Ten step forward for Avon council | VailDaily.com

Ten step forward for Avon council

AVON — Ten residents are running for four available seats on the Avon Town Council, officials said Monday.

The candidates are Thomas Beaver, Thomas Austin “Tab” Bonidy, Peter Buckley, Megan Burch, Matt Gennett, Angelo Loria, John Minervini, Scott Prince, Sarah Smith Hymes and Charlie Wolf.

Each candidate filed a nomination petition on or before 5 p.m. Monday as required for this Nov. 4 election. Avon Town Clerk Debbie Hoppe has verified the required signatures of registered voters needed for the nomination petition.

Four seats are open on the seven-person council. Only Gennett is an incumbent, having been appointed to the seat vacated by Todd Goulding. Mayor Rich Carroll and Councilman Dave Dantas have each served eight years and are not eligible to run under Avon’s term limit. Councilman Chris Evans did not file a petition for re-election.

For more information, contact Debbie Hoppe at 970-748-4001 or dhoppe@avon.org.

Support Local Journalism