nail on the head about Taft Conlin case (letter)

July 9, 2018 — Kudos to Mike Beckley and his letter to the editor regarding the circumstances and his professional opinion in the Taft Conlin trial ("Prima Cornice should have been closed," letter to the editor, Friday, July 6). It is a shame that more former ski patrol members

Learn more »