Council election in Eagle will feature 5 candidates, 2 incumbents, for 3 open seats

The Eagle Town Council's November election will see five residents contesting three open seats, with two incumbents running for reelection.
Vail Daily archive

Three of the seven elected officials serving on the Eagle Town Council will reach the end of their terms in November, and two of those council members will run for reelection.

Those incumbents — Jamie Woodworth Foral and Nick Sunday — will be two of five locals contesting the available seats in the November election this year.

Three other candidates — Bryan Woods, Robert D’Agostino, Thomas Olden — have also filed their paperwork to join the election contesting the three open seats, but only Woods will be on the ballot. Olden and D’Agostino filed affidavits for intent to be a write-in candidate, meaning Eagle voters will have to write in their names, rather than checking a box, to cast their vote for those candidates.

The elected candidates will join Mayor Scott Turnipseed, Mayor Pro Tem Mikel “Pappy” Kerst, and Council members Ellen Bodenhemier and Geoffrey Grimmer. Grimmer has also announced his run for Eagle County commissioner in the 2024 election, which could create an additional open seat next year.

Grimmer, Turnipseed, Kerst and Bodenhemier are currently serving terms that expire in 2025.

Support Local Journalism

The three council members elected in November will serve four-year terms.

The Eagle Town Council has regular meetings at 6 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month, and the council also meets for work sessions on the first Tuesday of the month from 4 to 6 p.m.

Eagle Town Council members are compensated $500 per month and the mayor is compensated $800 per month.

Support Local Journalism