Elections draw interest – except in Minturn | VailDaily.com

Elections draw interest – except in Minturn

NWS Gypsum Fire KA 3-9-12

EAGLE COUNTY, Colorado – We all know about the elections coming in November. But springtime elections could have a bigger impact on our day-to-day lives.

On April 3, voters in Eagle, Gypsum, Minturn and Red Cliff will elect new Town Council members. A month later, voters will elect new board members on two of the valley’s three fire districts and the western valley’s ambulance district. Here’s a look at what’s on the ballots.

Red Cliff: Voters will elect a new mayor and five Town Board members. Here’s who’s running:

Mayor: Tom Henderson and Scott Burgess.

Trustees: Anuschka Bales (appointed incumbent), Heather Stolz (former board member), Jake Spears, Jaclyn Parks, Chris Keran, Kelli Holtz and Chad Holtz.

Support Local Journalism

The Vail Daily will send a brief questionnaire to each candidate.

Minturn: There are only as many candidates as Town Council seats available this year. That means as long as Mayor Hawkeye Flaherty and council members George Brodin, John Rosenfeld and Jerry Bumgarner vote for themselves, they’re in.

The town is also asking voters a couple of town charter-related questions about the posting location of town notices and how to publish town ordinances.

Eagle: Incumbent Eagle Mayor Ed Woodland is seeking re-election. He will be challenged by Yuri Kostick, a current member of the Eagle Town Board.

With Kostick running for mayor, there are no incumbents seeking re-election to the town board. The eight candidates for the three seats are Jeremy D. Cossette, John A. King, Joe Knable, Lonnie Leto, Anne McKibbin, Skylar Mitchell, Brandi Resa and Max Schmidt.

Profiles of all those candidates will be published in both the Vail Daily and Eagle Valley Enterprise.

Gypsum: Four candidates will challenge three incumbents who are running for re-election.

The incumbents are Tom Edwards, Gary Lebo and Kyle Hall.

The challengers are Beric Christiansen, Ross Graves, Jim Kinser and Stanley McElderry.

Profiles of all those candidates will be published in both the Vail Daily and Eagle Valley Enterprise.

Special districts: Many of the roughly 80 taxing organizations in the valley hold springtime elections when needed. This year, many of those organizations won’t need to hold those elections due to lack of interest from candidates. Those districts include the Eagle County Health Services District, which provides ambulance service to the eastern end of the valley.

Districts holding elections – most on May 8 – include:

Vail Recreation District: There are six candidates running for two seats. They are Stephen Connolly, Jeff Wiles (incumbent), Susan Bird, Ross Davis Jr., Bill Suarez and Michael Kurz.

Western Eagle County Ambulance District: Three people are running for two seats with four-year terms: Brian Schofield (incumbent), Jon Asper (incumbent) and Jessica Mossman.

Two people are running for one two-year term: Arlene Sandberg (incumbent) and Matt Solomon.

Greater Eagle Fire Protection District: This district and ambulance district are running their elections at the same time at one polling place, probably at the fire station in Eagle.

Candidates for the two seats on the fire district board are John Boyd, Alex Mintling and Johnnette Phillips.

Eagle River Fire Protection District: Voters will select directors from four of the district’s regions.

District 1: Clark Shivley is running unopposed.

District 2: Darell Wegert and Jeffrey Boock.

District 3: No candidate is running, so the board will appoint someone to fill the seat of Ed O’Brien, who is leaving due to term limits.

District 5: Jennifer Cartmell Hays is running unopposed.

Pam Boyd and Derek Franz contributed to this story.

Business Editor Scott N. Miller can be reached at 970-748-2930 or smiller@


Support Local Journalism