Incumbents keep seats on Vail Rec board |

Incumbents keep seats on Vail Rec board

Kristin Anderson//Vail DailyElaine Kelton, left, and Shelly Gruner fill out their ballots Tuesday at the Vail Municipal Building. Vail voters selected Vail Recreation District board of directors candidates and an Eagle River Water and Sanitation District candidate.

VAIL – Voters in the Vail Recreation District re-elected three incumbents to its board of directors Tuesday.

Rick Sackbauer had 359 votes, Joe Hanlon had 337 votes and Ken Wilson had 312 votes. Challenger John Donovan received 290 votes.

“I look forward to continuing the progress that we’ve had over the last few years going forward with some of the big projects and issues we have coming online,” Hanlon said.

Hanlon said he’s ready to work on long-range plans for Fork Park, including what’s going to happen with parking, playing fields, and tennis courts there. Another big issue is what to do with the aging golf course clubhouse – whether to build a new one or refurbish the old one, he said.

Sackbauer and Wilson could not be reached Tuesday night.

All three winners will serve four-year terms. The other two members of the board are Michelle Hall and Jeff Wiles, whose terms run through 2012.

In Tuesday’s election, 524 votes were cast, representing 13.1 percent of registered voters.

The Vail Rec district operate separately from the town of Vail and runs the Vail Golf Club, the Vail Tennis Center, Dobson Ice Arena, the Vail Gymnastics Center, the Vail Nature Center, the Vail Nordic Center and intramural sports and kids’ camps.

Staff Writer Edward Stoner can be reached at 970-748-2929 or

Support Local Journalism