10 Colorado towns declared abandoned | VailDaily.com

10 Colorado towns declared abandoned

DENVER ” Frankstown is nowheresville.

So are Deckers, Greenland and Westcreek.

Secretary of State Mike Coffman on Wednesday granted Douglas County’s request to declare those four towns and six others abandoned.

Under state law, the secretary of state can declare a town is abandoned if it failed to have elections or maintain a government for five years.

Opponents can contest the designation in court within 30 days. Residents of Frankstown and one other town on the list, Louviers, have been fighting the designation.

Other towns covered by Coffman’s order are Acequia, Douglas, Huntsville, Lehigh and Russelville. All 10 are in Douglas County.

Support Local Journalism