Special districts election results: Beaver Creek, Lake Creek, fire board | VailDaily.com

Special districts election results: Beaver Creek, Lake Creek, fire board

EAGLE COUNTY — Beaver Creek residents voted to take on $5 million in debt to buy an easement, which they say will force Vail Resorts to move its proposed alpine slide up the mountain toward Spruce Saddle, and away from them.

That, they say, will help preserve their property values.

In another tax question, Lake Creek voters decided to keep collecting property tax money earmarked for debt payment, even after that debt is paid off. The money will roll over into the Lake Creek Metro District’s operating fund.

Beaver Creek Metro District

Beaver Creek Metro District voters will increase their debt by $5.5 million with a total payoff of $11.9 million over 30 years to buy an easement. The stated purpose is to protect property values. The purchase is designed to force Vail Resorts’ proposed alpine slide to be located farther up the mountain toward Spruce Saddle.

That ballot question passed, 167-38.

In a second ballot issue, Beaver Creek voters approved a measure that allows the metro district to enter into a multi-year agreement with the Eagle River Fire Protection District. Metro districts are prohibited by law from entering into multi-year agreements without voter approval.

They also elected three members to their board of directors. The top vote getters were:

• James Fraser, 115

• Steve Friedman, 104

• Pam Elsner, 94

Also receiving votes were:

• Linda Bercher, 66

• James Lee, 63

For ballot question A, whether to increase the debt by $5.5 million to buy an easement, the results were 167 for “yes” and 38 for “no.”

For ballot question B, approval of a multi year agreement for fire protection with the Eagle River Fire Protection District, 191 voted in favor and nine against.

Lake Creek Metro District

One seat on the board was open and Rick Cunningham won it. He ran unopposed.

Lake Creek residents also agreed to continue paying a mill levy — property tax — even after the debt to which it is dedicated to paying is retired in 2015 and 2017.

The money will be rolled over into the Lake Creek metro district’s operating fund.

Eagle County Paramedic Services

All five board seats were up for election this time around, something that has rarely happened before.

The election will remain unofficial until the close of business May 14, and the results will be up in the air until then. That’s because it’s so close and dozens of ballots could still come in from people who do not live in the country and would like to vote, such as military personnel.

They’re due by 5:05 p.m. on Tuesday. The new board meets for the first time May 15.

In the meantime, John Woodland was the top candidate seeking a four-year term with 60 votes.

Brian Scofield won a two-year term. Another seat for a two-year term went uncontested. The board will determine what they want to do about that at the May 15 meeting.

Unofficial results:

• John Woodland, 60

• Jeffrey Babb, 53

• Jon Asper, 51

• Todd Goulding, 50

• Brian Davis, 39

• Kaye Ferry, 35

Greater Eagle Fire Protection District

The top three vote-getters are elected to four-year terms.

• Mike “Pappy” Kerst, 103

• Ted Weber, 70

• Eric Peterson, 67

• Jon Asper, 57

• Roby Forsyth, 47

• Jim Spell, 33

• Nate Nelson, 31

• Georgie Zinda, 18


The five-member WECMRD board has two new members. Kimberley Arnold and Stacy Beaumont both won four-year terms.


• Kimberley Arnold, 117

• Stacy Beaumont, 111

Support Local Journalism