El Pomar honors Folz, Bright Future Foundation | VailDaily.com

El Pomar honors Folz, Bright Future Foundation

The Bright Future Foundation received an Award for Excellence from the El Pomar Foundation last week. From left: Peter Maiurro, director, El Pomar Foundation’s Awards for Excellence; Yvonne Jacobs, board president, Bright Future Foundation; Dr. Casey Wolfington, clinical Director, Bright Future Foundation; Sheri Mintz, executive director, Bright Future Foundation; William J. Hybl, chairman and chief executive officer, El Pomar Foundation; and Lissa Taylor, board vice president, Bright Future Foundation.
Special to the Daily |

BLACK HAWK — Five nonprofit organizations and community leaders were honored last week at El Pomar Foundation’s Awards for Excellence presentation ceremony in Black Hawk.

Bright Future Foundation for Eagle County, which empowers individuals and families affected by domestic violence and assault, and Colorado Coalition for the Homeless, which operates an innovative residential community at Fort Lyon for individuals experiencing homelessness, were recognized as Awards for Excellence nonprofit winners for 2015. Each received a $25,000 grant for their commitment to bettering the lives of rural Coloradans.

During the ceremony, three individuals were also acknowledged for their service to the state of Colorado. Dr. Pamela Shockley-Zalabak, chancellor of the University of Colorado Colorado Springs, was awarded the Russell T. Tutt Award for her lifetime of dedicated leadership and continued effort in improving the University of Colorado Colorado Springs.

“I am humbled to receive the Russell T. Tutt Award from El Pomar Foundation,” said Shockley-Zalabak, who has guided UCCS since 2002. “It has been a privilege to contribute to the growth and development of the University of Colorado Colorado Springs. El Pomar Foundation has set an example throughout this state and at UCCS in making an impact and leading positive change. I speak for myself and others who are grateful for El Pomar leadership.”

Ceil Folz, community leader and outgoing president of Vail Valley Foundation, received the Lifetime Achievement Award in Sport. U.S. Sen. Cory Gardner received the Ben S. Wendelken Special Trustees Award for his spirit of service, giving and commitment demonstrated though his work in local, state and national government.

Support Local Journalism

“These people and organizations truly represent the best of the Colorado nonprofit community,” said William J. Hybl, chairman and CEO of El Pomar Foundation. “On behalf of El Pomar Foundation trustees, we honor and recognize their work.”

Awards for Excellence annually recognizes the state’s highest performing nonprofit organizations. Since its inception as a small luncheon in 1989, the program has provided over $5 million in grant support to more than 400 nonprofit organizations throughout Colorado.

Organizations are selected by a dedicated group of community leaders, council members from El Pomar’s Regional Partnerships program and El Pomar Fellowship alumni. Two organizations from the Pikes Peak Region will be recognized in December with Awards for Excellence at a ceremony in Colorado Springs.

El Pomar Foundation is one of the largest and oldest private foundations in Colorado. El Pomar contributes approximately $22 million annually through grants and community stewardship programs to support Colorado nonprofit organizations involved in health, human services, education, arts and humanities and civic and community initiatives. Spencer and Julie Penrose founded El Pomar in 1937. To learn more about El Pomar Foundation, go to http://www.elpomar.org.

Support Local Journalism