Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Shock and awe has reached a new level in American politics (letter)

July 19, 2018 — New level in American politics To the editor: Shock and awe has reached a new level in American politics. That an American president is trashing our allies, those that we fought with in World War II and who came to our aid after 9/11, while

Learn more »

Citizens’ Climate Lobby: Colorado’s resources may help to lower global carbon emissions (column)

July 19, 2018 — A prosperous Colorado economy is something that we who live here all want to see and be a part of. As our Western Slope district representative to Congress, Rep. Scott Tipton, stated in a recent op-ed about our Western Slope natural gas industry, titled, "We

Learn more »

Eagle County Sheriff: Protecting our children from online predators and human trafficking (column)

July 18, 2018 — As we continue our series on protecting children from online predators and dangerous activities, we must address the increasing danger of human trafficking. We like to think that these things only happen elsewhere; they don't. Many young people make friends with online friends that they

Learn more »

Rankin: 45 education-related bills passed through the Colorado Legislature this session (column)

July 18, 2018 — The session ended on Wednesday, May 9. Following a short vacation, I had time to reread some of the legislation that passed and failed during the 2018 Legislative session. There were 71 education bills of interest to the State Board. Forty-five of these bills passed,

Learn more »

Our View: Regulators should OK multiple-employer insurance plans (editorial)

July 17, 2018 — The Vail Valley Partnership seems intent on being more than a tourism-promotion group. The group these days is working to make health insurance more affordable for small employers. Partnership CEO Chris Romer is pushing to create something called a Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangement. Those arrangements

Learn more »

Vail Health CEO: Thanks for supporting Sonnenalp Breast Center and its cancer patients (letter)

July 17, 2018 — The 20th annual Scramble Against Cancer golf tournament and special dinner, which took place on Monday, July 9, was a big success, raising significant funds with net proceeds benefiting the Sonnenalp Breast Center. Many thanks to everyone involved in supporting Vail Health's breast center. I

Learn more »

State Rep: Thank you to so many for their help, support with Lake Christine Fire (letter)

July 17, 2018 — I cannot even begin to imagine the sense of anxiety and fear that someone must feel when they are forced to evacuate their home because a fire is raging quickly in their direction. Unfortunately, hundreds of Eagle County families experienced that devastating feeling a few

Learn more »

Don’t cherry-pick or ignore climate change data that doesn’t fit your worldview (letter)

July 17, 2018 — What is it with the Vail Daily and climate change? In the space of less than two weeks, you have carried two columns that misrepresent the science and, also, with the recent piece by Butch Mazzuca, public attitudes on the subject ("Thirty years of 'global

Learn more »

Cal Thomas’ climate change references suspect (letter)

July 16, 2018 — To the editors: I read Cal Thomas' Sunday, July 1, column "Thirty years of 'global warming' panic" with interest; science is constantly evolving. However, my initial "can that be true?" reaction quickly gave way: The sources and references cited are largely biased and cherry-picked, which

Learn more »

Goldberg: Is it OK for non-transgender actors to play transgender people? (column)

July 16, 2018 — A fascinating series of controversies erupted last week, and they had nothing to do with President Donald Trump or Robert Mueller. Business Insider ran a column defending actress Scarlett Johansson from fierce criticism for her decision to play a transgender man in a forthcoming film

Learn more »

Carnes: Trump’s an international embarrassment, but he’s our international embarrassment (column)

July 16, 2018 — Editor's note: Find a cited version of this column at http://www.vaildaily.com. Sure, America has her problems. Papa John's Pizza no longer has a papa named John, we have national arguments over whether or not we can stand in a beer line during the national anthem,

Learn more »

Van Ens: Becoming selfless: Virtue or vice? (column)

July 15, 2018 — Christianity's central thrust points to how a person becomes like Jesus in word and deed. C.S. Lewis ranks as one of the foremost mid-20th century Protestant defender of the Christian faith. He made a strong case that Jesus' followers must replace their egocentric identities with

Learn more »

Gun range closure not a silver bullet solution to preventing wildfires (letter)

July 15, 2018 — The frustration over the devastation and loss borne of the Lake Christine fire, caused by shooters at the Basalt gun range, is both valid and justified. However, those calling for the closure of the range as a means of preventing future incidents should consider a

Learn more »

Cartier: Boy Scout camp is a place where dreams come true (column)

July 15, 2018 — Across the vista is a view of the Colorado River that is simply breathtaking. This family-owned property was preserved to continue the dreams of children who seek a summer of adventure, challenge and downright fun. Summer nights under the stars at this incredible ranch have

Learn more »

Norton: Create a focused approach to managing information overload (column)

July 15, 2018 — Thanks again for the tremendous support from the community, I really do love receiving your emails, thoughts and questions, so please keep them coming. One of the more common emails I receive lately is this: "Help, I am suffering from communication overload." Most people go

Learn more »

Cope: The World Cup finalists have been shaped by a changing world (column)

July 13, 2018 — Then there were two — or four if you count the dreaded third-place game on Saturday, July 14. On Sunday, July 15, starting at 9 a.m., we will crown a new world champion, either France or Croatia. Croatia would be a new World Cup winner,

Learn more »

Thanks from the Vail Veterans Program to all who attended the Patriotic Concert (letter)

July 13, 2018 — Dear Vail Valley community: On behalf of the Vail Veterans Program, we want to extend a heartfelt thank you to all those who supported the Dallas Symphony Orchestra Patriotic Concert on the Fourth of July. Thank you to the Vail Valley Foundation, Bravo! Vail and

Learn more »

Climate change isn’t only devastating change wreaked by humans upon environment (letter)

July 13, 2018 — For the past 100 million years or so, the climate has always been changing. In the last million years, there have been eight ice ages, each lasting about 100,000 years, and eight 25,000 year inter-ice age periods. We are now somewhere in the eighth of

Learn more »

Eagle County health and schools: Kids and Juuls: What you need to know about this new form of vaping (column)

July 13, 2018 — Over the past school year, local communities across the country have witnessed a surge in popularity of a particular vaping device — the Juul. This electronic device vaporizes and delivers the nicotine equivalent of a full pack of cigarettes in just one pod of flavorful

Learn more »

Crews: Tips for staying hydrated in the Colorado summer heat (column)

July 12, 2018 — Summer in Colorado is no joke. With the scorching heat combined with our higher altitude, it's important to stay hydrated while having fun in the sun. According to the National Hydration Council, dehydration is defined as "a lack of water in the body resulting from

Learn more »