Eagle County voters to pick commissioner, sheriff | VailDaily.com

Eagle County voters to pick commissioner, sheriff

Daily staff reportnewsroom@vaildaily.comVail, CO Colorado
NWS Campaign Signs DT 10-29-10

EAGLE COUNTY, Colorado – If you didn’t vote early, this is your last chance. It’s also the last day you’ll have to hit “mute” when a political ad hits the TV screen.Voters throughout the state will pick a U.S. senator, state legislators and a brand-new governor. We’ll also give a yea or nay to a handful of ballot issues. Locally, we’ll choose a county commissioner, sheriff and surveyor in contested races. We’ll also decide whether to ask the county commissioners to ban medical marijuana dispensaries in areas outside of the towns, and whether to allow county commissioners to run for a third term in office – they’re currently limited to just two.The local contested races all have incumbents. Commissioner Sara Fisher, a Democrat, is running against Republican Claudia Alexander. Sheriff Joe Hoy has been challenged by former deputy James van Beek, who’s running without a party. Surveyor Dan Corcoran, a Democrat, has a Republican opponent, Ted Archibeque. County assessor Mark Chapin, treasurer Karen Sheaffer, coroner Kara Bettis and clerk and recorder Teak Simonton are all running unopposed.Avon voters will pick a new majority on that council, and will choose at least two new members to replace Ron Wolfe and Brian Sipes, who are both leaving the council due to term limits. Incumbents Rich Carroll and Dave Dantas are seeking another term. Chris Evans, Todd Goulding, Paul Siemonsma and Jim Benson are also running for seats on the board.While the county’s medical marijuana question is advisory – although the commissioners have said they’ll legislate based on the outcome – Minturn voters will decide whether or not to ban dispensaries in town.With all that to decide, here’s a look at where to vote:• Burns: Voters in that area have all been sent mail-in ballots. Those who haven’t yet mailed their ballots can drop them off Tuesday at the Burns Baptist Church. Voting tables and privacy screens will be in place.• Edwards: There’s a new polling place for people who used to vote at the Homestead Court Club or Berry Creek Middle School. Those people will now vote at the Western Eagle County Metropolitan Recreation District’s new field house, across the street from Battle Mountain High School.Singletree Community Center, 1010 Berry Creek Road.Edwards Elementary School, 0022 Meile Lane.• Eagle: Eagle County Building, 500 Broadway.Brush Creek Pavilion, 909 Capitol St.• Red Cliff: Red Cliff Town Hall, 400 Pine St.• Vail: Donovan Park Pavilion, 1600 S. Frontage Road• Minturn: Minturn Town Hall, 302 Pine St., Minturn• Gypsum: Gypsum Town Hall, 0050 Lundgren Blvd.Road & Bridge Maintenance Facility, 3289 Cooley Mesa Road.• Basalt: Basalt Town Hall, 101 Midland Ave.• El Jebel: Eagle County Community Center, 0020 Bade County Drive.• McCoy: McCoy Community Center, 26 McCoy Road.• Avon: Avon Town Hall, One Lake St.• Eagle-Vail: Eagle-Vail Pavilion, 538 Eagle Road.

Support Local Journalism