County treasurer, clerk, assessor run unopposed |

County treasurer, clerk, assessor run unopposed

EAGLE COUNTY — While primaries are the next step in the county’s election cycle, a handful of county officials don’t have to worry about the June run-off, or much about November. The county treasurer, clerk and recorder and assessor all appear to be running unopposed.

Eagle County Treasurer Karen Sheaffer, a Republican, is running for another term in office. Sheaffer, who also is the public trustee for the county, runs an office responsible for billing, collecting and dispersing tax revenue. That office is also responsible for collecting back taxes through sales. The office is also the county agency that handles foreclosure sales.

Eagle County Assessor Mark Chapin’s office is responsible for determining the taxable value of real and personal property in the county. The numbers from that office are the basis for residents’ property tax bills. Chapin is a Democrat.

Democrat Teak Simonton is seeking another term as Eagle County Clerk and Recorder. Her office is responsible for county-wide elections, motor vehicle registration and the compilation of public records ranging from marriage licenses to real estate transfers.

While it’s likely those three officials won’t have election opponents, other county officials will have to campaign this year. Here’s a look at who’s running for which office:

Support Local Journalism

• Commissioner: District 2 commissioner Kathy Chandler-Henry, a Democrat, will run against Republican Courtney Holm. This will be Chandler-Henry’s first run for the office, since she was appointed to replace former commissioner Jon Stavney, who resigned to become Eagle’s town manager. Holm challenged Stavney in 2012 and is taking another run at the office.

The District 3 commissioner seat is open this year, since incumbent Sara Fisher can’t run again due to term limit laws. Running on the Republican side of the ballot is Dick Mayne, of Gypsum. Local Democrats in June will choose between Jeanne McQueeney and Patricia Hammon to run in November.

• Sheriff: Current Sheriff Joe Hoy is being challenged in a primary race by fellow Republican James van Beek, who challenged Hoy as an independent in 2010. Whoever wins the primary will face Democrat Daric Harvey, currently a member of the Vail Police Department.

• County Surveyor: Republican Ted Archibeque ran in 2010 to unseat incumbent Democrat Dan Corcoran. Archibeque will try again this year.

• County Coroner: Vail resident Sue Franciose, a Republican, is challenging incumbent Kara Bettis a Democrat.

Support Local Journalism