Six Eagle County illegal immigrants arrested |

Six Eagle County illegal immigrants arrested

Daily staff report
Vail, CO Colorado

DENVER, Colorado – In the largest operation throughout Colorado this year, 78 convicted criminal aliens, immigration fugitives and immigration violators were arrested last week during a 3-day targeted enforcement operation by agents from the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement Office of Enforcement and Removal Operations.

During the operation, which ended Thursday evening, officers located and arrested 64 aliens with prior criminal convictions, including five gang members. Six of the 78 arrested were from Eagle County, with one from Gypsum, four from Avon and one from Edwards.

Some of the criminal aliens taken into custody had prior convictions for serious or violent crimes, such as homicide, selling illegal drugs, sexual crimes against children, resisting arrest, assault, vehicle theft and drunken-driving convictions.

Twelve of the individuals officers took into custody were also immigration fugitives – aliens with outstanding orders of deportation who had failed to leave the country.

Nine of those arrested will be presented to the U.S. Attorney’s Office for prosecution for illegally re-entering the United States after they had been previously deported, which is a felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison.

Arrests were made in the following Colorado cities: Aurora, Avon, Akron, Denver, Fruita, Sheridan, Glenwood Springs, Longmont, Greeley, Grand Junction, Clifton, Montrose, Northglenn, New Castle, Cortez, Lakewood, Sterling, Kiowa, Westminster, Fredrick, Edwards, Silverthorne, Platteville, Yuma, Thornton, Centennial, and Wamsutter, Wyo.

The Eagle County Sheriff’s Office was one of many Colorado and federal law enforcement agencies that participated in the operation.

Of those arrested, 73 were men and five were women; 63 are from Mexico, three are from El Salvador and three are from Honduras. One person was arrested from each of the following nine nations: Bulgaria, Colombia, Indonesia, Liberia, Mauritania, Poland, Senegal, Venezuela and United Kingdom.

Support Local Journalism