Colorado barbecue season sizzles with summer | VailDaily.com

Colorado barbecue season sizzles with summer

Brad AustinVail, CO Colorado

VAIL, Colorado Barbecue, barbeque, Bar-B-Q, BBQ no matter how you spell it, more important is how you smell it, taste it and even hear it sizzling on your grill. But you may not be aware of the mny barbecue festivals and competitions happening throughout Colorado this year.So listen up folks no matter what you love about barbecue, there’s a venue somewhere in Colorado that has your name on it in 2009. The Rocky Mountain BBQ Associations Web site http://www.rmbbqa.com has information on barbecue evetns and competitions. Herea a list: Wild West BBQ Cook OffMay 8-9, 2009Lamar, Coloradotmcp@centurytel.netBlues, Brews and BBQMay 23-24, 2009Beaver Creek, Coloradowww.beavercreek.snow.com/info/summer/evt.bbb.aspBoats, Bands and BBQJune 5-6, 2009Pueblo, Coloradoerin@puebloharp.comRoyal Gorge Holy Smoke BBQ ShowdownJune 12-13, 2009Canon City, Coloradocancito@hotmail.comColorado BBQ ChallengeJune 19-20, 2009Frisco, Coloradowww.townoffrisco.com/events/bbq-challengeBBQ BonanzaJune 27, 2009Vail, Coloradowww.vailchamber.orgKiwanis Club of Durango Smokin’ 4thJuly 3-4, 2009Durango, Coloradosimon@virtbiz.netLoveland Loves BarbecueJuly 10-11, 2009Loveland, Coloradollarsen@reporter-herald.com12th Annual Blues & BBQ Festival for Better HousingJuly 19, 2009Old Town Arvada, Coloradowww.bluesnbbq.comEagle County Moos & Brews FestivalJuly 24-25, 2009Eagle, Coloradoarlieque@comcast.netBBQ at the SummitAugust 7-8, 2009Dillon, Coloradowww.bbqatthesummit.comSmokin’ Brew BBQSeptember 5-6, 2009Parker, Coloradoinfo@smokinbrewbbq.comPork and Hops BBQ ChampionshipSeptember 18-19, 2009Grand Junction, Coloradoarlieque@comcast.netKick in the Butt BBQ CompetitionOctober 16-17, 2009Florence, Coloradowww.kickinthebuttbbq.com/home

The National BBQ Associations Web site http://www.nbbqa.org highlights everything about barbecue, from tips and recipes to links for barbecue organizations and events.Brad Austin is a nationally certified BBQ judge, competitor and chef for over 30 years. He may be reached at BBQBrad@aol.com for barbecue related questions and/or comments.