Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Be patient at the post office this holiday season, as they deal with reduced staffing (letter)

November 20, 2018 — After making several inquiries in the greater Vail Valley, it appears that staffing at most of our post offices will be significantly reduced for the coming Christmas season as compared to just a few years ago. In some cases, staffing has been reduced by nearly

Learn more »

Our View: The Vail Valley needs workforce housing. Where should it be built? (editorial)

November 20, 2018 — Workforce housing has always been in short supply in the Vail Valley. But where should that housing be built? A number of residents of Eagle-Vail and East Vail in the past couple of years have said, firmly: Not here. The latest dust-up in the valley's

Learn more »

Stecher: How to create a habit of giving thanks (column)

November 20, 2018 — While dedicating a day to giving thanks is a great excuse for many of us to spend time with family and friends, overindulge on a feast to the point of bloating, and of course having a much-deserved day off of work, I tend to reflect

Learn more »

Protect EPA standards on methane pollution (letter)

November 19, 2018 — On Nov. 14, the Environmental Protection Agency held public hearings in Denver regarding the Trump administration's proposed rollback of the EPA's New Source Performance Standards. These standards were put in place to protect Americans from harmful methane pollution. I was there as a member of

Learn more »

Goldberg: Honoring Stan Lee, the reinventor of the comic book (column)

November 19, 2018 — Comic books get a bad rap, although not nearly as bad as they used to. There was a time when comic books were the cause of an all-out moral panic. After the release of psychiatrist Fred Wertham's book "The Seduction of the Innocent," the Senate

Learn more »

Carnes: In 20th Thanksgiving column, Vail local still thankful (column)

November 19, 2018 — For my 20th annual Thanksgiving column, the challenge is to not point out this is the time of year when employers want to work more and employees want to work less, local forecasters miraculously predict snow six days out of every seven and everyone is

Learn more »

Raise the gas tax in Colorado to help fund road construction and maintenance (letter)

November 18, 2018 — In an attempt to fund our deteriorating roadways, Propositions 109 and 110 went down in flames because they were simply ill conceived. Funding through sales taxes is regressive, and selling bonds without a revenue stream to service them just takes money away from other priorities.

Learn more »

Norton: Happy and thankful (column)s

November 18, 2018 — The two words just kind of go together, don't they? "Happy" and "thankful." Usually, when one of us is feeling happy, there is someone else or something that has brought us to that point of happiness, and we are thankful. And typically, when we are

Learn more »

Grateful for Vail Health’s support of tobacco education in schools (letter)

November 17, 2018 — Grateful for Vail Health We would like to take the time to thank Vail Health for its community support in funding classes on behalf of Red Ribbon Project with the intention to provide accurate education to young people about vaping, smoking and tobacco use. Children

Learn more »

Van Ens: Why are we met with silence regarding sexual predators in churches? (column)

November 17, 2018 — Pursed lips. Stony facial expressions that shout, "Who me? How can it be that sexual abuse happened under my watch?" Church officials covering up sexual abuses in churches have used silent body language that speaks volumes about men who have bullied, hit on and exploited

Learn more »

Wissot: I miss the America before America became great again (column)

November 16, 2018 — Call me sentimental, if you wish. I guess I'm just pining for a past that doesn't exist anymore. The truth is I miss the America we had before America became great again. I know what you're thinking. You must be crazy, right? I mean, why

Learn more »

Proposed ‘boarding house’ not a good fit for the Eagle-Vail community (letter)

November 16, 2018 — 'Boarding house' not a good fit Dear neighbors: On Wednesday, Dec. 5, an application by Mr. Robert Warner will come before the Eagle County Land Use Board to convert his commercial building "Warner Building" at the corner of U.S. Highway 6 and Eagle Road into

Learn more »

Senior exemption from taxes? Here’s three reasons that would be a terrible idea (letter)

November 15, 2018 — A friend of mine put a posting on Facebook. It was a picture of four old guys sitting on a bench, and it had this message: "After the age of 65, you should be 100 percent tax-exempt. You have already more than paid your dues.

Learn more »

Thanks for supporting Food Rescue Express’ annual food drive in October (letter)

November 15, 2018 — Food Rescue Express held it's ninth annual Food Drive in October, and we have many community members to thank for helping make this event a success. Thank you to Walmart in Avon for allowing us to hold our food drive at their location. Thank you

Learn more »

If Colorado declares autism an ‘epidemic,’ it could have very impactful social effects (letter)

November 15, 2018 — Since 1992, there has been a 41,729 percent increase in diagnoses of disorders on the autism spectrum. Bill HB18-1223 is a piece of legislation in Colorado that is attempting to declare autism as an epidemic, raise awareness and gain funds to further research the issue.

Learn more »

I expected more empathy and compassion from Democrats (letter)

November 15, 2018 — To the editor: I am at a loss to know what to do with certain thoughts and feelings following the mid-term elections. I am relieved that my wife and I, as well as tens of millions of other Americans, will not have to fear our

Learn more »

Sheldon: There’s been a rise in hate crimes in our country, and words aren’t enough to combat it (column)

November 15, 2018 — Recently, B'nai Vail held a Shabbat service and vigil/memorial for the 11 victims of the synagogue shooting on Saturday, Oct. 27, in Pittsburgh. I would personally like to thank all of those involved. It was a very moving and emotional night. Anger gave way to

Learn more »

CMC president: Gratitude for passing ballot measure and a promise to spend funds wisely (column)

November 14, 2018 — In the recent midterm election, history was made. Aside from all of the attention on national and statewide matters, Colorado Mountain College became the largest special district in the history of the state to successfully "de-Gallagherize" its revenue. By a more than 2-to-1 margin (71

Learn more »

I see a proud Marine delivering a fine salute to our nation’s colors (letter)

November 14, 2018 — In response to Barry McCutcheon's letter to the editor, Tuesday, Nov. 13 ("Esprit de corps matters"): Mr. McCutcheon, my husband and son are both United States Marine Corps officers. I have attended many military ceremonies during my husband's 22 years of active duty. When I

Learn more »

Avoid factory-farm chicken, and push to change the laws governing their treatment (letter)

November 14, 2018 — If you demand chickens that have been humanely treated, the stores will have to get them and the factories will be forced to modify their practices. If you buy eggs from non-factory farm chickens, you will help even more. What a plus it would be

Learn more »