Summit County calls time out on medical marijuana |

Summit County calls time out on medical marijuana

Robert Allen
Summit County, CO Colorado

SUMMIT COUNTY – Summit County Commissioners this week approved a 120-day moratorium on medical marijuana dispensaries for unincoporated areas. County officials are expected to create regulations for the businesses like Breckenridge, Silverthorne, Dillon and Frisco – and several communities across Colorado – have done in the past few months.

Location, operations and security requirements are among the regulations adopted elsewhere.

With no regulations from the state level, community leaders have struggled to draft their own rules for the dispensaries – which have become one of Colorado’s fastest-growing businesses.

The cities of Broomfield, Greeley and Superior have opted to ban marijuana dispensaries.

Support Local Journalism

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User