Eagle County sheriff gets primary challenger | VailDaily.com

Eagle County sheriff gets primary challenger

Important dates

March 22: Democratic party county assembly, Eagle County Administration Building.

April 11-12: Republican regional/state convention, Broomfield.

June 24: Primary election day.

Nov. 4: General election day.

This story has been corrected.

EAGLE — Running as an independent candidate in 2010, James van Beek was 82 votes short of unseating Eagle County Sheriff Joe Hoy. Four years later, van Beek is trying again, this time in a June 24 primary election.

The contest between Hoy, who’s seeking a fourth term in office, and van Beek was the top news coming from the local Republican Party’s county assembly, held Saturday in Eagle. Kaye Ferry, the party’s county chairwoman, said the 60 or so people who attended gave Hoy a roughly 10-vote edge in their preference poll. The winner of that primary will in November face Democrat Daric Harvey, a commander with the Vail Police Department.

Support Local Journalism


Aside from the sheriff race, Republicans are also fielding a fairly broad slate of candidates for local offices. Ferry said she’s impressed by the candidates running for both state and county offices this year.

Those candidates will compete for two of the three seats on the board of commissioners, county surveyor and county coroner. Here’s who’s running:

• Commissioner District 3: Gypsum resident Sara Fisher, an unaffiliated voter, is leaving office due to term limit laws. Dick Mayne, of Gypsum, is running on the Republican side of the ballot. He’ll face the winner of a likely Democratic primary election. Patricia Hammon, Jeanne McQueeney and Tom Edwards have all announced their candidacy for the job.

• Commissioner District 2: Courtney Holm, of Edwards, ran and lost to then-incumbent Jon Stavney in 2012. Since then, Stavney has resigned and was replaced by Eagle resident Kathy Chandler-Henry, who will be facing voters for the first time.

• County Surveyor: Ted Archibeque of Gypsum ran in 2010 to unseat incumbent Democrat Dan Corcoran. Archibeque will try again this year.

• County Coroner: Vail resident Sue Franciose is challenging incumbent Kara Bettis.

There’s another possible primary race for District 26 in the Colorado House of Representatives, which includes Routt and Eagle counties. That seat is currently held by Steamboat Springs Democrat Diane Mitsch Bush. Routt County Chuck McConnell ran for the seat in 2012 and is running again. Fellow Republican and Routt County resident Dave Moloney will face off in a primary to determine who challenges the incumbent.

Don Suppes, of Delta County, will face Vail resident Kerry Donovan, a Democrat, for the District 5 seat in the Colorado Senate. Pitkin County resident Gail Schwartz, a Democrat, currently holds the seat but can’t run again because of term limit laws.

Candidates for the state Legislature, as well as for the state’s congressional districts, will be sorted out at the Republicans’ regional and state assemblies, set for Broomfield April 11 and 12.

Support Local Journalism