Vail film: ‘In Deep’ revels in epic powder |

Vail film: ‘In Deep’ revels in epic powder

Vail Daily staff report
Vail, CO Colorado
Special to the Vail Daily/Blake JorgensonSkier Sean Pettit can be seen in Haines, Alaska in "In Deep," a new ski film that will be shown in the Vail Valley Friday

VAIL VALLEY. Colorado – MSP Films’ returns to Colorado’s Vail Valley to debut its new release, “In Deep: The Skiing Experience,” Friday night at the Vilar Performing Arts Center in Beaver Creek.

“The high energy of Vail has never let us down and this should be the strongest showing to date,” said tour director Steve Reska.

The 2009 season gave MSP the opportunity to take an original look at the sport of skiing. “The format of the film is going to be a fresh approach for MSP this year,” said Executive Producer Murray Wais. “We captured so much epic footage this winter, we could have put out five teasers like this.”

Skier Eric Hjorliefson called Haines, Alaska, the “ultimate trip because everything came together.”

“We had great weather, great snow, and we were able to ski everything we wanted to, which usually never happens,” Hjorliefson.

MSP was also faced with tragedy this year when long time friend and star skier Shane McConkey died in a BASE jumping accident. In this film, MSP will feature a McConkey tribute segment that will highlight his incredible career as a pro skier. Each tour stop will have a contest to see who can dress up as the best Saucer Boy, with prizes being given out nightly.

“Shane McConkey was the greatest ski film star of our time, in addition to being an incredible person and a loyal friend. We all miss him deeply,” said MSP co-founder Steve Winter.

“In Deep” features some of the best skiers in the world, including Mark Abma, Sean Pettit, Eric Hjorleifson, Daron Rahlves, Henrik Windstedt, Chris Davenport, Bobby Brown, Colby West, TJ Schiller, Mike Douglas, Kaj Zackrisson, James Heim, Hugo Harrisson, Rory Bushfield, PK Hunder, Ingrid Backstrom, Jacob Wester, Russ Henshaw, Henrik Harlaut, Alexis Godbout, Michelle Parker, JT Holmes, Sammy Carlson, Chris Rubens and Shane McConkey.

Support Local Journalism