Eagle County teachers compete for $10,000 awards | VailDaily.com

Eagle County teachers compete for $10,000 awards

Vail Daily Staff Report
Vail, CO Colorado

EAGLE COUNTY – Thirty four teachers in the Eagle County School District are competing for about 10 Excellence in Teaching awards. Winners will get up to $10,000 each. Winners will be announced at the district’s June 9 school board meeting.

A portion of a Teacher Incentive Fund grant the district received in 2006 will pay for the awards. The U.S. Department of Education selected the district for the $6.8 million Teacher Incentive Fund grant. This highly-competitive grant was designed to support programs that develop and implement performance-based teacher compensation systems, based primarily on increases in student achievement.

The Eagle County School District, which has a performance pay system in place, used the grant to expand and enhance existing efforts to financially reward teachers.

While 52 teachers originally applied for this year’s awards, 34 remain under consideration. They are: Kristine Atkinson (Eagle Valley Elementary School), Melanie Bacon (Gypsum Creek Middle School), Susan Brainerd (Gypsum Creek Middle School), Amanda Cricco (Edwards Elementary School), Lara Cunning (Eagle Valley Elementary School), Meredith Deem (Edwards Elementary School), Lisa Derse (June Creek Elementary School), Nicole Dewell (Eagle Valley High School), Donna Dino (Brush Creek Elementary School), Gretchen Gerleman (Eagle Valley High School), William Harris (Red Sandstone Elementary School), Lindsay Hawkins (Gypsum Elementary School), Lara Jackson (Red Canyon High School), Kelly Kienzle (Eagle Valley High School), Sarah Klieforth (Battle Mountain High School), Sage Nelson (Battle Mountain High School), Jaime Passchier (Meadow Mountain Elementary School), Beverly Rasmussen (Edwards Elementary School), Courtney Reynecke (Minturn Middle School), Colby Ricci (Red Sandstone Elementary School), Amy Rogers (Red Sandstone Elementary School), Ryan Smiley (Eagle Valley High School), Mary Ann Stavney (Eagle Valley High School), John Switala (Berry Creek Middle School), Maria Switala (Gypsum Elementary School), Tracy Teetaert (Minturn Middle School), Trevor Warburton (Battle Mountain High School), Carol Wellbaum (Battle Mountain High School), Mella Wheatley (Vail Ski and Snowboard Academy), Shannon White (Edwards Elementary School), Maria Whittington (Avon Elementary School), Johnna Williams (June Creek Elementary School), Betsi Wurtsmith (Gypsun Elementary School) and Jonna Wyse (Meadow Mountain Elementary School).

Career teachers, mentor teachers and master teachers are eligible to participate. As for the winners, a full-time teacher will be awarded $10,000; those less than full-time will have the amount pro-rated.

This is the second year the district has awarded Excellence in Teaching Awards. Last year, 12 district teachers were awarded up to $10,000 each.

For more information, contact the district’s director of professional development, Traci Wodlinger, at traci.wodlinger@eagleschools.net.

Support Local Journalism