Vail hospital honors three doctors |

Vail hospital honors three doctors

Dr. Bernard Riberdy

VAIL — Vail Valley Medical Center recently announced this year’s winners of the Physician of the Year, Clinical Excellence and Rising Star awards, presented to doctors Dan Brajtbord, Bernard Riberdy and Kristen Ickes, respectively. The awards were presented at the hospital’s annual Physician Recognition event.

“(Vail Valley Medical Center’s) success has always been, in large part, due to our impeccable medical staff,” President and CEO Doris Kirchner said. “This year’s Physician Recognition Award winners are standouts in their field, and we are grateful to them for their dedication to serving our community.”

Each year, medical staff members nominate their colleagues for physician awards, and winners are chosen by their peers, physician leadership and hospital administration. More than 300 Vail Valley Medical Center physicians are eligible for these honors.

Physician of the Year

The Physician of the Year award acknowledges a physician’s leadership, quality patient care, contributions to the community and hospital and the use of evidenced-based medicine in daily practice. This year’s award recipient is Brajtbord, an anesthesiologist, who is known for his professionalism, integrity and honesty.

Support Local Journalism

The Clinical Excellence Award acknowledges a physician who has contributed to cutting-edge techniques and/or research. Riberdy, an emergency department physician, is known as an excellent, highly-respected doctor and role model to his peers. He has worked at Vail Valley Medical Center since 1994, and continues to improve processes within the facility.

The Rising Star Award is for physicians who embody all of the qualities of Physician of the Year, but have been on staff for five years or less. Ickes, an adult hospitalist, is known for her positive attitude and willingness to help out and teach others. She often goes above and beyond her clinical duties to ensure quality patient care.

Physician Recognition Awards have been a tradition at Vail Valley Medical Center since 2006 and have been received by surgeons, hospitalists, pediatricians, orthopaedic and sports medicine doctors and oncologists.

For more information, go to

Support Local Journalism