Opinion | VailDaily.com

Opinion

Avoid encounters and do your part to protect wildlife in Eagle County year-round (letter)

February 22, 2018 — Dear editor: I attended the town of Vail's presentation at the community wildlife forum on Thursday Jan. 18, and found the presentation very sobering. Our wildlife is declining. The presenters were Bill Andree, Kelly Colfer, Rick Thompson and Jen Austin, all notables in their fields,

Learn more »

Is Eagle-Vail district manager helping decide his own job description and salary? (letter)

February 22, 2018 — In the words of Ricky Ricardo "Lucy, you got some 'splainin to do." I am a simple man and I do not understand how our Eagle-Vail Metro District could allow a former community manager (recently replaced by the Eagle-Vail Property Owners Association) now, possibly, "district

Learn more »

Roberts: Update on legislative session and looking toward budgeting cycle (column)

February 22, 2018 — The 2018 Colorado Legislative Session began Wednesday, Jan. 10, and it was a privilege to be there that day and every day as the representative for House District 26: Eagle and Routt counties. On that opening day, Speaker of the House Crisanta Duran implored all

Learn more »

Eagle-Vail Metro chair: We need a broad community dialogue about funding (column)

February 21, 2018 — From some of the letters to the editor and digital outlets of opinion, you might think Eagle-Vail's government is being run by callous, non-caring individuals intent only on driving the community into bankruptcy as quickly as possible. In my capacity as chairman of the Eagle-Vail

Learn more »

Our View: Monday’s power outage a reminder of how good we have it (editorial)

February 21, 2018 — The power went out in the western Eagle Valley the evening of Monday, Feb. 19. The lights came back on fewer than 90 minutes later. The outage was notable for its scope — lights went out from Eagle to Dotsero. But also notable was that

Learn more »

Mikaela Shiffrin cover headline in Feb. 16 Vail Daily insensitive (letter)

February 20, 2018 — Shiffrin cover headline insensitive I, and I assume most other residents, think your Friday, Feb. 16, front page headline, "Shiffrin off slalom podium," was incredibly insensitive and disgusting. Mikaela is an incredible athlete, won gold in the previous event and tried her best, even though

Learn more »

Eagle County Republicans: Explaining the precinct caucus and its history (column)

February 20, 2018 — What is a caucus? More specifically, what is a precinct caucus? Because that's what we're about to experience in the state of Colorado. And for the record, both Republicans and Democrats follow the same process, which is mandated and regulated by state law. I will

Learn more »

Eagle County Democrats: Caucus still an important part of the democratic process (column)

February 20, 2018 — Now, more than ever, we need to be willing to step into the political realm and reclaim our endangered democracy. You can help ensure we have an effective and just political system by becoming a part of it — by attending your party's precinct caucus.

Learn more »

Follow the NRA money: It leads to Sen. Cory Gardner (letter)

February 19, 2018 — According to fortune.com, our Sen. Cory Gardner has received $3.88 million from the National Rifle Association (NRA). He is fifth on the list of the top receivers of gifts from this organization. I have written to him to ask that he help outlaw weapons that

Learn more »

We owe it to our children to prioritize the issue of mass shootings in the U.S. (letter)

February 19, 2018 — Every time we see and hear about these frequent mass shootings, I feel great sadness, as well as frustration, that a great country like ours can't seem to come up with appropriate measures and strategies to effectively limit and/or totally do away with these horrible

Learn more »

Tipton: Time to move the Bureau of Land Management’s headquarters west (column)

February 19, 2018 — During the past few years, one question I have often heard in the 3rd District is: "Why are the federal departments that have jurisdiction over most Western lands headquartered in Washington, D.C., rather than in Western states?" Particularly, why is the Department of the Interior's

Learn more »

Carnes: Fewer (or more) guns not the answer, but common-sense regulations could be (column)

February 19, 2018 — Lonely white boy legally purchases a gun and kills innocent people. Pro- and anti-gun fanatics hold a field day of blame games while those in the middle use social media to project the tragically redundant "thoughts and prayers" to help them sleep better that night.

Learn more »

Congress needs to take investigatory responsibilities seriously (letter)

February 18, 2018 — Butch Mazzuca longs for reasoned political discourse regarding "the memo" ("Reasoned political discourse is lacking," Tuesday, Feb. 13). Such discourse is difficult, however, when his position is based on speculation and innuendo. Mr. Mazzuca first wonders why release of the memo endangers national security. It's

Learn more »

Carnes’ comment about his voting record loses him credibility (letter)

February 18, 2018 — Richard Carnes wrote in his column of Tuesday, Jan. 30 ("It's beginning to make sense") that "I … have never voted Republican or Democrat." Really? He just lost any credibility he may have ever had. Anne Dunlap Edwards

Learn more »

Goldberg: If nationalism is on the rise, where’s the outrage over Russia? (column)

February 18, 2018 — I'm confused. These days, "nationalism" is all the rage on the right. I put it in quotes because there are a lot of different ideas of what nationalism means. Some of it is just rah-rah "USA No. 1" sloganeering. For others, nationalism is basically code

Learn more »

Norton: Do you recognize the difference-makers in your own life? Are you one? (column)

February 18, 2018 — What is it about those people that make a difference in our lives? Sometimes it is just the littlest thing that they have done or shown us, and other times it is something so profound that it has an incredible impact on how we choose

Learn more »

How do we get to No. 1 again in Ski magazine resort rankings? Teamwork (letter)

February 17, 2018 — Editor's note: This is the 10th and last part of a series regarding safety as a subset of something larger that could be called WeCare, by Paul Rondeau. Vail used to be No. 1 in the annual Ski magazine resort rankings. Theoretically, the magazine uses

Learn more »

Health center CEO: Thanks, Congress, for community health center support (letter)

February 17, 2018 — To the editor: Thank you to our patients, staff, board, partners and communities for standing up on behalf of community health centers nationally and Mountain Family Health Centers here at home. Your advocacy and thunderclap were heard nationally, and Congress acted early Friday, Feb. 9,

Learn more »

When the people lead, the leaders will follow; time to lead, people (letter)

February 17, 2018 — Editor: Thank you for printing the wide variety of opinions regarding our current administration. After all these years, we continue to fear calling out our elected officials' bad behavior if we happen to agree with their positions. It appears people are becoming so invested in

Learn more »

Van Ens: Fans cheer Olympians and others who take wild rides (column)

February 17, 2018 — We cheer Olympic athletes who snapback from tough spills. Skier Lindsey Vonn has earned 80 World Cup victories after suffering frightening crashes into safety fences. She recovers, intensifies her training and hits the slopes again. Fans admire Vonn's snapback tenacity. Mikaela Shiffrin, another Olympic gold

Learn more »