Nominations are being sought for annual Eagle County public safety awards |

Nominations are being sought for annual Eagle County public safety awards

Daily staff report

EAGLE COUNTY — Eagle County Rotary Clubs of Eagle, Edwards and Vail, in conjunction with the Eagle County Public Safety Council, have announce the fourth annual Public Safety Appreciation Awards night to honor Eagle County’s most outstanding first responders. The program was created to provide an opportunity for the men and women in public safety to be recognized for outstanding service to their communities and contributions to their profession. The winners will be recognized at a Sept. 12 awards ceremony at the Donovan Pavilion in Vail.

Tickets to the event are $45 per person or $550 for a table of 8 (includes sponsoring attendance of two first responders). Cocktails start at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. The awards ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. Seating is limited. To purchase, contact Joe Peplinski at 970-376-1635 or via email at

Going Above and Beyond

In addition to agency internal nominations, nominations are also being solicited from the public to recognize outstanding public safety professionals, whether serving in career or volunteer capacities.

The award categories are not intended to recognize employees for merely “doing a good job,” or responding to a call, but to recognize employees who actually go beyond the ordinary to protect Eagle County’s citizens and property, or who contribute significantly to the public safety profession. Nominations may be made for:

Participate in The Longevity Project

The Longevity Project is an annual campaign to help educate readers about what it takes to live a long, fulfilling life in our valley. This year Kevin shares his story of hope and celebration of life with his presentation Cracked, Not Broken as we explore the critical and relevant topic of mental health.

• Medal of Valor.

• First Responder of the Year.

• Distinguished Service Award.

• Leadership Award Business Partnership Award.

• Call of the Year.

• Unit Citation.

Recipients may be selected from each of the following public safety groups:

• Municipal, County and State Law Enforcement.

• Fire Service.

• 911/Communications.

• Emergency Medical Service.

• Search and Rescue.

• Ski Patrol.

• Public Safety.

Nominations must be submitted on the official nomination form. Please limit nominations to approximately 500 words. Attachments such as articles, brochures and photos are encouraged. The form, along with descriptions of each of the categories, may be downloaded at

Completed nomination forms must be submitted by 5 p.m., Aug. 1. For questions or to request a nomination form, contact Peplinski. Nomination forms may be submitted to Chief Karl Bauer via email (preferred method) to or via fax at 970-949-7965.

The event is sponsored by the Vail Daily, Crazy Mountain Brewery Co., Minturn VFW Post #10721, Wal-Mart and the Rotary Clubs of Eagle, Edwards and Vail.

Support Local Journalism