Eagle seeking nominees for award | VailDaily.com

Eagle seeking nominees for award

EAGLE — The town of Eagle is accepting nominations for the second annual Community Impact Award. The award recognizes an Eagle individual, business or organization that is making a tangible impact on the community. The recipient is someone who is working to make Eagle a better place to live, work and play and who represents the town’s creativity, resourcefulness and potential.

“There are so many people in Eagle who are working hard to improve the quality of life for residents and visitors alike. The Community Impact Award is a great way to recognize these individuals and draw attention to their efforts,” said Eagle Mayor Yuri Kostick, who instituted the Community Impact Award program last year. “We hope a lot people step up and nominate a neighbor, friend, co-worker or themselves.”


The first Community Impact Award recipients were Scott Turnipseed and Chris Cook for their efforts to bring the Colorado High School Cycling League state championship race to Eagle in 2013. That event brought well over 1,000 guests to town on a weekend in October and helped put Eagle on the map as a mountain biking and outdoor adventure destination.

Eagle subsequently hosted the 2014 state championships and is scheduled to host a regular season race in addition to the state championships in 2015.

Support Local Journalism

The award given to Turnipseed and Cook is a Colorado High School Cycling League state championship jersey signed by members of the Vail Valley high school mountain bike teams. The jersey is framed and hanging at Town Hall.

“The idea is to give the winner an award that is meaningful to both them and the town,” Kostick said.

Nomination forms are available on the town of Eagle website, http://www.townofeagle.org, or by emailing town clerk Jenny Ellringer at jenny.ellringer@townofeagle.org or marketing and events coordinator Amy Cassidy at amy.cassidy@townofeagle.org. Nominations will be accepted through Aug. 14. The Town Board of Trustees will select the winner in September and the award will be announced and presented in October.

Support Local Journalism