Vail Town Council to swear-in new members |

Vail Town Council to swear-in new members

VAIL, Colorado – Newly elected Vail Town Council members Kevin Foley, Kerry Donovan, Susie Tjossem and Kim Newbury will be sworn in Nov. 10 at noon, in the Vail Town Council chambers during a special organizational meeting.

The four new members will join Dick Cleveland, Andy Daly and Margaret Rogers on the Town Council. The agenda also includes the election of a mayor and mayor pro tem. Both posts run for two years. The last item on the special meeting agenda is appointment of the municipal judge.

Immediately following the special session, there will be a reception to welcome the newly elected members. Appreciation also will be extended to the remaining candidates for their community service and former council members Farrow Hitt and Mark Gordon who have completed their terms. Light refreshments will be provided and community members are encouraged to attend. The reception will be held in the Town Council chambers.

The Nov. 3 election returned incumbents Foley and Newbury to the council, while Donovan and Tjossem are replacing seats held by Hitt and Gordon.

There were 1,001 votes cast in the election, including 607 ballots received in the early voting and mail-in ballot process, plus another 394 ballots that were generated at the polls on Nov. 3. Overall voter turnout was 34 percent out of 2,951 active voters.

Support Local Journalism