Bookworm of Edwards Wine & Words all about what to read next | VailDaily.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Bookworm of Edwards Wine & Words all about what to read next

Caramie Schnellcschnell@vaildaily.comVAIL CO, Colorado
Special to the DailyWine & Words returns to Bookworm of Edwards Thursday night.
ALL |

Her desk is in her kitchen, but author Erin Blakemore writes best when she’s parked on a couch in a bustling mall of all places, typing away furiously on her laptop. “I will say this, the Flatirons Crossing mall is a gorgeous, comfy, wi-fi-enabled, couch-filled place, and the combination of chaos and public shame is the perfect environment for writing,” said Blakemore, who lives in Boulder. Her debut book “The Heroine’s Bookshelf,” takes life lessons learned by female authors in history, and their famous characters, and applies those lessons to modern day women. It’s an inspiring and thought-provoking read, said Besse Lynch of the Bookworm, where Blakemore will speak tonight at the store’s annual Wine & Words event. During the event, Blakemore and three others will talk about the books they’re excited about this season.”We figured who better to give us great reading suggestions than the woman who wrote the book on it, literally,” Lynch said. “‘The Heroine’s Bookshelf” is chock full of great insight into classic literature, and now we get to hear Erin turn that investigative eye toward some more contemporary books.”Blakemore took the time to answer a few questions for the Vail Daily. VD: Your book, “The Heroine’s Bookshelf,” is all about women – both authors and characters in literature – and the life lessons they can teach us. Are there male writers and male characters that you would be able to apply the same strategy for?EB: Definitely, but I feel that classic male heroes and authors have always had plenty of spotlight. If I were writing a similar book about men, I’d have to include Dickens, Poe and Wolfgang Borchert.VD: I love the literary inspired cocktail list on your website. Which is your favorite? And can we have the recipe?EB: Thanks! A good friend and bartender gave it to me as my one-year bookiversary gift. I love The Long Winter, based on the Laura Ingalls Wilder book: 3 parts hot chocolate, 2 parts brandy, 1 part Kahlua topped with nutmeg.VD: Who was your first literary heroine as a youngster?EB: Definitely Laura Ingalls. She was so resourceful and stubborn!VD: And what was the first life lesson you learned from an author or female character?EB: I remember reading a Ramona book by Beverly Cleary and realizing I could do anything, even if my family members annoyed me.VD: What are you working on now?EB: I’m playing around with a concept for a historical novel.VD: What are you reading that you can’t put down?EB: I recently fell in love with “Tender Morsels” by Margo Lanagan. It’s a fairy-tale inspired novel that tackles dark material without ever losing a sense of lyrical magic. High Life Editor Caramie Schnell can be reached at 970-748-2984 or cschnell@vaildaily.com.


Support Local Journalism