Pianist Joyce Yang joins the New York Phil | VailDaily.com

Pianist Joyce Yang joins the New York Phil

Daily Staff Report
Vail, CO, Colorado
Special to the DailyYoung piano virtuoso Joyce Yang will take the stage for Edvard Grieg's "Piano Concerto in A Minor" Thursday at the Ford Amphitheater.

VAIL ” Conductor Bramwell Tovey will lead the New York Philharmonic in their fifth performance in the Vail Valley this season at the Ford Amphitheater Thursday, and audiences will get to see former Vail Resorts CEO Adam Aron conduct the orchestra for one piece during the concert.

The evening will begin with Dvorak’s spirited “Slavonic Dance” under the guest baton Aron. This piece, heavily based on Czech music, was composed by Dvorak to complement Brahms’ famous “Hungarian Dances.” Dvorak enjoyed a wealth of fame for this piece and eventually went on to compose a second set of Slavonic Dances.

Tovey will then take the stage for Mikhail Glinka’s “Ruslan and Ludmila Overture” from his second and last opera. This inspiring overture, Russian in nature, tells a beautiful love story of the daughter of the beautiful daughter of the Grand Duke of Kiev. Later, young piano virtuoso Joyce Yang will take the stage for Edvard Grieg’s “Piano Concerto in A Minor.” The concerto, which brought Grieg to the international spotlight, is strongly characterized by a sprightly, rhythmic, melodic and harmonic imagination.

Following the intermission, the orchestra will return to the stage for Franz Liszt’s “Les Preludes, Symphonic Poem.” Of Liszt’s numerous achievements, his invention of the symphonic poem, one of the Romantic era’s principal forms of musical expression, was a major contribution. A one-movement work for orchestra, generally flexible in form, the symphonic poem (also known as a tone poem) sought to give musical expression to a poem, prose text, story, painting or idea.

The evening will close with two pieces by Johann Strauss ” “One the Beautiful Blue Danube” and “Thunder and Lightening Polka.” The charm, elegance and vivacity of Strauss’ music reflects the joie de vivre of 19th century imperial Vienna. His particular gift is associated with inspired melodic invention. Technically, he is responsible for developing the Viennese waltz to its classical perfection.

The concert will begin at 6 p.m. Tickets are $23 for general admission lawn seating, $62 for regular reserved seating, $84 for premium reserved seating. For complete artist roster, program details, and ticketing information, call 827-5700 or visit http://www.vailmusicfestival.org.

Support Local Journalism