Ballots are due Tuesday |

Ballots are due Tuesday

Daric Harvey

Where to vote

Here’s where you can drop off your ballot, request a new ballot, receive help if you’re disabled or register at the last minute:

Eagle County Clerk and Recorder offices in Eagle, Avon and El Jebel.

Voters can drop off ballots at Vail town hall. No other services are available.

Ballots must be dropped off by 7 p.m. Nov. 4.

For more information, visit the Eagle County Clerk and Recorder’s website.

EAGLE COUNTY — It’s almost over.

This year’s general election season will end tomorrow, although some extra-close races may take a day or two to decide. If you haven’t voted yet, then the places are limited to drop off or request a new ballot, but, as always, voting will continue until 7 p.m. on the first Tuesday in November. That’s tomorrow.

If you’ve yet to cast a ballot, here’s a look at what’s at stake this fall:

State/congressional races

Eagle County voters this fall will elect two congressional representatives, a U.S. senator, a governor and two members of the Colorado Legislature. Here’s who’s running:

• Congress

Eagle County is part of two congressional districts. The second, which represents an area from roughly Eagle-Vail all the way to Fort Collins, is represented by Democrat Jared Polis. Republican George Leing is trying to unseat the incumbent.

The third district, which covers most of the Western Slope into Pueblo, is represented by Republican Scott Tipton. He’s being challenged by Democrat Abel Tapia.

• U.S. Senate

Incumbent Democrat Mark Udall is facing a serious challenge from Republican Cory Gardner.

• Governor

Incumbent John Hickenlooper, a Democrat, is running against Republican Bob Beauprez. This is another hotly contested race, with polls for the last couple of months showing the race as too close to call.

• State Legislature

Eagle and Routt counties make up House District 26. Steamboat Springs Democrat Diane Mitsch Bush is the incumbent, and seeking her second term. She’s being challenged by Steamboat Republican Chuck McConnell, who also sought the seat in 2012.

Senate District 5 is made up of Eagle, Pitkin, Lake, Chaffee, Delta, Hinsdale and Gunnison counties. The district is currently represented by Democrat Gail Schwartz, of Snowmass. She is leaving the office due to term limits.

Seeking to replace Schwartz are Republican Don Suppes, currently the mayor of Orchard City in Delta County, and Vail resident and former Town Council member Kerry Donovan.

Other statewide offices

Attorney General

Republican Cynthia Coffman and Democrat Don Quick are both seeking this office for the first time.

Secretary of State

This is another open seat. Democrat Joe Neguse and Republican Wayne Williams are running.

State Treasurer

Incumbent Walker Stapleton, a Republican, is being challenged by Democrat and former congressional representative Betsy Markey.

Ballot issues

• Red Cliff voters are being asked for a temporary tax increase. They’re also being asked to give the Town Council the authority to create a public-private partnership to bring better TV and Internet service to town.

A citizen initiative asks for a ban on retail marijuana operations in town.

• Amendment 67 would change the state’s definition of “person” and “child” to effectively ban abortion.

• Amendment 68 asks state voters to approve casino gambling at the old Arapahoe Park horse racing track in the Denver area.

• Proposition 104 requires collective bargaining sessions between school board and teachers unions to be conducted in public.

• Proposition 105 would require food producers to label “genetically modified organisms” in their products.

County offices

• Two of the three seats on the Eagle County Board of Commissioners are up for election this year. While commissioners represent districts, all county voters vote for the entire board.

In District 2, roughly Eagle to Edwards, incumbent Democrat Kathy Chandler-Henry — who was appointed to fill a vacancy in 2013 — is being challenged by Republican Courtney Holm. Holm ran for the office in 2012 against then-incumbent Jon Stavney, who in 2013 resigned to become town manager of Eagle.

In District 3, two candidates seek to replace incumbent Sara Fisher, who is leaving due to term limits.

Dick Mayne, currently a Gypsum Town Council member, is the Republican in the race. Jeanne McQueeney, currently president of the Eagle County School Board, is the Democrat.

• Sheriff Joe Hoy, a Republican, was defeated in a June primary by James van Beek, a former deputy who has also worked for United Nations police forces in Kosovo and Afghanistan. Democrat Daric Harvey, currently a commander with the Vail Police Department, is also seeking the job.

• County Coroner Kara Bettis, a Democrat, is being challenged for the first time during her 12 years in office. Republican Sue Franciose is seeking the seat.

• Eagle County Surveyor Dan Corcoran is retiring when his term ends in January. Republican Ted Archibeque and independent candidate Kelly Miller are running for the office.

• Eagle County Clerk and Recorder Teak Simonton, Treasurer Karen Sheaffer and Assessor Mark Chapin are all running unopposed.

Vail Daily Business Editor Scott Miller can be reached at 970-748-2930, and @scottnmiller.

Support Local Journalism