Eagle County car show announces winners | VailDaily.com

Eagle County car show announces winners

Daily staff reportnewsroom@vaildaily.comVail, CO Colorado

VAIL, Colorado – The Vail Automotive Classic held its first annual Wheels and Wings Show Sept. 11-12. Nearly 3,000 people attended Saturday’s event at the Vail Valley Jet Center, and hundreds surrounded vintage, classic and modern cars displayed throughout Vail Village on Sunday.”Community support was key for the success of this event,” said organizer and director Doug Landin. “Attendance far exceeded our expectations.”On Saturday, nearly 30 airplanes, several vintage motorcycles, and 130 cars were displayed at the Vail Valley Jet Center. Several emergency vehicles were available for touring, and thousands of children toured the fire trucks, police cars and two National Guard helicopters.Cars were judged across seven basic categories, including classics, european sports, street rods, muscle cars, customs, super cars, and vintage motorcycles. Award winners included:Top 201957 Porsche Speedster – Crosby Foster, Edwards.2008 Porsche Turbo – Clint Janssen, Vail.1957 Ford Fairlane Skyliner – Ted Vaughan, Rifle.1952 Moto Guzzi Vintage Motorcycle – Jerry Sibley, Minturn.1936 Rudge Vintage Motorcycle – Jerry Sibley, Minturn.1957 Ford Fairlane 500 Retractable Hard Top – Cecil and Betty Waldron, Rifle.2003 Morgan Plus 8 – John Maloney, Denver.2010 Tesla Roadster – Erin Callin, Boulder.1065 Ford Cobra – Steve Magozstovics, Grand Junction.1936 Ford Phaeton – Fred Davies, Aspen.1950 Riley Morgan – Tom Cox , Denver.1971 Yamaha Motorcycle – Kent Gilbert, Avon.1968 GT-500 Shelby Mustang – Jim & Rhonda Bell (Gypsum.2005 Morgan Aero – Philip Houha, Boulder.1996 Porsche 993 – Bob Ruder, Vail.1973 Porsche 911s – Bob Ruder, Vail.1931 Ford Model A, 2-Door Sedan – Paul Borden, Gypsum.1955 Willy’s Pick-up – Steve Carver, Gypsum.1968 Jaguar E-Type – Doug Talbot, Minturn.Best of ClassVintage Motorcycle – 1938 Brough Superior, Jerry Sibley, Minturn.Street Rod – 1932 Ford 5-Window Coupe, Jerry Sibley, Minturn.Muscle Car – 1965 Corvette, Ken Bobbit, Grand Junction.Classic – 1967 21 Window Micro Bus, Max Marston, Eagle.European Sport – 1967 Maserati Ghibli, Stephen Bell, Englewood.Super Car – 2005 Corvette, David Strandjord, Avon.Custom – 1961 Volkswagen Roadster, Mark Chapin, Eagle.VVJC Award1950 Riley Morgan – Tom Cox (Best of Show), Denver.1959 Mercedes -Benz 220 SE – Dick Rewey, Greenwood Village.Cobra Marque Award1965 Ford Cobra – Steve Magozstovics, Grand Junction.Next year’s event will take place Sept. 9-11. For more information, call 970-376-1299 or visit http://www.vailautomotiveclassic.com.

Support Local Journalism