Vail Film Fest announces tribute recipients |

Vail Film Fest announces tribute recipients

DON'T TRUST THE B---- IN APARTMENT 23 - ABC's "Don't Trust the B---- in Apartment 23" stars Krysten Ritter as Chloe. (ABC/BOB D'AMICO)
ABC | American Broadcasting Companies,

VAIL – The 2012 Vail Film Festival, slated for March 29 through April 1 in Vail, announced its 2012 Vanguard Award Recipient – Fred Schepisi – and Excellence in Acting Recipient – Krysten Ritter – on Thursday. Both actors will be honored for their outstanding work in the film industry during the 2012 Awards Ceremony, preceding the Film Festival’s closing night film on March 31 at the Vail Mountain School.

Throughout the festival weekend, pass holders will enjoy film screenings, parties, live music, ice skating, and a hospitality lounge with complimentary Stella Artois, all of which will reach its summit on March 31 when industry leaders come together to celebrate the work of Schepisi and Ritter, and independent filmmakers from across the world who stood out in the following categories: Best Feature, Best Documentary, Best Short, Best Student, Best Adventure, Best Feature Screenplay, Best Short Screenplay, The Blue Sky Tribute for Environmental Activism Presented by Chipotle, and the Cadillac Audience Award. Avanti and Prima pass holders are also welcome to attend this special event.

Honoring a filmmaker for his/her overall outstanding achievement in film, the Vail Film Festival presents the 2012 Vanguard Award to Golden Globe winning Writer/Director, Fred Schepisi. Past Vail Film Festival Vanguard award recipients include Josh Lucas, Harold Ramis and Edward Pressman. With a rich career in the industry spanning more than 36 years, Schepisi’s credits include “Six Degrees of Separation,” “Last Orders,” “The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith,” “Roxanne,” “Evil Angels” and mini-series “Empire Falls,” for which he gained an Emmy nomination for best director and won a Golden Globe for Best Mini-Series. His latest film, “The Eye of the Storm” starring Academy Award-winner Geoffrey Rush, Charlotte Rampling and Judy Davis will make its U.S. Premiere as the 2012 Vail Film Festival’s Opening Night Film on March 29 at the Vail Mountain School. Nominated for 12 Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) awards, “The Eye of the Storm” will be released by Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. throughout the United States following the 2012 Vail Film Festival.

Known for her work in film, television, and theater, Ritter has become one of the most sought after actors in Hollywood. The 2012 Vail Film Festival is honored to recognize her with this year’s Excellence in Acting Award, joining past winners Kate Bosworth, Michelle Monaghan and Jane Seymour. Starring alongside many of Hollywood’s biggest names including Katherine Heigl, Ashton Kutcher, Cameron Diaz, Isla Fisher, Kristin Bell and Alicia Silverstone, Ritter’s films include Dreamworks’ comedy “She’s Out of My League,” the Disney/Jerry Bruckheimer film “Confessions of a Shopaholic,” “What Happens in Vegas,” “27 Dresses” and Amy Heckerling’s comedy, “Vamps.”

In television, Ritter has starred in “Breaking Bad,” the leading role on the Starz series “Gravity” as well as recurring roles on “Gilmore Girls” and “Veronica Mars.” Her upcoming comedy series, “Apartment 23” will debut on April 11 after Modern Family on ABC. Ritter’s most recent film, “L!fe Happens,” in which she stars and co-wrote with talented new filmmaker and Vail Film Festival Alum, Kat Coiro, will be screened following the Awards Ceremony on March 31 at 8 p.m., as the 2012 Vail Film Festival’s Official Closing Night Film.

Support Local Journalism

Hosted at The Sebastian in Vail, the four-day film festival will showcase 58 independent films from around the world. For the complete 2012 Vail Film Festival Program and screening schedule, visit: For more information about the 2012 Awards Ceremony, events and activities, or to buy passes go to

Support Local Journalism