Vail Mountain School scholars recognized |

Vail Mountain School scholars recognized

Daily staff report

Seven Vail Mountain School alumni and students have earned the designation of Advanced Placement Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement exams.

Student took Advancement Placement – or, AP – exams in May after completing college-level courses at Vail Mountain School.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on the number of year-long courses and exams.

At Vail Mountain School, three students in the 2003 graduating class qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

These students are A.J. LeGaye and Colin Sullivan from Summit County and Whitney Simmonds of Edwards. They attend Dartmouth College, Haverford College and Colby College, respectively.

Four students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP exams with grades of 3 or higher.

The AP Scholars are: class of 2003 graduates, Tiffany Allan and Katy Lackey from Summit County; and, current seniors, Alexandra Dulude and Josh Smith. Lackey currently attends Santa Clara University in California. Allan attends the University of Colorado in Boulder.

Support Local Journalism