Obsession with the Session | VailDaily.com

Obsession with the Session

Tom Boyd

We know we love the sport, but we’re always looking for a better way to do it, a different way to make snowboarding competition even better than it is now.And with The Session, the Vail Valley Foundation’s first dip into the professional snowboarding pool, comes a unique way of uniting the spirit of competition with the spirit of freeriding.”This came from local riders, and it also came from some of the judges,” says the Foundation’s Kurt Krieg. “The format allows riders to compete in a manner where they can excel, and they’re not penalized for trying.”The Session sends some of the world’s best riders onto a super-slopestyle course and rail course on Vail’s Golden Peak at night, under the lights, for a massive throw-down jam. Imagine the world’s best snowboarders having fun, ripping up the track, and pushing their abilities to the limits, and you’ve got a sense of what The Session will bring.Beginning on the night of Friday, Jan. 17, women riders will join the men for the first time to compete together on three custom-built rails. Riders will move from rail to rail during the two-hour jam session for a shot at the title prize: $10,000 on each rail. After the conclusion of the competition, a party on the snow will continue the night’s festivities.The one-of-a-kind Super Slopestyle competition is a bigger version of Slopestyle, including oversized big air and rail options. Thirty elite male and 15 elite female riders will compete in four to six runs in a “jam” format. Riders will compete for $20,000 to the first place male and $15,000 and $10,000 respectively for second and third.All events are free to the public. Click on http://www.sessionvail.com, or call (970) 949-1999.Confirmed competitorsMen:JJ Thomas, JP Walker, TJ Schneider, BJ Leines, Todd Richards, Stephen Laterra, Shaun White, Kurt Wastell, Erik Leines, Mark Frank Montoya, Abe Teter, Ryan Paris, Doran Laybourn, David Carrier Porcheron, Joni Malmi, Ali Goulet, Rahm Klampert, Ryan Lougee, Colin Langois, Bobby Meeks.Women:Kelly Clark, Kim Bohnsack, Barrett Christy, Megan Pischke, Jessica Dalpiaz, Roberta Rodger, Jaime MacLeod, Alisa Mokler, Anne Molin Konsgaard, Sarah Osterberg, and Hanah Teter.

Support Local Journalism