Rules and requirements
Waters of Colorado are open to taking fish, amphibians, mollusks and crustaceans day and night, year-round, except as otherwise noted in CDOW’s fishing brochure.
Anyone over the age of 16 must posses a state fishing license, obtainable on CDOW’s website and from various local agents. The cost of a fishing license is $26 for Colorado residents and $56 for non-residents. Five-day licenses are available to non residents for $21 and local residents can purchase a one-day license for $9. Fees include a 25¢ search and rescue fee. Seniors over the age of 64 are not required to posses a license.
When hunting, it is unlawful to:
– Have a loaded rifle or shotgun
in or on a motor vehicle
(Motor vehicle includes
motorcycles and ATVs).
– Hunt carelessly or discharge a
firearm or release an arrow in
a manner disregarding
human life or property.
– Hunt under the influence of
alcohol or controlled
– Use artificial light to hunt
– Use dogs or bait to hunt bears,
deer, elk, pronghorn, or
moose. (Bait means to put,
expose, deposit, distribute,
or scatter salt, minerals, grain,
animal parts, or other food
so as to constitute a lure,
attraction, or enticement for
big game on or over any area
where hunters are attempting
to take big game.
– Use poison, drugs, or explosives to hunt
or harass wildlife.
– Not make a reasonable attempt to
track and kill an animal you wounded.
If the animal goes on private property,
you must contact the landowner or
person in charge before pursuing it.
– Not wear at least 500 square inches
of solid daylight fluorescent orange
material above the waist on an
outer garment while hunting deer,
elk, pronghorn, bear, or moose during
a muzzleloading or rifle season. Part of
the fluorescent orange must be a hat or
head covering visible from all
directions. The DOW strongly
recommends wearing daylight
fluorescent orange clothes in the field
even if you’re not hunting.
– Leave an unattended fire that is not
– Fail to use wildlife meat for human
consumption. Internal organs are not
considered edible portions.
– Shoot from, across, or on a public road
with a firearm, bow, or crossbow.
People firing a bow, rifle, handgun, or
shotgun having a single slug must be
at least 50 feet from the centerline of
– Party hunt, which means to kill
someone else’s game or allow
someone to kill your game.
– Interfere with hunters. That includes, but
is not limited to, alarming, distracting,
or frightening prey; causing prey to
flee by using light or noise; chasing prey
on foot or by vehicle; throwing objects;
making movements; harassing hunters
by using threats or actions; erecting
barriers to deny access to hunting
areas; and intentionally injecting
yourself into the line of fire.
Violators face criminal prosecution and may have to pay damages to the victim, as well as court costs.
Source: Colorado Division of Wildlife, http://www.wildlife.state.co.us.
All hunters in Colorado over the age of 16 must possess a license and anyone born after 1949 must also have proof of a hunter education course.
Colorado’s various hunting seasons begin in late August for archers and in September for rifle hunters.
Most hunting license are allocated through a lottery system. For in-state residents, they range in cost from $31 (deer) to $251 (Moose). To apply or in some cases, to obtain an over-the counter license, visit a local agent or call (303) 297-1192.
Hunting big game without a license can incur fines ranging from $700 to $1000.
Colorado Division of Wildlife Hunter Education Courses are offered throughout the year and throughout the state.
Courses can be taken in a traditional classroom setting, on the internet, as a home study, or as a CRASH course. (CRASH courses are intended primarily for non-residents.) Some courses are offered especially for women and youth.
The Division of Wildlife furnishes hunter education manuals, equipment, and ammunition for its courses, the fee for which may not exceed $10. The fee for crash courses may not exceed $20.
Valid hunter education cards from out of state will be honored in Colorado if they can be verified. Certifications from other countries may also be accepted.
Support Local Journalism
Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.
User Legend: Moderator Trusted User