Colorado Mountain College cancels November election of trustees |

Colorado Mountain College cancels November election of trustees

Voters will not be electing representatives for Colorado Mountain College’s board of trustees in November, as there will be no contested seats.

Only three candidates filed by the end-of-August deadline to declare an intent to run for one of the four open seats on the community college’s board, college spokesperson Debbie Crawford said.

Only one of those candidates filed a complete petition, and no candidates turned in the necessary paperwork for the Routt County opening, including the recently appointed incumbent. So, the board will have to appoint someone to fill that seat in November, Crawford said.

“The result is that there are uncontested races in the districts up for election this year, so the college is permitted to cancel the board election,” she said.

At the board’s November meeting, the college’s new board members will be sworn in, including Glenn Davis for District 7 (Eagle County) and Mary Ellen Denomy for District 3 (West Garfield County). They replace Roy Brubacher, who decided not to run again, and Doris Dewton, who is term-limited.

Anne Freedman, the current trustee for District 1 (which includes Pitkin and parts of Eagle counties), will represent that district for another term.

In August, the board appointed Steamboat schools superintendent Shalee Cunningham to fill the District 5 (parts of Routt County) vacancy on the board, which was created by the resignation and subsequent death of Benita Bristol.

Crawford did not know why Cunningham did not turn in a petition to run for the seat this fall, and was unsure if she will want to be appointed again to the seat.

The board has seven at-large seats that are elected by all the voters in the six counties that constitute the CMC District. Board responsibilities include employing and evaluating the president, approving the college budget, certifying the mill levy, establishing college goals and monitoring the progress of the institution.

One resident from Eagle, Lake, Pitkin, Routt and Summit, plus an east Garfield and a west Garfield County resident, are selected by voters to serve.

Those elected serve four-year terms. The board usually meets on a monthly basis at locations around the district.

Support Local Journalism