Avon to elect council members

Four facts

• Aug. 5: First day to request nomination petitions.

• Four seats are up for election.

• At least three new council members will be elected

AVON — Voters will elect at least three new Avon Town Council members this fall, and the town will have a new mayor.

Current mayor Rich Carroll has served two four-year terms and is prohibited from running for a third. The same is true for council member Dave Dantas. Current council member Chris Evans can’t run for re-election because he no longer meets the town’s residency requirements.

The only sitting council member eligible to run this fall is Matt Gennett, who was appointed to the council earlier this year to replace former member Todd Goulding.

Nomination petitions for the council election are available at the town clerk’s office at Avon Town Hall. The deadline for filing the petitions with the Avon Town Clerk is Aug. 25 by 5 p.m.

The election is being coordinated with the Eagle County Clerk & Recorder’s Office, and the last day to register to vote in this election is Oct. 6.

Support Local Journalism

To be eligible for election, candidates must be 18 years of age on the date of the election, a citizen of the United States, a qualified elector and have lived within the town of Avon for a minimum of one year immediately before the election.

For more information about Avon’s town election, call 970-748-4001 or go to the town’s website. For general election information, contact the Eagle County Clerk’s Office at 970-328-8715 or at http://www.eagle

Support Local Journalism