Vail Town Council swearing-in, mayor selection, set for Tuesday, Nov. 21 |

Vail Town Council swearing-in, mayor selection, set for Tuesday, Nov. 21

Daily staff report
Dave Chapin

VAIL — Newly elected Vail Town Council members Dave Chapin, Jenn Bruno and Travis Coggin will be sworn in to four-year terms at 2:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 21, during an organization meeting of the Town Council. A fourth member, Greg Moffet, will be unable to attend the meeting and has previously been sworn in by the Vail Town Clerk.

Moffet will serve the two-year term as the fourth highest vote-getter. The four members will join Kevin Foley, Kim Langmaid and Jen Mason on the council. Tuesday’s agenda also includes the election of a mayor and mayor pro tem. Both posts run for two years.

Election results

The Tuesday, Nov. 7, election brought newcomer Travis Coggin to the council. Returning members are Chapin, Bruno and Moffet. There were 10 candidates on the ballot.

The Nov. 7 ballot also included Question No. 1, authorizing municipal high-speed internet services (advanced services), telecommunication services and cable television services, which passed with 846 votes in support of the question and 99 opposed.

Also at its organizational meeting on Tuesday, the council will re-appoint Buck Allen as the municipal judge.

The certified election results show 966 votes cast in the Nov. 7 election, including 544 ballots cast on Election Day and another 422 absentee ballots. Overall voter turnout was 22 percent of 4,382 registered voters.

Support Local Journalism