Eight Eagle County teachers awarded $10K bonuses | VailDaily.com

Eight Eagle County teachers awarded $10K bonuses

Randy Wyrickrwyrick@vaildaily.comVail, CO Colorado

EAGLE, Colorado – The school district handed out $80,000 in performance bonuses to teachers during Wednesday’s school board meeting.It’s part of the school district’s performance-pay program for teachers.In 2006, the Eagle County school district landed a $6.8 million federal grant to develop its teacher performance pay program, the Teacher Incentive Fund.Among other things, it funds an Excellence in Teaching Award, a cash prize up to $10,000 each for the school district’s highest-performing teachers.To earn the ETA award, teachers go through a series of evaluations.In 2009, 12 local teachers earned the bonus, another 11 in 2010 and eight this year.”In other districts, teachers are still being rewarded for years of experience. Ours are not. We reward for performance,” said Dr. Sandra Smyser, superintendent of the Eagle County school district.The 2011 Excellence in Teaching Award recipients are:• Matthew Abramowitz, Avon Elementary School.• Carol Blevins, Gypsum Elementary School.• Kathleen Cropp, Edwards Elementary School.• Emily Delles, June Creek Elementary School.• Dana Harrison, Avon Elementary School.• Scott Hopkins, Vail Ski & Snowboard Academy.• Allyson Metz, June Creek Elementary School.• Ashley Weaver, Eagle Valley High School.

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User

Trending - News