One director’s seat contested in Holy Cross Energy election |

One director’s seat contested in Holy Cross Energy election

Daily staff report
Construction manager Jeff Bintz, left, and installer and trainer Dylan Reitenbach install solar panels at a Holy Cross Energy community solar array in Gypsum last summer. The town of Vail recently approved an agreement to purchase electricity from renewable sources for all municipal uses.
Chris Dillmann | Daily file photo

Holy Cross Energy announced Wednesday that four candidates are running for one open seat in the electric co-operative’s northern district.

The candidates are David Campbell, of Vail, Michael Kaddatz, of Eagle, Larissa Read, of Edwards, and Kenneth L. Wise, of Edwards.

Incumbent David Munk was unopposed for a seat in the southern district.

A seven-member board from three geographic districts directs Holy Cross Energy. Four directors come from the northern district, two from the southern district and one from the western district.

Elections for the seats are staggered among various years. Terms are for three years.

Support Local Journalism

Election ballots will be mailed to all current members Monday. Even though the candidates represent specific districts, the election is open to all members. Holy Cross Energy provides power for a significant share of the Roaring Fork Valley as well as the Interstate 70 corridor in Eagle and Garfield counties.

Profiles of the candidates will be provided by HCE to voting members.

Votes will be tallied June 6 at the annual meeting at Brush Creek Pavilion in Eagle.

The incumbents who aren’t up for election this year are Kristen Bertuglia, Megan Gilman and Adam Palmer, all of the northern district; Robert Gardner and Munk of the southern district; and Clemons Kopf of the western district.

Support Local Journalism