Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Wissot: Overcoming our imperfections is what has always made America great (column)

February 15, 2019 — The preamble to the United States Constitution offers several reasons why the document was created. Prominent among them is the need to "establish justice, insure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defense, and promote the general welfare.” But before those reasons comes, "In order to

Learn more »

Peterson: Back in the high life again (column)

February 14, 2019 — "People are way too nice here." My wife has said this to me repeatedly since we moved back to the mountains a little more than a month ago after eight years in a strange, faraway land known as South Florida. There was the friendly state

Learn more »

Letter: Time for a recall in Avon

February 14, 2019 — Since you (Amy Phillips, Tamra Underwood, Jennie Fancher and Mayor Sarah Smith Hymes) do not apparently listen to your constituents when you vote on how to spend our tax dollars, perhaps we should begin a recall and put someone in place that actually gives credence

Learn more »

Financial Focus: Your financial advisor can be a ‘life coach’ (column)

February 14, 2019 — Life coaches — not surprisingly — strive to improve the quality of life of their clients. Financial professionals essentially embrace the same mission. So, if you decide to hire a financial advisor, you should expect to receive some "coaching" as you work toward all your

Learn more »

Freud: Flacco trade is John Elway’s latest folly (column)

February 13, 2019 — Trivia time: Who is the only quarterback the Denver Broncos have ever drafted who won a playoff game? Tim Tebow. Yep. Remember the Broncos selected Chris Hinton in 1983 and dealt him as part of a package to the then-Baltimore Colts for John Elway. So,

Learn more »

Van Beek: Why Kumbaya elements of governance works for Eagle County (column)

February 13, 2019 — With continued dysfunction in Washington dominating the news, it’s up to local officials to dismiss the partisan rhetoric and focus on serving the people. "All politics is local" transcends party bickering as we team together to make things happen. We are all part of the

Learn more »

Watershed Council: All the important work done for our rivers in 2018 (column)

February 13, 2019 — The beginning of the year is a great time to look back on our accomplishments as a community engaged in the protection of our precious watershed. In 2018, roughly 1,500 volunteers and dozens of agencies, business and municipal partners helped the Eagle River Watershed Council

Learn more »

Letter: Moving barn is a terrible waste of money

February 13, 2019 — The barn that does not actually have most of its original structure and needs a ton of work somehow scammed the Avon taxpayer. There is nothing about this decision that is efficient and it will end up costing the town millions of more dollars from

Learn more »

Letter: Power plant provides history lesson for barn

February 12, 2019 — I’m a local born and raised in Avon and here are my concerns about the Hahnewald barn relocation project. The criteria for  nomination to the Colorado State Register of Historic Properties is “the association of the property with events that have made a significant contribution

Learn more »

Robbins: What constitutes ‘good faith’ in matters of law? (column)

February 12, 2019 — "Good faith" has come up three times lately in my practice. In the first instance, the party on the other side of a mediation accused my client of failing to act in good faith. In particular, my client wanted to revisit some concerns she had

Learn more »

Our View: Here’s to the GOAT, Lindsey Vonn

February 12, 2019 — Not many athletes get to end their careers on a high note. Lindsey Vonn got to do just that in Sunday's women’s downhill at the 2019 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships in Are, Sweden, capping her record-setting career with a bronze medal. Vonn, the most-decorated

Learn more »

Letter: Top things to do with $6 million in Avon

February 11, 2019 — Reading about the debate over the proposed barn move, I wondered what the town of Avon could do with $6 million. Here are the 13 best options: Buy a private Caribbean island for $1 million and let residents of Avon vacation there. Buy an airplane

Learn more »

Letter: It’s just an old barn

February 11, 2019 — The mistake is to make a big deal out of Hahnewald barn. Hey, guess what, Eagle County has a historical society, and Kathy Heicher wants you to believe that one barn will stop "several thousand visitors annually" from driving to Eagle in her Feb. 8 column,

Learn more »

Carnes: Warmly celebrating a (very) large number (column)

February 11, 2019 — Last Thursday morning at 6 a.m. it was minus 9 in the parking garage at Denver International Airport. My toes were frozen stiff. Last Thursday afternoon at 4 p.m. it was 81 degrees on a beach just north of Naples in Florida. My toes were

Learn more »

Haims: What happens to your health care as nursing shortage increases? (column)

February 11, 2019 — The United States is in a nursing shortage and it is impacting the delivery of care. Why should you care about this? First and foremost, studies show that there is a direct correlation between patient mortality and nursing shortages. A recent study published by the

Learn more »

Norton: If you focus on the bad things, that’s all you’ll see (column)

February 10, 2019 — Have you ever noticed what it is that you are actually paying attention to? For me, I recently realized that I was focusing on what was right in front of me and had lost a little of my peripheral vision and even a little of

Learn more »

Cartier: Who are you when it comes to identity politics? (column)

February 10, 2019 — When things go wrong, it's easier to blame others than to accept responsibility and admit that perhaps we screwed up. Whether the mistake is the result of a flawed decision or misguided intentions, there was a consequence. When we feel that it's the result of

Learn more »

Letter: Protecting wilderness shouldn’t be partisan

February 9, 2019 — Senator Michael Bennet and U.S. Rep. Joe Neguse deserve a great deal of praise for introducing the CORE Act. After years of planning, meeting, and open and extensive discussions with every stakeholder group, this expansion of our wilderness system — the first in central Colorado

Learn more »

Letter: Kudos to Tom Backhus and the Vail Football Camp

February 9, 2019 — I recently found out Tom Backhus will no longer be leading the Vail Football Camp and couldn't help but reflect what the camp offered me and my Eagle Valley High School teammates more than 30 years ago.  Growing up in rural Colorado had many life

Learn more »

Neuswanger: Forgetting to take a tax deduction might save you money (column)

February 8, 2019 — Several times a year I have to tell a self-employed individual that they can't qualify for a mortgage because their taxable income is just a little bit low to accomplish their goal of getting a mortgage. Under the Dodd-Frank financial reform bill, lenders must document

Learn more »