Eagle River Scholarships awarded | VailDaily.com

Eagle River Scholarships awarded

Daily Staff Report

A number of Eagle County students, some already out of high school, will receive $17,000 from the Eagle River Scholarship Fund to further their education.

The Scholarship Fund was organized in 1971 for the purpose of encouraging promising seniors at Battle Mountain and Eagle Valley high schools – as well the Vail Mountain School – to continue their education. Since then, hundreds of young people, and some not so young, have received financial assistance from this program.

The Scholarship Fund has been supported primarily by the annual Jerry Ford Invitational Golf Tournament at Vail and by private donations. The Scholarship Fund attempts to fill in gaps left by other available scholarship programs.

But the award is not based solely on academic excellence or financial need. It also takes into account a variety of criteria ranging from motivation to circumstances. Nor is not for the college-bound only – students wishing to attend special vocational and trade schools are also eligible.

The award also is not just for the freshman year. In 2002, almost $8,000 was given to upper classmen and graduate students.

This year, the Eagle River Scholarship Fund is committing $10,000 to graduating seniors and will give $7,000 to those already furthering their education.

The Scholarship Fund’s premier award is named for former President Gerald Ford, and David Pelkey, a long time Vail local who, prior to his death in 1990, was a driving force behind the Jerry Ford Invitational Golf Tournament.

The recipient of the Gerald Ford/David Pelkey Scholarship is Erin Cochrane who will receive $6,000 over four years.

Other scholarship awards:

– Amanda Carter, Eagle Valley High School – $1,000

– Angela Conway, Eagle Valley High School – $1,000

– Caleb Hanen, Vail Christian High School – $1,000

– Jessica Johnson, Battle Mountain High School – $1,000

– Kathryn Johnston, Vail Mountain School – $1,000

– Stephen Reid, Vail Christian High School – $1,000

– Jonathan Springer, Eagle Valley High School – $1,000

– Lauren Woodbury, Eagle Valley High School – $1,000

Support Local Journalism