Colorado’s texting ban takes effect Tuesday
DENVER – Colorado’s ban on texting while driving takes effect Tuesday.
It will be illegal for drivers to text, e-mail or tweet behind the wheel. Violators risk a $50 fine and repeat offenders could get a $100 ticket.
The new law also bars those under 18 from talking on their cell phones while driving.
According to AAA, 18 other states and the District of Columbia have passed texting-while-driving laws. A national survey by the organization found that 95 percent of drivers disapproved of texting behind the wheel but that 18 percent of them admitted to texting or e-mailing while driving in the past month.
Boulder County Sheriff Joe Pelle says the new law will be difficult to enforce because it will be hard to tell the age of drivers and whether they’re dialing or texting.