Eagle County Democrats to contest one primary | VailDaily.com

Eagle County Democrats to contest one primary

EAGLE — Local Democrats put two candidates on the ballot for a county commissioner seat in this past weekend’s assembly.

Patricia Hammon and Jeanne McQueeney will square off in a primary to decide who will be the Democratic candidate for the District 3 county commissioner seat. District 3 encompasses Eby Creek Mesa in Eagle, Gypsum, Dotsero and the Roaring Fork Valley.

Gypsum town council member and open space activist Tom Edwards did not make the primary ballot.

The primary election is June 24. Any eligible local voter can participate by declaring themselves a Democrat.

Support Local Journalism


Even though a spring storm pounded the area about the time Saturday afternoon’s assembly was scheduled to start, 67 local Democrats braved the snow to be part of the grassroots political process.

The caucus and county assembly process are the first two steps in any candidate’s road to political office for either political party.

“It’s a basic part and foundation of our grassroots democracy,” said Jane Lowery, chair of Eagle County Democrats.

The assembly convened and was finished in record time.

“Even with three people vying for the District 3 county commissioner spot, it still moved along at a brisk pace,” Lowery said.

Conspicuously absent, and thankfully so, said many local Democrats, were attempts to place controversial planks in the party platform. Instead, delegates formed a platform committee to work on formulating a platform over the next year.

“Fast-paced comprehensive assembly,” said vice chair Carole Onderdonk. “We nominated strong, experienced candidates. We’re looking forward to the primary and the general election.”


In addition to Hammon and McQueeney, local Democrats designated the following candidates:

County Commissioner District 2: Kathy Chandler-Henry

Clerk and Recorder: Teak Simonton

Assessor: Mark Chapin

Coroner: Kara Bettis

Sheriff: Daric Harvey

Delegates also elected an Eagle County delegate to the State Party Credentials Committee and to the State Party Permanent Organization Committee.

Delegates were elected to represent the county party at the state assembly meetings on April 12 for House District 26, Senate District 5, Congressional District 2 and Congressional District 3.

Staff Writer Randy Wyrick can be reached at 970-748-2935 and rwyrick@vaildaily.com.

Support Local Journalism