Vail Town Council election draws 11 candidates, including three incumbents |

Vail Town Council election draws 11 candidates, including three incumbents

Update: Lynda Van Norman withdrew her name from the Vail Town Council race, and she won’t appear on the Nov. 7 ballot

VAIL — The Vail Town Clerk’s office has validated nomination petitions from 11 candidates, including three incumbents, to run for the four open Vail Town Council seats in the Nov. 7 election. The deadline for submitting nomination petitions was 5 p.m. Monday, Aug. 28. The candidates are (in alphabetical order):

• Jenn Bruno

• Dave Chapin

• Travis Coggin

• Mark Gordon

Support Local Journalism

• Rodney Johnson

• Bart Longworth

• Greg Moffet

• Edward Padilla

• Brian Rodine

• Taylor Strickland

• Lynda Van Norman

Bruno, Chapin and Moffet are the incumbents on the ballot. The remaining seat up for election is held by Dick Cleveland. Mark Gordon has served previously as a council member.

Ballot order for the 11 candidates will be determined following an Aug. 29 drawing at the Vail Municipal Building.

Town of Vail elections are non-partisan. In accordance with the town’s charter, voters may select up to four candidates. The three candidates receiving the highest number of votes will serve four-year terms, while the fourth highest vote-getter will serve a two-year term. The mayor and mayor-pro tem are elected from among the council members, and each serves a two-year term.

All voting in the election will take place at the Vail Municipal Building from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Nov. 7. Voters who won’t be casting ballots in person at the polls must fill out an application for absentee voter ballots. The application form is available from the Town Clerk’s office or at The deadline to submit an absentee voting request form is Nov. 3. Persons completing an application for permanent absentee voter status will be mailed a ballot; anyone receiving a mail-in ballot becomes ineligible to vote at the polls.

Eligible voters include those who are U.S. citizens, are 18 years of age or older and have lived in Colorado 22 days immediately preceding the election. Voter registration is available through the state of Colorado online voter registration system. To register, go to Voters are also able to register in person at the Eagle County Clerk & Recorder’s offices in Eagle, Avon or El Jebel up to the day of election.

In addition to the town of Vail regular municipal election, Eagle County will mail a separate ballot for any Eagle County, state or special district elections. For information on the county election, contact the Eagle County Clerk and Recorder’s Office, 970-328-8715. For questions about the Vail election, call 970-479-2136 or go to

Support Local Journalism