Reception scheduled for new Vail council |

Reception scheduled for new Vail council

The activities will take place from 4:30 p.m. to 6 p.m., Tuesday, in the Vail Town Council Chambers.

Food and drinks will be provided and community members are encouraged to come meet their new community leaders.

The reception will welcome Kent Logan and Kim Routolo as the newest members to the Town Council, as well as recognize the re-election of incumbents Rod Slifer and Greg Moffet.

Logan and Routolo replace seats held by former Councilmen Bill Jewitt and Chuck Ogilby.

The event follows the swearing-in ceremonies for the four members, as well as Town Council’s election of a mayor and mayor pro-tem that will take place during a special meeting at 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, in the Vail Town Council Chambers.

The new Town Council members join existing members Ludwig Kurz, whose term ends January 2004, and Dick Cleveland and Diana Donovan, whose terms expire in 2005.

The Nov. 4 election results have now been certified by the Vail Town Clerk. This year’s voter turnout is the highest for Vail’s regular municipal election, with 1,111 votes cast out of 2,365 active registered voters, representing 46.9 percent of the electorate.

A special election will take place Jan. 27 to fill the seat held by Kurz, who will become term-limited after serving eight consecutive years, four of them as mayor. Kurz was originally elected during a special election in February 1996 to replace Peggy Osterfoss, who resigned in the middle of her term. Nominating petitions to fill Kurz’s seat will be available Dec. 8. Candidates will have until 5 p.m., Dec. 26, to circulate and return the nominating petitions.

A minimum of 10 valid signatures from registered voters in Vail is required for certification. Request for absentee ballots can be made beginning Nov. 12 with early voting beginning Jan. 15.

For more information, contact Suzanne Silverthorn at 479-2115.

Support Local Journalism