Vail food drive sets record |

Vail food drive sets record

Moses Gonzales
Vail, CO, Colorado

On behalf of the Vail Police Department, Salvation Army, Bright Future Foundation, Food Rescue Express, and the Bread and Fish Community Dinners, we’d like to thank the community for their generous support of the eighth annual Make a Difference Day Food Drive.

Although we didn’t beat our goal of 250,000 pounds, we did set a record collecting190,000 pounds of food for our neighbors and friends needing assistance in Eagle County.

One thing I am very proud of is the way this community comes together to help the less fortunate. Hopefully we will one day be able to eliminate hunger in our community. The drive was so successful because of all the folks dropping off food at the local markets and schools, and of the financial donations of so many.

Special thanks to the following for their financial help: Avon Elementary, Battle Mountain High School, Vail Mountain School, Edwards Elementary, St. Clair Assasi, Minturn Middle School, The Vail Academy, Red Sandstone Elementary, Eagle Valley Elementary, Eagle Valley Middle School, Red Hill Elementary, Eagle County Charter Academy, First Bank of Vail, Vail Resorts, Beaver Creek Resorts, Vail Firefighter’s Association, East West Partners, Slifer Smith Frampton Real Estate, Red Tail Realty, Sitzmark at Vail, The Weitz Company, Shaw Construction, George Schaeffer Construction, The Alter Group, Sunder Construction, PCL Construction, Martinez Trucking, AK Electric, City Market of Vail, City Market of Avon, City Market Eagle, Columbine Market, Safeway Market, Village Market, Market place on Meadow Dr, Christiania Lodge, Antlers at Vail, Tivoli Lodge, Karen Shupe, Linda Moore, Rhonda Woodall, DC Leeb, Bill Maxwell, Penny Tuilli, Kathy Holloran, Amy Parliament, Vail Mountaineering, Craig Westering, Gilda and Werner Kaplan, Wendy Gustafson, Elizabeth Klinga, Lisa Arnold, Nick Mendez, Sybill Navas, Gretchen Hennum, Joy Cederberg, Cynthia McAdam, Marc Wentworth, Kim Newbury, Justin Dill, Annette Dopplik, Jennifer Kirkland, Janiel and Charlie Turnbull, Jacque Lavato, Cindy Clement, Todd Scholl, Bob Amour, Peggy Nichols, Sarah Rose, Mark Cadmus, Joe Ribeiro, Chief Henninger, Julie Anderson, Sally Lorton, Gilbert Gonzales, Jamie Bradley, AK Electric, Fran Micka, Pam Brandmeyer, Mabel Selak, Richard Perkins, Solaris Property Owners, A-Peak, Linda Wolz, Bill Bresnhan, Steve Kemblowski, Pennywise Bookkeeping, Jeff Briggs, Penny Harpe, Wendy Kaemmerien, Sean Koenig, Gregg Johnson, Bill Clausen, Stan Zemler, Matt Neihart, Jessica Deery, Kate Williams, Gwen Scalpello, Mark Dean, Susan Silverthorn, Norma Broten Tim Stenovel, Renata Dias, Congregation B’Nai Vail, Diane Golden, Lynne Campbell, Nicole Peterson, Rachel Friede, Martin Haebelle, Chris Botkins, Leo Vasquez, Robyn Fetteroff, Highland Builders, Mary Clara Van Dyke, Greg Johnson, Barbra Harris, Vail Mountain Staff, Eric Olson, Jim Applegate, and Judy Van Bergen.

Let’s take care of each other and have a great holiday season!

Moses Gonzales

Vail Police Department

Support Local Journalism