Sex, drugs and classical music? Tindall tells all | VailDaily.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Sex, drugs and classical music? Tindall tells all

Daily Staff Report
Special to the DailyIn "Mozart In The Jungle: Sex, Drugs and Classical Music," oboist and author Blair Tindall offers a heartfelt and sometimes haunting view - from on stage and within the Broadway pit - into the rock 'n' roll lifestyles of classical musicians.
ALL |

VAIL – In “Mozart In The Jungle: Sex, Drugs and Classical Music,” oboist and author Blair Tindall offers a heartfelt and sometimes haunting view – from on stage and within the Broadway pit – into the rock ‘n’ roll lifestyles of classical musicians.

Part personal memoir, part scathing indictment of the business, “Mozart In The Jungle” is a look into the contemporary classical music scene, and the musicians and administrators who inhabit this insular world. Verbatim Booksellers in Vail Village presents Tindall for a discussion and book signing at the Vail Public Library Sunday at 4 p.m.In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s “Kitchen Confidential” and Gelsey Kirkland’s “Dancing on My Grave,” Tindall recounts the sometimes sordid truths, including the trading of sex for jobs and active drug habits, along with tidbits about classical music performance that could come only from someone who has experienced this life first hand. Did you know the decibel level in a typical Broadway pit often exceeds the sound of a chainsaw?

Journalist and musician Tindall writes about classical music for the New York Times and has performed, toured and recorded with the New York Philharmonic and many other musical groups. Tindall has been a staff business reporter for the Hearst San Francisco Examiner, and her work has appeared in the Wall Street Journal, Yoga Journal, Harvard’s Nieman Reports, Art and Antiques, Business Week and the International Herald Tribune.For more information, check out http://www.mozartinthejungle.com or call Verbatim Booksellers at 476-3032.



Vail, Colorado


Support Local Journalism