Directors selected for downvalley emergency crews |

Directors selected for downvalley emergency crews

Kathy Heicher
The Gypsum Fire Protection District is among the local special district that has received voter approval to exempt itself from the state's Gallagher Amendment.

A characteristically light voter turn-out for this week’s special district elections set the course for the next four years for local special service districts. Here are the results from two of Tuesday’s downvalley election:

Gypsum Fire District

* Sam Tatham 56

(4-year term)

* Rocco Laguardia 52

(4-year term)

– Tami Conway 81

(2-year term)

Pam Schultz 43

Marty Lich 32

Dave Allen Glenn 24

Gypsum voters returned incumbents Sam Tatham and Tami Conway to the board of directors for the Gypsum Fire District, and also placed retired firefighter Rocco Laguardia on the board.

Tatham and Laguardia were elected to four year terms. Conway will finish out a two-year term.

Western Eagle County Ambulance District

* Jon Asper 186

* Brian Scofield 186

Claudia Kelly 70

Jon Asper and Brian Scofield each drew 186 votes to secure seats on the ambulance agency’s board of directors. Asper is an incumbent. Both men are firefighters. Asper is chief of the Greater Eagle Fire District, and Scofield is the chief for the Eagle County Airport Fire Department.

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User