Sandra Smyser named finalist for 2013 Superintendent of the Year |

Sandra Smyser named finalist for 2013 Superintendent of the Year


EAGLE — Former Eagle County schools superintendent Sandra Smyser is a finalist for the 2013 National Superintendent of the Year, announced the National Association of School Superintendents.

Smyser was chosen Colorado’s Superintendent of the Year when she headed Eagle County schools. She left in June to lead the Poudre School District in Fort Collins, Colorado.

Selection Panel Chairperson Patricia Beaver said Smyser has focused on three areas:

1. Closing the achievement gap;

2. Teacher and principal professional development and evaluation systems; and

3. Designing curriculum around the new state standards.

Eagle County Schools is in its eleventh year of a performance pay program with bonuses tied to student achievement.

Finalists for the award also included James Capolupo, superintendent of the Springfield School District in Springfield, Penn; Sonny Da Marto, superintendent of the Turlock Unified School District in Turlock, Calif.; Brett Stanton, Superintendent of Haralson County Schools in Tallapoosa, Geo.; and Don Haddad, Superintendent of the St. Vrain Valley School District in Longmont, Colo.

“There is not one simple fix for education. The real answer is leveraging the collective know-how of stellar district superintendents like Dr. Smyser, said Theresa Daem, executive director of the national association,

Support Local Journalism