Avon council nominees announced | VailDaily.com

Avon council nominees announced

AVON, Colorado – Candidates for the Nov. 6 Avon Town Council election are Jennie Fancher, Matthew Gennett, John Minervini, Albert “Buz” Reynolds and Jake Wolf. The deadline to submit a nomination petition was Aug. 27, but the Avon Municipal Code also allows for write-in candidates until five days before the election.

This council election has three seats open. Mayor Pro Tem Kristi Ferraro and council member Amy Phillips cannot run again this fall, since town term limit laws limit council members to two consecutive terms in office. Reynolds is up for re-election after serving his first, four-year term.Council members will select a mayor at the first regular meeting after the election.

The election will be coordinated with Eagle County Clerk and Recorder’s Office. Avon’s Town Hall will serve as the polling location. The polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. The last day to register to vote in this election is Oct. 9.

For more information, call the Eagle County Clerk and Recorder’s Office, 970-328-8600 or go to http://www.eaglecounty.us/clerk. For questions related specifically to Avon’s election, call town clerk Patty McKenny, 970-748-4035 or e-mail pmckenny@avon.org.

Support Local Journalism