Apple Award |

Apple Award

A huge congrats goes out to Eagle Valley High School language arts teacher Nicole Dewell, who was recently chosen for the eighth and final Ef(ec)tive Apple Award for this school year! She was nominated by her colleagues, parents and students for going above and beyond in her classroom and won $500 from EFEC and the Youth Foundation/Vail Valley Foundation! Other winners for this school year are: October 2013 — Elizabeth James, third-grade teacher at Eagle Valley Elementary School; November 2013 — Becky Matsen, cognitive needs teacher at Battle Mountain High School; December 2013 — Maria Diaz, second-grade teacher at Avon Elementary School; January 2014 — Audrey Frey, kindergarten teacher at Edwards Elementary School; February 2014 — Kelly Casber, third-grade teacher at Homestake Peak School; March 2014 — Nancy Allen, first-grade teacher at June Creek Elementary School; April 2014 — Jeri Schafer, second-grade teacher at Eagle Valley Elementary School. Learn more about the Ef(ec)tive Apple Award and the Education Foundation of Eagle County and make a difference in a child's education at The Ef(ec)tive Apple Award Program is underwritten by the Youth Foundation/Vail Valley Foundation.

Support Local Journalism