Vail special events board seeks to fill five open seats |

Vail special events board seeks to fill five open seats

VAIL — The Vail Commission on Special Events, the volunteer town board that helps allocate town funding to events including the GoPro Mountain Games and Vail Lacrosse Shootout, needs new members.

Commission members Jenn Bruno and Dave Chapin were recently elected to the Vail Town Council, so they need to be replaced on the seven-member board. In addition, members Bobby Bank and Rayla Kundolf’s terms expire Dec. 13 — although one or both can apply to be re-appointed to the commission — and member Sonny Kerstiens moved out of the valley and resigned effective Oct. 21.

That makes a total of five seats open for appointments.

The commission is now nearly finished allocating $843,000 for 2014. People interested in serving on the board should submit letters of interest and experience to the Vail Town Council, attn: Tammy Nagel, Acting Town Clerk, 75 South Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657, by mail or in person by Nov. 26 no later than 5 p.m. All applicants will be interviewed by the Vail Town Council at its Dec. 3 afternoon work session. Appointments to be made at the council’s evening meeting that day.

For more information, contact commission coordinator Sybill Navas at 970-477-3551.

Support Local Journalism